the_scout
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/16/2006
Reviews 8
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Want a raw pizza and an argument? Go here.

The Tucker Mellow Mushroom was great, before they moved out to Northlake, then it all went downhill. The shiny new shop, seemed to give them the idea that they were too good for their customers. We would have put up with the cooler-than-thou-16-year-old hipster dufuses that worked at this location, had the quality of the pizza remained high, but that was not to be. One night, we ordered carryout, only to get it home and find that if was half-raw. I called the restaurant to tell someone about it, and the guy who answered the phone actually had the nerve to argue with me. He said that he saw my pizza before I picked it up, it was fine, and I didn't understand the texture of their crust, or some such malarkey. I informed him that I'd been eating Mellow Mushroom pizza for years, and I was perfectly aware of what half-cooked pizza looks like. He offered no apology, replacement, or refund, so we threw the pizza in our oven for another 10 minutes, and never darkened the door of this Mellow Mushroom again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Professional Cleaners

Posted on: 7/27/2007

Wouldn't take my clothes anywhere else!

(To clarify, this is the Professional Cleaners on Chamblee Tucker, right by the Waffle House. There are a few cleaners in Tucker by the same name.) Great, great, great! Their work is high quality. The pricing is reasonable. The service is superb. They remember who we are and what clothes are ours, without a ticket. If they see us coming, sometimes they already have our clothes pulled and waiting when we walk through the door. You can find a cheaper dry cleaner, but you certainly won't find a better one.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Hair Cuttery

Posted on: 7/27/2007

Unbelievably Outrageously Bad

Waiting an hour is right, but not just for walk-ins. I made an appointment for 6:00pm, got there 10 minutes early, and was told that it would just be a minute. Thirty minutes later, I asked what was going on and asked if there was anyone else who could cut my hair. (Iíd seen one stylist leave, after saying that she had nothing to do, and one other take a walk-in.) I was told that it "wouldnít be much longer." After another 30 minutes, I saw the stylist that I had an appointment with (Joyce) finish the style that she was doing, then go back to a perm that sheíd had waiting the whole time! She knew when I came in that she wouldnít be able to get me for an hour and no one felt any need to mention that to me. I got the attention of someone else, told her that my appointment was an hour late and asked her why that slot had been triple-booked. The woman didnít apologize, said that the perm was a walk-in, and then had the gall to ask me if I wanted to reschedule. Understandably, I said no. I told her I would have appreciated being informed that Iíd have to wait over an hour for my appointment and I left. They might do good cuts, but they couldnít possibly be good enough to put up with the ridiculously bad customer service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Michael W Yarbrough DDS

Posted on: 7/27/2007

Dental-phobes have no fear!

I was a rabid anti-Dentite, nearly breaking into tears at the thought of a check-up, until I met Dr. Yarborough and hygienist-extraordinaire, Dotty. Now I see that my childhood dentist were well-meaning, but didnít quite know how to handle me, and their hygienists were sadists. None of that stabbing you in the jaw and then berating you for bleeding for Dottie. She is gentle, but thorough, and leaves the guilt trips up to your mom. Dr. Yarborough is warm and friendly, but not overly chatty, perhaps realizing that no one wants to have a conversation with a suction tube in their mouth. Best of all, he is very sympathetic to those of us who are less than brave, and his shot technique is virtually flawless. The rest of the office staff are very nice, and there is none of that shaking you down for a check before you even see the doctor. After the work is done, they bill your insurance first, then send you a bill for the rest. The office itself isnít fancy schmancy. It appears to be an old renovated ranch house, so it can be a little cramped, but the atmosphere is laid-back and I feel much more comfortable there than I would in some snooty Buckhead hi-rise. You donít have to wear your Sunday-go-to-meeting clothes for a cleaning. The place is very clean and the equipment is new and well-maintained. Iím never going to look forward to a dental check-up like at kid at Christmas, but I no longer avoid it like a snake in the backyard, and thatís really saying something.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Yum Yum Thai

Posted on: 7/27/2007

The Whole Package

I canít rave enough about Yum Yum. It's not fancy, but rather good down-home Thai cooking. Flawless service, great prices. Itís just a joy to be there. Must-haves are any of the curries (the green curry and the three flavor sauce are particularly luscious) and the spring rolls, but I've never ordered anything I didn't like.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Atlanta Auto Pro

Posted on: 7/27/2007

The Heir to Dr. Honda!

My husband and I cried and cried when Dr. Honda decided to close up shop, but Atlanta Auto Pro is healing our wounded hearts. They gushed over my 18 year-old Honda, which really sealed the deal for us. Anyone who knows what a gem that car is knows what theyíre talking about! They are excellent diagnosticians, and friendly, down-to-earth folks to boot. The owner has done all of our work himself. Like Dr. Honda, they probably arenít the cheapest shop in town, but Iím happy to pay a little more for quality work, quality customer service, and peace of mind. (And unlike Dr. Honda, they work on ACs! Theyíve got ours running as good as it did in 1989, which is pretty impressive.)

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Tilden Car Care

Posted on: 7/27/2007

Not Impressed

My experience with Tilden Car Care couldnít be more different from the first two posters. My husband chose them because, of all the people he spoke to, they were the most friendly and knowledgeable, but our satisfaction ended there. They tried to make us take our car home, saying it was fixed, when it clearly was not and was even making a horrendous noise that it wasnít making when we brought it in. We asked them to look at it again, and after having it for a week, they began to diagnose new issues that were probably there when they charged us over $1200 the previous summer for the same repairs. To top all that, they kept the car for a week, and left the windows open in the height of pollen season. To their credit, they didnít charge us to replace the same part over and over, as it was still under their warranty, and they werenít rude, per se, even throwing in a new hose for free. They just acted like they wanted to get rid of us, which they did. We finally took the car to Atlanta Auto Pro, who fixed the problem quickly and courteously, and itís never run better. Iím happy to hear that someone had a good experience with Tilden, but we werenít impressed with their diagnostic abilities at all, and their customer service ranged from great to mediocre in the span of just one week.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dr Honda

Posted on: 1/8/2007

Pricey? Don't know. Worth it? Yes, sir!

My husband and I are madly in love with our 17 year old Honda, and want only the best for it. We gave Dr. Honda a trial run with an oil change in 2004, and we've been loyal customers since that day. They do all of our regular maintenance, and they have replaced a clutch and done brake work for us. They are speedy, knowledgeable, honest, and super nice to boot. They might be a little more expensive than some other places, but I really don't think so, and when it comes to my car I'm willing to pay a little more for quality work and peace of mind. Also, I try to support locally-owned businesses whenever I can. I recommend them to everyone. Just wish they worked on ACs.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value