KathiM
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/04/2006
Reviews 35
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 8

Oreck Authorized Sales & Service

Posted on: 2/21/2015

Empty Promise

I just got back from this Oreck store. Before I went, I looked at their Web site (oreck dot com/store-duluth.html) which promises: "Get started with a free 16-point inspection. Before we do any tune-up, we inspect your vacuum to determine the problem. Visit the store nearest you today for your FREE inspection." I took my Hoover Windtunnel vacuum for repair because the brush wouldn't spin. The employee said it would be $60 to diagnose the problem, and any needed parts would be additional. I asked about their free 16-point inspection, because I wanted to determine if I should pay to repair the vacuum or buy a new one. He said he could do the inspection, but it wouldn't tell me anything I couldn't already see for myself, and launched into a sales pitch for a new Oreck vacuum. The other employee, a repairman, said he thought it was a broken belt. The first employee said I should check for a broken belt before having it repaired, but he would neither check for it himself nor lend me a simple screwdriver to allow me to do it. It seems to me that this free inspection is a sham to get you into the store for a sales pitch, and they are not interested in doing business with you if you want your own vacuum fixed instead of buying a new one. I left there with my broken vacuum. If the problem is more than just a broken belt, I'll take it elsewhere for repair or buy a new vacuum—which will NOT be an Oreck!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

North Atlanta Cleaning Services

Posted on: 4/27/2012

Bait & switch fees, disorganized, sloppy

Ross Pomerantz and a crew of 3 cleaned my house on 3/2. I thought that was an OK job so I agreed for him to come over today (4/27) to talk about bimonthly cleaning and do the first regular cleaning. We scheduled this 2 weeks in advance. He did not call with a reminder. I had to call him the night before and ask what time he was coming. It was a good thing I called, because we had scheduled for this morning, but he said he planned to be here at 2pm. Without a courtesy call, his crew showed up an hour late. Then he calls and asks if I was the "rescue house with 10 dogs and 4 cats?" I said "I don't know what you're talking about!" He said, "We cleaned your house last year." I said, "You cleaned my house a MONTH ago!" He said "I clean 50 houses a day, I can't remember them all." Before the crew started cleaning, I told them Ross had quoted me a price of $60 but didn't tell me what rooms it would cover. One of the crew called him and said, "Ross told me to charge you $12 a room." This was much higher than Ross told me when setting up the appointment, but I agreed. They rushed through the house, finishing the job in less than an hour even though I asked them to clean 7 rooms. They used a filthy industrial rag mop to clean my oak hardwood floors, which is unsanitary and bad for the floor. They moved things to clean and didn't put them back. In my experience, this company is disorganized, unprofessional, and sloppy and I won't use them again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sears Outlet Store

Posted on: 10/14/2011

This review needs to be deleted

This review needs to be deleted. Yes, you can edit reviews. Log in to Kudzu by clicking on the "Log in" link at the top right corner of any page. Then return to the profile page for the business you previously reviewed and click on "Write a review" in the blue field. You will be able to change the star rating or edit the review you had written previously. However, you can't delete reviews at this time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

EZ Auctionz

Posted on: 10/20/2010

This review needs to be deleted

This review needs to be deleted. Yes, you can edit reviews. Log in to Kudzu by clicking on the "Log in" link at the top right corner of any page. Then return to the profile page for the business you previously reviewed and click on "Write a review" in the blue field. You will be able to change the star rating or edit the review you had written previously. However, you can't delete reviews at this time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cat Clinic of Roswell

