builder10
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 10/29/2007
Reviews 20
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Krispy Kreme

Posted on: 11/10/2007

Insanely Good

During my college years, it was a rare treat to drive to Wichita for Duncan Donuts. Put simply, this puts those fond memories to shame -- and I live half a mile from one of the local outlets!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cox Farm

Posted on: 11/10/2007

Fun and Interesting

Whenever possible, I always "buy local." My wife and I also enjoy browsing lesser known or atypical businesses looking to see what interesting things they carry. Cox Farms meets the bill on both counts. We swing by about 9-10 times a year.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Chili's Grill & Bar

Posted on: 11/2/2007

Good Value

Just down the street from our house, so we go there a lot. Generally busy on weekened, but a decent assortment of dishes. Good value, as well.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pizza Vi Ila

Posted on: 10/29/2007

Possibly The Best In Town

Hands down my favorite (and I worked for one of the major names in the field before moving on). This is one of those out--of-the way places that develop a clientelle over the years, without becoming overly well known. I don't even recall how I first stumbled across them. It's enough that any major event in my family's shared life is an excuse to celebrate here. Great food, with some of the best crust in the business! They give the major genre outlets a run for their money, and provide a more local feel.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Huenergardt Mark A

Posted on: 10/29/2007

Very Good

Reviewing a dentist is vaguely uncomfortable, but getting around the whirring of the drills and other lingering memories... I've been with this particular dentist for about 20 years, and have found better service than with the prior 5-6 I had tried after moving to Wichita. Granted, the subject is somewhat touchy of itself, but allowing for this, I've been very satisfied.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Prairie Dog Comics

Posted on: 10/29/2007

A Favorite

I first encountered Mark Brown over 30 years ago, when he was selling comics out of his garage. In the years since, I've found PD to be an excellent source for some pretty offbeat items ranging from shirts to artists' supplies to collectables. He was also the one local shop to stock a number of the comic series I broke into the business on.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Book-A-Holic Inc

Posted on: 10/29/2007

Good, Cheap Reads

Wichita has needed a good, large scale used shop for some time, and the BAH fills the bill. Large and airy, with a small coffee nook in the back, and a surprisingly broad assortment of materials, reasonable priced.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Fusion Pizza

Posted on: 10/29/2007

Glitz But A Little Too Flashy

I've been here several times, and the food is good. You also get an assortment of unusual pies. However, the seating area is a bit on the small size and the atmosphere was a little pretentious for my wife's tastes. As a result, she refuses to go more than 1-2 times a year.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Defazios

Posted on: 10/29/2007

A Guilty Pleasure

I don't get to DeFazio's nearly often enough, though I live on the West Side. It's a bit difficult to locate if you're unfamiliar with the neighborhood. The food, however, is extremely good. I generally stick to veal dishes of straight pasta. Sandwiches can be iffy, as they tend to be extremely oily due to their topping. Still, they're quite good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Red Robin

Posted on: 10/29/2007

Quite An Assortment of Burgers

Caution: if you want a reasonably quiet meal with your wife, avoid Red Robin. We were there several weekends back, and while the food was excellent, it was literally impossible to say anthing over the continual noise. The food is worth it, but this is one of those "several times a year" places for us, simply due to the noise factor.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »