Bhuark
TRUST RATING
Member since 9/26/2007
Reviews 10
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

Apres Diem

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Bring the dessert cart hither

A little bar/lounge going for some chic sophistication. Good selection of coffee types and decent drinks. The menu is sort of fixed ( almost the same as the Carrol St. Cafe ( same owners )) but if you want something sweet, the dessert cart is a great touch. Mellow crowd.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Umezono

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Real Japanese food

This is authentic, real Japanese food, not some fusion mix. The menu is extensive, and if you're feeling bold, they can accomodate. If not so much, they have excellent combination lunches and dinners that will give you a variety of food at a reasonable price. Unlike many other Japanese restaurants, I never seem to leave Umezono still hungry. The atmosphere is traditional, but sincere. I don't the drive when I feel the need for some good Japanese food.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sam Flax

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Overworked framer? Good variety

Ron, one of the custom framers, was very helpful with me ( a novice to framing ). When asked about the matte, he said it would take him a *sigh* month for him to do it. He did, however, cut the matte for my picture while I was purchasing a frame ( which he helped suggest at my request ). On the whole, the store had a good variety of all manner of art supplies. I didn't have any sticker shock at anything, really. Though, it only took me about two minutes to install the matte in the frame later...I don't know how all that framing could generate a month back log.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Highlander, The

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Tots!

Most of the other reviews are accurate in my opinion. Smoky, maybe the food's too greasy at times, and the service is spotty. They do have a fair selection of beers and the pool table/darts trappings. Someone said "Goths and bikers-lite" and that can sum up a typical crowd. I don't like the place when its packed, but early evening is usually a good time to go.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Beautiful Restaurant, The

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Get some soul

The Beautiful is awesome. Good, real food. The preperations, servers and staff all seem sincere. Don't be fooled by the cafeteria style serving line, the food is better than a lot of menu and waiter places. Also, don't let the location discourage you. Everytime I've been to the beautiful they're are always at least a cop or two in there eating. Worth the drive

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

D & H Auto Service

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Bring your car here

These gents are friendly, know their stuff and will explain things to you if you ask, not in attempt to gouge you, but to let you know what's going on. Not only do I feel compelled to rate them on Kudzu, but I would verbally recommend them to my friends and family.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

14th Street Antiques Market

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Dresscode optional?

I went into the 14st Antiques regarding some custom framing. I was assuredly not dressed up, and possibly don't give out an auction house vibe, but when I spoke to the framer ( Holt, who was very polite and friendly and well informed ) he kept mentioning cost effectiveness and referring me to Sam Flax, because it would be cheaper. I was a little put off by this. ( hence 2 stars ) However, the gallery was beautiful and diverse ( I looked around while during my short wait ) and everyone was helpful, in their way. Just tuck in your shirt.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Carroll Street Cafe

Posted on: 5/6/2008

Brunch

I dig this place for brunch. A mimosa in the shade of funky Carroll street while the sun is beating down on the other side of the street is just great. Food is okay ( and almost the same menu as Apres Diem ) and the bar at nighttime is a good time. The art and decor are a nice touch. Mellow crowd.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Northside Tavern

Posted on: 9/26/2007

Tuesday Nights with Donny...

Northside is an odd mix. There are grad students, bikers and barflies all co-mingling in the same smoky space with painted floors, rickety furniture and great music. The sort of place that offers tallboys and Guiness on tap. I love Northside, and if you're sick of the crowded midtown bars and clubs, give it a try. Make sure to say hi to Linda, who used to cook dinner if you get there early enough.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Johnny's New York Style Pizza

Posted on: 9/26/2007

Good for friends, not a date

OK, the pizza is not quite 'true' New York. But its pretty close, and its pretty decent. Bring some friends and enjoy some beer and trivia, and the food will be great. If your a NYC transplant, you may be a little disappointed ( as you'll always be anywhere that isn't the city ) but all in all its a good place to hang out. Tracy's one of the best bartenders in the city.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value