elizabeth1271
TRUST RATING
Member since 10/08/2007
Reviews 8
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

HANDY HUSBAND

Posted on: 3/12/2010

Great Work and Charming, too

My giant dogs destroyed a door, significant piece of trim and ate some of the wall. And I only had a few days before my my mother in law arrived to attend my son's first birthday party we were hosting. Handy Husband saved the day. Even considering an initial snafu with scheduling, I couldn't have been happier with the work. Lou Alvarado, the owner was prompt about contacting me and returning calls. Kit Riley who performed the work was great and worked the job into his schedule. The subcontractor who painted was quick and efficient. I was a little surprised about the amount of the initial estimate, also because it was such an expected expense. But considering the work it took and the time, Kit was spot on with it. And he even came in under his intial number when he was all done. And just a few minutes ago, Kit stopped by, unbidden, to check everything, pull of the plastic left on the glass in the door and scrape off some random drips of paint. I hope I never have to call them again about any doors my dogs gnaw, but I will not hesitate to call them for our next needs around the house. Great work and really nice people.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Wisteria

Posted on: 10/9/2007

Every Single Dime is Worth It

this is my absolute favorite place in the entire city. even when we've arrived without reservations, we've never had to wait more than 10 or so minutes for seats at the bar, where really, it's more fun to eat than at a table because there is ample room while still having great views of the space, the people and the ever changing art on the walls. and the food...so good and for the most part, simple, yet elegantly prepared without being snooty. the wine list is fantastic and the staff is well versed. it's moderately priced and ever single dime is worth it. given a choice and an unlimited budget, i would still rather put on jeans and a cute top than dress up for a swankier dinner anywhere else. LOVE IT!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

La Tavola

Posted on: 10/9/2007

Not one bad experience ever

i've lived in the neighborhood for more than three years and have eaten at la tavola at least once a month over the years. the wine list is fantastic, the service is friendly and the food is so so good. it's a welcoming place, plus while the menu keeps some of their key dishes, the overall menu chenges per the season. and is always good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Hand in Hand

Posted on: 10/9/2007

sunday afternoons

the beers are pricey, but they know how to pour a guiness (sp?) it's one of the best places to hang out on a sunny sunday afternoon. perch on the porch, sip on some beers and read the paper. it's lovely way to spend the afternoon.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pura Vida Tapas

Posted on: 10/9/2007

sit at the bar

it's wide and solid and the bartenders are always amusing and friendly, plus you're closer to the tasty sangria. the food, while it's gotten great reviews is a decidely mixed bag, especially for the price. the food that is on the simple side is the best, while stay far far away from anything that has a "mousse" in the description.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

La Fonda Latina

Posted on: 10/9/2007

veggie burrito

always lively and fun, the staff is so friendly and attentive (without being too intrusive) the food is so good (try the burrito with squash, artichokes, onion, etc...sounds weird, but so so yummy) and the salsa is scrumptios and simple. just a great place to hang and eat good food.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Van Michael Salon Inc

Posted on: 10/8/2007

okay, but i live around the corner

i've been going there for a few years and it's okay, but i've also had the same haircut for years. they're kind of pricey and absolutely snooty, but easy enough for me to pop over from my apartment. i wouldn't drive for them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Briarcliff Animal Clinic

Posted on: 10/8/2007

It all depends on who you get

I am mixed about them. We've had fantastic experiences with Dr. Muller and Dr. Jacobs, but have occasionally gotten stuck with some of the others who have either a rotten bedside manner or just don't seem to know what they are doing. I hate that so much of the work is done out of sight. And the waits can be excruciatingly long (2pm appt. but not seen until 3pm, then waiting some more) But all that said, most of the staff is caring and sweet, but it's taken a month to solve a relatively easy problem. And they'll kill you with the med prices.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value