Posted on: 8/27/2010

Not Worth the Outrageous Price

I took my 6 cats to Dr. Ray for over 2 years. I chose him because I wanted a board-certified feline vet who would not try to push annual vaccines. Dr. Ray is also friendly to raw feeders and will write prescriptions for free. I had been noticing a lump on my cat Sheba's hip for awhile. In July, she started to limp, so I scheduled X-rays. Dr. Ray said the hip problem was an old injury and nothing could be done except to manage arthritis the rest of her life. Thankfully I sought a second opinion. I took Dr. Ray's X-rays to the Animal Medical and Surgical Center in Canton, and Dr. Duprel immediately recognized a tumor. She did surgery the same day to remove it. The tumor is a fibrosarcoma, a very dangerous cancer that if left much longer, would have hit the sciatic nerve and caused Sheba excrutiating pain. Another problem: Dr. Ray is the only vet I know who doesn't provide rabies tags. He is in Fulton County, which provides tags to its residents when they mail the rabies certificate. But I live in Gwinnett, which doesn't provide tags but requires pets to wear them. So my cats weren't legally protected, although he charges $30 for a rabies vaccine and tags cost less than 30 cents. Dr. Ray's main talent is draining your wallet. He charges $63 for a physical exam, $41.50 to take blood pressure, $42.50 for a fecal exam, and over $216 for blood and urine tests. I paid $589 for a dental with just one extraction. Dr. Ray's expertise is not worth the price.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Mail & Package Center Inc

Posted on: 8/27/2010

Incredible Service Every Day

I have had a mailbox at this business for many years. Danny Taylor, the owner, knows everything there is to know about packing and shipping via any carrier. His staff is very friendly and goes beyond the call of duty to help. I work long hours and frequently come in to pick up my mail after they are closed. If they are still there and I have a package, they will give it to me anyway. I can call and ask if a package arrived before making a trip over. I used to order cat vaccines through the mail, and upon my request they even stored the package in the refrigerator! Try getting that kind of service at the post office!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

2 Paws Up, Inc.

Posted on: 5/13/2010

Not very good anymore

POSTED 11/18/2013: I called Barbie when I went on vacation for a few days. She had another sitter come over for my 3 cats. I never heard a word until 2 days into my vacation, I called Barbie to see if they were even coming over. She acted surprised and offended that I expected some small notification that the cats were OK. I will never use 2 Paws Up again. POSTED 5/13/2010: I found a young kitten in a parking lot, and didn't want to leave him alone all day--I am gone 11+ hours a day four days a week. Barbie was able to schedule midday visits on short notice for a reasonable fee. Every day she took a picture of the kitten and e-mailed it to me along with a quick report on how he was doing. She followed my instructions on the feeding. Overall Barbie is very caring, professional, and reliable and I would call her again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Wallpaper Your World

Posted on: 4/2/2008

Poor Service After the Order

More than two weeks ago, I placed an order for wallpaper. As of Monday, the order had not arrived. I left a message at 6:03 pm Monday night with my name and number, asking for a return call with the delivery date and tracking number. My message was ignored; I never received a return call. I was not able to call Tuesday. I called from work today (Wednesday) to be told that the wallpaper was backordered for five weeks! This information was provided with the understanding that I was simply going to have to wait more than five weeks to receive my wallpaper. I was not offered the option to cancel the order; I had to demand it. My master bathroom has been stripped bare to the floor, the wallpaper removed, the tile reglazed, the walls patched and waiting for wallpaper for a week and a half. If their staff had the professionalism to check orders after they are placed, or even to return phone calls, I could have ordered something else without wasting so much time. Due to the staff's apathy, my bathroom remodeling project will be extended a month longer than it should have taken.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Atlanta Community Food Bank

Posted on: 3/11/2006

Reaches Out to the Community

I used to run a cat rescue Web site. Several years ago out of the blue I got a call from the Food Bank asking if I could use some cat food that had been donated to them. I went down there and loaded my hatchback until I had serious concerns that the tires would pop from the weight. Several of my friends went down and took home TRUCKLOADS of food to use for stray and feral cats. The food bank volunteer said when they get donations like that, they try to call different organizations every time and spread it around. I am very grateful for their help.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Atlanta Persian & Siamese Rescue

Posted on: 3/11/2006

This review needs to be deleted

This review needs to be deleted. Yes, you can edit reviews. Log in to Kudzu by clicking on the "Log in" link at the top right corner of any page. Then return to the profile page for the business you previously reviewed and click on "Write a review" in the blue field. You will be able to change the star rating or edit the review you had written previously. However, you can't delete reviews at this time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 4 Next »