spmckeon
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/20/2007
Reviews 10
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 3

Precision Appliance Service Co.

Posted on: 12/28/2011

Excellent value and service

I was very impressed with the quality and value of service we received from Bobby when he fixed our almost 20-year-old Whirlpool washing machine. He showed me how the plastic gears had worn down on the agitator, then replaced them at very low cost. Any other repair company would have probably charged much more for these parts and service. Now our old washing machine is running great again and we don't need to go looking to buy an expensive, less reliable unit. I highly recommend calling Always Affordable Appliance Repair first if you've got any old appliances you're considering replacing. You may end up saving a lot of money like we did. Just make sure you get Bobby (or DJ) to do the work. There's another company out there with a website that's using a similar domain name, but it is not actually Always Affordable Appliance Repair, Inc. Be sure that you're calling the right company by using the contact information provided on this Kudzu listing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Arrowhead Plumbing, LLC

Posted on: 11/5/2008

Impressive customer service!

I'm very impressed with how well the owner, Derrick, takes care of his customers. I called Arrowhead due to horrible noise and vibration we were getting from our pipes over the weekend. I suspected the PRV was bad, but then the noise mysteriously went away. Derrick inspected and tested our water lines and explained how we should set the valves in the house for our system. He didn't try to replace or sell us something we didn't need...he didn't even charge us for the visit! I'll definitely call Arrowhead again for our future plumbing needs.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Flawless Painting, LLC

Posted on: 9/25/2007

Highly recommended

I hired Flawless Painting to paint the exterior of our house and replace some rotten trim around the windows and door. I received a very competitive and detailed estimate from Scott, the owner. Alberto and his crew did a really nice job with the prep work and the painting, and quickly addressed the few minor items I found during the final walk around. I'm very happy with the way our house looks now. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

All Four Seasons Garage Doors

Posted on: 8/31/2007

Nice job eventually

I hired All Four Seasons to replace the old wooden door on our 2-car garage with an insulated steel door. I was told it was a 2-week wait to get the door we wanted, which was fine. However, the wrong door was ordered so we ended up waiting another 2 weeks to get the correct one. It was a little frustrating, but Dan did apologize for the mix up and even offered us a discount on the first one they ordered, which we declined. Overall, I was quite happy with the installation job their technician did. The door looks great and works great with our old garage door opener. I did notice a few small dings in our wood trim near where the weather strip was installed, but we're getting our house painted soon so it's not a huge deal.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Asars, Inc. stucco

Posted on: 8/30/2007

Quality workmanship

I hired Asars to cut our EIFS stucco above grade and seal it back to the foundation, and to install a kickout for a gutter. I was very impressed with the level of detail in the itemized quote and that Bruce gave me options for the entire "moisture prevention solution" regarding the front of the house. However, I was a bit frustrated when I found out the work the crew performed to do the job "right" (their words) was not included in the quote. The main issue was 28' of stucco around the front walk and stoop that the crew said wasn't covered in the quote. After talking with Bruce about it, I agreed to pay for the stoop work, but it would have been nice if that option had been originally itemized as well. Although the job ended up costing a bit more than I had planned, the overall quality of the workmanship was very high and I'm quite pleased with the results. Bruce was also quick to respond to a follow-up question I had concerning the kickout installation.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

ShoGun

Posted on: 8/14/2007

Great sushi (update)

My wife and I have tried the sushi at several area restaurants, but we always come back to Shogun. I highly recommend the crunch roll and alaska roll. A little pricey, but delicious. We usually just do take-out, but when we dine in the service is good and the staff is always friendly. Update (11/5/08) - I had to downgrade my ratings for Shogun. I don't know if ownership changed or maybe just the sushi chef, but my wife and I weren't impressed with our last take-out order. The crunch roll especially just isn't as good as it used to be.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

For Goodness Cakes

Posted on: 8/14/2007

Great cakes!

I ordered 2 cakes for my wife's tropical-themed birthday party. The triple chocolate chip cake was delicious. Melonie did an awesome job decorating a "tropical island" carrot cake for us, which was almost too beautiful to eat...but we did anyway. Everybody at the party loved these cakes. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

B&J Roofing Contractors

Posted on: 4/30/2007

Best price and materials.

We went with B&J for our roof replacement because of their great price, professionalism, and the fact they offered the highly-rated Owens Corning shingles. Overall, we are quite happy with the new roof. Their crew did damage one of our gutters, but B&J replaced it at no cost to us. I have already recommended them to a couple of our neighbors.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Best Friends Pet Care

Posted on: 3/23/2007

Dog's best friend

We're extremely happy with the service we get from Best Friends. Our dog absolutely loves going there for day camp (we love that webcam!) and we've had zero problems when we've boarded him there for long trips. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

RK Heating & Air Conditioning

Posted on: 3/20/2007

Fast, professional service

Our A/C wasn't providing very cold air, so I called R.K. after checking some reviews on kudzu.com. R.K. came out to the house the very next day and was able to quickly diagnose the problem as a leaking cooling coil. He got the part ordered and replaced it within 24 hours. Now our A/C is working great! Very knowledgable and professional. Would definitely use them again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value