Suburbanhousewife
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/10/2006
Reviews 26
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 5

Car Spa

Posted on: 9/2/2011

Just repeating what most folks have already said

I know my minivan is messy, but I *know* what's in there. Now my antifreeze, AC recharger, jumper cables & my hangtag for my parking downtown is missing (WTH?). I'm shocked the giant orange extension cord is still there. I told them & heard them communicate it thru the walkie talkies "to leave the cargo compartment alone." Every item (except the hang tag) was inside the cargo area INSIDE a plastic bin. I'm still trying to figure out WHY they would have even moved the hangtag, much less disposed of it. One window was NOT cleaned at all inside, there was brown goo in the change compartment & door slots that was not wiped out (I guess they'd soaked it to get the grime out). The carpets weren't damp or wet, they were SOAKED. The smudge mark on the driver's side they said would buff out, wasn't touched, but they added some weird black smudges to the liftgate. ??? They're a hard sell operation, don't listen, take 15minutes short of FOREVER; all of which I don't like. It isn't a high quality service for the $$$. The staff will promise you whatever you want (ie extreme discount on gas which "oh, we gave you a discount on services & you can't get 2 discounts) to get your car. I think it's the theory is if they take FOREVER to do the work, you'll be so happy to get BACK to your car, you'll do a less than cursory job of inspection. Good bye Car Spa, you got me once, you won't get me or my friends.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Barnes & Noble Booksellers

Posted on: 7/9/2011

Is it a bookstore or a coffehouse?

Granted, it was a Friday evening, but there did not appear to be a soul working at this B&N...except @ the Starbucks. I needed info on a Nook but there was no one to ask. Needed to find summer reading, not a soul to be found. After several uncomfortable minutes waiting alone @ customer service, someone appeared. Only to tell me, gee...they didn't have those books. ??? The school is less than 5 miles from your store & no one thought stocking the reading lists might be a good idea? And then she told me the majority of the books weren't available on Nook. FINE. I had to suggest she look to see if another B&N had the books, which they did. But she couldn't give me directions to that store. "I'm from Kennesaw." HUH? About this time, the boys reappeared w/other books in hand. So off we go to the cashier. After patiently standing in line & letting others w/quick purchases ahead of us, another customer snaked in the exit of the cashier line...and the cashier started a chat w/her. We just left. I hauled the children to another B&N, bought the minimum & am back to my first love...Amazon.com.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Old Navy

Posted on: 7/9/2011

"Welcome, please leave."

This store typically has a great selection & wide variety of sizes. We've never been disappointed when trying to find items (bathing suits, shorts) in certain sizes. BUT, when you walk into a store to hear "Welcome to Old Navy, our registers are closing in 5minutes" you wonder if you should bother. Since we weren't really "looking looking," we knew what we wanted, we scooted in, grabbed & left.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Barnes & Noble Booksellers

Posted on: 7/9/2011

Worth the drive & the traffic

After a Theater of the Absurd experience @ the B&N near Cumberland, the staff here saved the day. I never had to look for staff, they were helpful & very kind to a Mom w/kids in tow on a busy Friday. Apologizing for another store's shortcomings shouldn't have to be in these folks' job description.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cross Creek Golf Course

Posted on: 5/27/2011

Nice course!

It's a lovely par 3 course, but I wish the people who lived in the condos were a little more considerate about being on the fairways. There were some teenagers who were "playing" on the fairway and didn't seem to motivated to move, even when some other adults asked them to move. They finally moved, we didn't slice and play resumed...I shot better than average that day!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Christo's Pizza

Posted on: 5/19/2011

Wonderful food!

We have a large family, and don't frequently eat out, but we enjoy every trip to Christo's! The food is consistently good & a good price. The only caveat is the wait staff has a few less than ideal waitresses. Overall, we enjoy Christo's tremendously!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Defoor Centre

Posted on: 5/19/2011

Lovely for small weddings

I have to admit, I was a bit underwhelmed at first w/the Defoor Centre, however the overall experience was very nice. At first, it seemed the venue was an enormous open gallery w/a few paintings (questionably appropriate for a wedding) on the walls w/inadequate seating. But the coordinator then directs you thru the labyrinth to the Forum area, and voila! The food was delicious & innovative, and the bar service excellent. The only complaints I had about the venue were the lack of multiple bathrooms (a distraught young lady locked herself in the only bathroom I could find), and the maze like arrangement. It was a wonderful wedding & a very nice event space!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Stanley House, Inc. The

Posted on: 5/16/2011

God is in the details

I believe small details can make or break an experience, and many things were left unfinished. The chairs outside were dirty. The beautiful cobblestones were dirty. The garden was overgrown. The bathroom doors were difficult to lock. The rooms were TINY & insufficient for the number of tables, thus for the guests to move freely. The wedding coordinator (or whatever she was) tried, bless her heart to get things organized & keep them moving, but there didn't appear to be any "schedule," or sequence of events. Although it was a beautiful house in general, I was baffled at who honestly thought the guest count would be comfortable in the venue. And to have left the seats/cobblestones DIRTY for a wedding was unexcusable, provide a runner for the bride if necessary. I would recommend this for a TINY wedding, or luncheons/showers, but if you're having more than 50 people it's just not the best choice. If you're an experienced party planner you'll be fine, but this very young bride needed more guidance & suggestions than was provided by the staff. She bragged that they were doing this & that for her...but I didn't see anything that resembled a polished example of the experience the venue supposedly has.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Marietta Diner

Posted on: 5/16/2011

We always ask ourselves WHY?

We aren't frequent visitors, and everytime we leave the Marietta Diner, we ask ouselves WHY did we return? Yes, you get a lot of food for the $$$, but it's ORDINARY. I whole heartedly believe that lasagne was Stouffers...or at least Stouffers quality. When a teenaged boy won't finish his plate of pasta, it must not be that great. They don't take reservations. My family is rather large, so dropping in w/a party of 7 always ends up w/us waiting. And waiting. And waiting. The dining room is ridiculously noisy, and not just from patrons, but from the music piped in at top volume. I esp love the crowded parking lot. W/the giant puddles...and no, it wasn't raining. It made my day when I was sitting outside w/my children & a busboy came out of the front door w/a huge bucket of soapy water...and dumped it a few feet from us. Really? Dinner rush on a Sunday is when you want to clean the flower pots at the door? I know the city mandates the minimum # of bathroom facilities for the restaurant, but three stalls? And the staff in there too? Walking past a crowded dining room & a wait station full of dirty dishes w/a toddler to get into a tiny bathroom w/employees waiting to use the facilities just about made me take the boys outside to use a urinal I keep in the trunk. I know the memories of the place will fade, and when we find ourselves outside the perimeter again, we'll try again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Thomas J Demarco MD

Posted on: 3/20/2009

Sorry to leave

But it can't be helped. It seems whenever we need an appt due to illness, it takes 3 days to get in to see someone. We've gone round & round about our copay (they get a higher office copay...but they insist it's the one on the card), then send us to collections for the "unpaid" portion. It seems whenever we need a pre-existing problem "checked," he refers to a specialist...and not ones in our insurance network. He's a fine doctor, but I feel like he's trying to move away from primary care to procedures in GI. So we're moving to a "closer to home" and "in network" PRIMARY care physician. It just makes me sad.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 Next »