TheToolGirl
TRUST RATING
Member since 4/17/2006
Reviews 9
Average Rating

Helpful Votes 2

Reviews 1 to 9
Bankston, Stephen DMD posted on 11/9/2011
Two very different experiences. Undecided.
I had earlier written a harsh review about my 2 visits to Dr. Bankston’s Galleria office for an extraction. My visits were summed up as “long wait times and a staff and doctor that were detached, emotionless, never made eye contact other than to call you or have you sign papers…engineered to service, but never connect”. Again, this was 2 visits in a row. Effectively it set the standard. By the 3rd visit I had been conditioned to the waiting game. The woman waiting next to me was not. After 45 minutes, she had words with the staff, and then simply left. I was 10 minutes from doing the same when I was called in for my visit. Everyone this time was friendly. Dr. Bankston even apologized for having to hurry the visit. “They’re trying to keep me on schedule”, he said. The week before Thanksgiving, my regular dentist had installed a temporary bridge while my extraction healed. The day before Thanksgiving, the bridge came loose. My dentist’s office was closed. I called Bankston’s Galleria office. They offered to fit me in at the Windy Hill location. The wait was acceptable given the circumstances. Dr. Bankston was funny and friendly as was the entire staff. They said “no charge” and I was on my way. I felt that I had to rewrite my review. They cared for me on no notice the day before a holiday, and they did so with a wonderful attitude and service. Let’s hope future visits mirror this event.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Nu-Life Shoe Repair & Alterations posted on 10/28/2011
Good work. Taps didn't last long.
I can't put blame on this shop in particular. I've had the same problem with other shops and soft taps being put on my heels that don't last for more than 30 days of wear. I brought in 2 or 3 pairs of heels and 2 pairs of high heeled boots, all to get new taps. Total cost was around $50. They were done on time and shaped well to the shoes. Just didn't last long enough. There was also a little bit if a language barrier. In the meantime, let me know if you find a shop that still mounts hard taps.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




American Brake Services posted on 1/10/2008
Honest and great service!
Who hasn't had a bad experience in auto repairs? After reading the review on the Pontiac from 12/17/2007, I may have been concerned, I too have had many bad experiences with auto repair. But the overwhelming number of good reviews beckoned at least a phone call. I called ABS, spoke with a couple of the guys there, even asking about the Pontiac customer. ABS offered their side of the story with no bad feelings toward the Pontiac owner. I felt good about giving them a try. While at the shop other customers were coming in, some established and others first-timers like myself. The shops treatment of everyone was very personal. They seem to recognize the value of good service. In the end, my bill was very reasonable, no exorbitant parts or labor fees. I live in Smyrna, so these guys weren't just around the corner. It was the good reviews that made my decision to take the 30-minute drive to their location. It was well worth it. Thanks Mac and Joe! I will absolutely be back.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Auto Glass Express Incorporated posted on 11/28/2007
Great rate, fast service, personable.
Called others and was quoted higher with a longer time out to repair. David came to my company the same day that I called and replaced my Jeep Wrangler window in about 15 minutes. A very personable person. Only problem was getting the auto glass tape residue off after the window was set, which may have been due to the summer heat. Still, very happy customer!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Ridgeway Mechanical posted on 8/6/2007
Initial bad experience, but willing to try again.
Called late in the day when a pipe burst. Spoke with Alan. He sent Brent immediately to my home. I explained to the technician that my home was older and could be complicated. My short and long term options and costs were outlined. I went with the long term option. I again forewarned that the job would not be an easy one. He stuck to his price. In the end the job took much longer than he had expected, requiring multiple visits and additional assistance. I recognize that the work was difficult, which is why I forewarned. But it was never communicated to me until project end that the price was now 3 times the original quote. We were able to negotiate a lower final price after I explained that it should have been communicated earlier. I genuinely appreciated that we could at least communicate that issue so straightforward. Still, unsure if I would use them again. Update 08/01/07 Had a pipe joint come loose that I thought was related to the prior work done. Phoned Alan at Ridgeway. He sent Mike out. Turns out that Mike had taken leave for a while. Brent was filling in. Mike apologized for my initial experience and fixed the unrelated pipe problem for no cost. Certainly has changed my mind. Open to another try.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Affordable Handyman posted on 8/6/2007
Good intentions, questionable estimates
I called AH when I was estimating repairs for a house I was about to buy. Over the phone I had mentioned that the contractor would need to go into my attic and crawl space. I was told upfront that there would be a trip fee of $25. I was surprised when a woman in an economy car drove the contractor up to my home. She stayed in the car and ate her lunch. The contractor had brought no tools or even a flashlight to inspect my home. I gave him mine to use. The cost for a new sink stopper, masonry repair to 2 missing cinder blocks in the crawl space, replacement of the attic window and frame and to install, not buy, replacement carpet in my front room only was $10,000. Maybe that's normal. I don't think so. When I called and asked why my handyman had shown up in someone elses car without tools, I was told that he didn't have a vehicle and since he would not be doing repairs, he didn't have his tools. I'm not impressed.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Sunrise Clean Care - Carpet, Tile & Upholstery posted on 8/6/2007
Excellent. Actual cost better than estimated
Initial phone conversation was welcoming. I described my old white carpeting as a challenge at best. The initial quote was very reasonable. The technician came out and worked extremely hard to assure his best work. The final results were miraculous. Even better, the actual bill was under the quote. Wonderful company. I will absolutely use them again!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




CB Electric posted on 8/6/2007
Hands down the best company and best experience
After my first call with Chris, my gut instinct told me that I had the right man: Well-spoken, professional, and honest with reasonable rates. On service day, he arrived on time with an assistant just as professional. The work was done quickly, neatly and with an extreme awareness that they were guests in my home, treating it with care and cleaning up as they went. My home was built in the 40's and has a mix of old and new wiring. Chris was proficient in his knowledge, came in with reasonable expectations and several options to complete the job. The end product was completed exactly as stated and at the quoted cost. Would give 10 stars if possible. He has a life long customer. Thanks Chris!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




APPLIANCEMAX posted on 6/14/2006
Arranged for a meeting time,then was left stranded
My home warranty company assigned ApplianceMax to service my oven. I asked that they call me 30 minutes before arriving. No problem. The next morning I called again to verify that I would get an advance call. They told me the technician lived close to me and would prefer that I be his last call, probably around 6pm. They called at 5:15 to say that he was on his last call and would then be at my home. I said that at rush hour it would take at least 35 minutes for me to get home. I was told it wouldn't be a problem. I sped dangerously home, arriving at 5:35, 20 minutes after their call. There was nothing but a comment card hanging on my door when I arrived. I called their office immediately and got an answering machine with no emergency or secondary number to call. I never called back and they never called to reschedule.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value




Reviews 1 to 9

Locations
Arizona
Atlanta
Austin
Boston
Chicago
Dallas
Denver
Detroit
Houston
Las Vegas
Los Angeles
Miami
New York
Philadelphia
Portland
San Diego
San Francisco
Seattle
Washington, DC
More »
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.