HermioneGranger
TRUST RATING
Member since 12/01/2007
Reviews 12
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 6

The Funky Paintbrush

Posted on: 8/14/2011

Worse Experience Ever

The Funky Paintbrush was the worse experience I’ve ever had as a group outing. The instructors were rude, snobby, and clearly unknowledgeable. They were annoyed when I asked how to paint and their “instruction” was “now paint a tree there” or “just copy the picture” then they walked away. When I asked a question they gave one word replies or ignored them all together. It got even worse as they whispered things to each other glancing over and laughing at my painting. I was horrified at how I was being treated and felt awful. I just wanted it over, but tried to finish the picture. I needed more paint and the kicker came when one instructor told the other to ignore me. The people I was with that heard them were shocked. I had enough and walked out. I will never return and have told everybody I know what a horrible experience I had with The Funky Paintbrush in Woodstock.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Autumn Hill Nursery

Posted on: 6/14/2010

Nice Nursery

Autumn Hill is a nice nursery for seasonal flowers, plants, and exotic trees. It is one of the few places with Red Japanese Maples. It is a bit pricy, but you know the colorful flowers you buy there won’t turn brown in a week. They have a great selection of green things, friendly cats that hang around, and a knowledgeable staff. Good place to go for your gardening.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Off Broadway Dance Theatre

Posted on: 8/28/2009

Odd Dance Studio

At first I liked this place, but after more time at this studio I’ve seen a lot of disorganization. The teachers at OBD really care about their dance students and try to make every class fun. However the owners are not present or easy to talk to. The dress rehearsal and performance was chaotic and badly executed. Half of the parents picked up their child backstage after they performed and left so the audience kept shirking! There were other things that just didn't sit well with me. It was odd. We are changing dance studios to another in the area that is both professional and fun. (edited May 2011)

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

yourACT Acting Studios Atlanta

Posted on: 8/28/2009

Business Orientated

I took several classes at YourACT and I found it to be very business orientated. They will tell you about the ins and outs of the acting business which was helpful. I took classes with three different teachers. One teacher was great, the next always seemed like she had more important things to do, and the third didn’t teach me anything I didn’t already know. I cringe at the time and money I lost during that last useless set of classes. I don’t recommend this place for your artistic development or acting spirit, but if you want to know the hard facts of the industry a class here can be of assistance yet I wouldn’t stay long term if you want to get out alive.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Carmike Cinemas-Riverstone 15

Posted on: 8/25/2009

My Choice When It Comes To Movie Theaters

This movie theatre in Riverstone is where I choose to go see a movie if given the choice. The theater is clean, laid out in a sensible manner, and the seating is varied so you can see well. Most of the rooms are large with a good sized screen and sound projection. The staff has on and off days. They can be very slow to give you the slightly stale overpriced popcorn and soda, but most places are nowadays. The management and employees aren’t going to go out of their way to please you, yet they do their job. Whenever I want to see a movie I check first to see if it’s playing here because it out ranks the other choices for movie theaters in the area.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

North Atlanta Dance Academy

Posted on: 8/25/2009

Excellent Ballet School

North Atlanta Dance Academy is an excellent dance school for classical ballet training. I took classes in ballet there as a teenager and learned a great deal from my dance teacher about ballet technique. The performance quality of their shows is high as well. I would think twice about other dance styles though. Their main focus is on classical ballet and they lack some of the open attitudes needed to be on the forefront of jazz, modern, and lyrical dance. The studio is also focused on their dance company and their company dancers which without a childhood of intense ballet training your child will not be a part of. I recommend this school highly for classical ballet training, yet I would also take jazz, modern, or lyrical classes elsewhere for fun.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dance 101

Posted on: 8/25/2009

Worth Checking Out

I’m a repeat dancer at Dance 101 and enjoy their dance classes. I drive an hour to dance at this studio. Saying this it is not all peach fuzz and flowers at this place. There are defiantly pros and cons. Starting with the pros: Dance 101 has many fun dance classes in different styles (Jazz, Lyrical, Contemporary Ballet, Modern, Bellydance, Hip Hop, and so on) with interesting music, three good sized studios (the fourth not so much), knowledgeable teachers, classes that will teach you to advance your dance skills no matter your age, and all of this with other adults (no teen ballet prodigy whirling into your space.) The cons: Some of the staff (cough, front desk, cough) is snobby, the classes are high (class cards have limits), distance (high priced class then the toll road hurts the pocketbook), you can be lost amidst the masses (been in one teacher’s class for years off and on and I would bet he doesn’t know my name or my level), and no performance opportunities for the average student. But I still like Dance 101 and think the dance studio is worth checking out.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Crabapple Knoll Veterinary Clinic

Posted on: 12/7/2008

The Vet We Go To

We have been going to Crabapple Knoll Vet for years and have always received good care. Our vet is Dr. Haight. She is very caring and clearly loves animals. Although when she is booked or out of town the other doctors and staff do not seem as kind or knowledgeable. We did look around for a better veterinary office, but came back after finding similar service. It was upsetting once that a diagnose of a cracked bone came late. If we were told earlier the recovery could have been better for our dog. The pros outweigh the cons at the moment, so we are going to stay with this vet.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bark ATL

Posted on: 12/7/2008

Pups Well Cared For

We choose to board our two puppies at Bark ATL after visiting many other doggie daycares. It was the first time we were separated from our beloved pups and we wanted to make sure they would be well cared for. The staff was nice and professional. The doggie daycare area was well organized, clean, pretty, and had a friendly environment. We were disappointed to learn that they often do not have medium sized dogs, so our medium sized pups might not have any other dogs to play with. They seemed a little unsure about their size which was weird. They have the three rooms for all three sized dogs yet having medium sized mutts actually there seemed to throw them for a loop. One of our dogs had been attacked as a little puppy by a large dog so we were very clear that she should never be allowed to play with larger dogs. They were understanding of that and kept her with her brother. Later two friendly spaniels came and they all got to play together which was great. They sent pictures too. When we came to pick our pups up they were truly happy. This place is very costly though so we could never afford to keep them there everyday for daycare, but we will definitely bring them back again if we have to travel out of town. I recommend taking your pets to Bark ATL.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sequoyah High School

Posted on: 12/7/2008

Horrible High School

Sequoyah High School is a horrible environment for the free thinking and artistic student. The principal and majority of teachers are only there for the pay check, snobby, uncreative, and uncaring. The individual and quieter students get lost in the system. The poor artistic scene there is run by “who you know” and teacher favoritism. It would be a better choice to look into charter schools, private schools, or any kind of alternative school rather then go to this back traveling high school.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »