emmbee1105
TRUST RATING
Member since 1/25/2008
Reviews 11
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

NO LONGER IN BUSINESS (owner note within)

Hi, this is the owner, Mehgan, of Smiling Cats and Dogs Pet Services. I've gotten a number of calls recently asking for services. Unfortunately, I have relocated out of town and am no longer in business. I apologize for the inconvenience I may have caused you. I do not have my log-in info anymore for the business, as I closed that email account down, so I have not been able to shut this ad down. Please contact another pet sitter in your area, as I know they will do a great job! Mehgan Burroughs Former owner of Smiling Cats and Dogs Pet Services

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nakato Japanese Restaurant

Posted on: 3/9/2009

Yummy hibachi!

This place is delicious! We had hibachi, which usually takes forever, but they were quick about getting our orders and the chef coming out to cook for us. Our particular chef wasn't the most entertaining but it was still fun. The filet mignon melted in our mouths, and the chicken was so yummy. The waiters worked together and kept our dishes cleared and our drinks full. I got a sushi roll for an appetizer and it came out very quickly. The one gripe I have is the valet parking. It was pointless. The valet parked my car DIRECTLY in front of the front door, so when I walked out from dinner, I could have walked 20 steps and been at my car. I asked him not to drive it up to me, as it was unnecessary to do so. Find somewhere else to park other than valet, and go have some great hibachi (and there's a gift certificate at restaurant.com for this restaurant--spend $25 on a $50 gift certificate. A steal, I think).

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rag-O-Rama

Posted on: 3/9/2009

Over it.

I moved to Atlanta into L5P about the same time Rag-o-Rama opened up there. I thought it was a great store. They weren't like a regular second-hand store; they had cute clothes from good stores that I sometimes can't afford to shop in. Now, though, when I go in, it's all so vintage. It's not really any different anymore from the other 100 vintage stores in L5P. I understand L5P has an "image" to uphold and they're probably going with that, but I'd rather go to Plato's Closet now for cute second-hand stuff.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Across The Street

Posted on: 1/19/2009

Entree was good, but I wouldn't go back

I dined with a friend yesterday, and we ordered maduros (plantains), as we both love them. The menu mentioned cheese and sour cream came with it, but I thought it was on the side. They came out and they were drenched in sour cream and some sort of bitter cheese. I didn't like it with that stuff on it, so I took as much off as I could, but the maduros still were not good even with a little on there. The entree I got was great (sweet potato enchiladas). It sounded interesting and I was very pleasantly surprised how well it all went together. The rice mixed great with the sauce, but the black beans (also topped with the same bitter cheese as on the maduros) were not good at all. I thought it was just me, but my friend tried it and he said the same. The waiter we had seemed friendly but absent-minded (we were one of 3 tables in the restaurant). He was attentive though. The prices seemed a little steep for a Mexican restaurant, also. Great location, next to Johnny's Pizza and across from Highland Bakery. Overlooks the park. Food came out fast and htey have free chips and salsa, but I wouldn't go back to this, I think. I feel like they were either trying too hard with the ingredients or were just too optimistic that someone may like what they send out.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Highland Bakery

Posted on: 1/19/2009

I second the sweet potato pancakes!

Best pancakes ever. you don't even need syrup b/c they are the perfect amount of sweetness with a little brown sugar and pecans. I love this place. Everything I've ever had is delicious. THe wait is a little long on Sundays but it's totally worth it. Nice and good servers. The best bread pudding ever. The prices are reasonable (a brick of bread pudding will last me for 4 days and is only $5!). Parking is sort of an issue but it's not awful at all. Definitely try this place. Note, though, that htey close I think at 4 most days, maybe a little earlier.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

East Atlanta Tattoo

Posted on: 1/19/2009

Dirk is great!

Dirk, the owner of this shop, has done a couple of tattoos on me, and I love them both. He was very patient with what I wanted, offered great advice when what I wanted woudln't work, etc. I've had tattoo artists slap anything on me even though what I had didn't work (colors and what not) because they didn't care (and frankly I didn't know better!) but Dirk is very up front about what will look good and what won't. He's very quiet when he works, which is what I'm not used to in a tattoo artist, but I still would (and plan to) go back to him. Another artist, Kenny, who works there is also extremely talented (he's done friends' tattoos but none of mine yet). This is a great place to go to.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Inman Animal Hospital

Posted on: 6/10/2008

Surprised by some of the reviews

I'm very surprised by the negative reviews of IHP on here. I began taking my dog here instead of my regular vet b/c my uncle called me and asked me to take his dog to see Dr. Fowler after she was bitten badly by another dog. Watching Dr. Fowler handle this poor little dog who was clearly hurting was wonderful--he was so gentle and patient with her. I decided then to begin taking my dog there. I took my dog for her set of shots when she was due, and though it was a little expensive, it's worth it b/c they are great with her. The front staff is great, albeit a little loud and outspoken. But they are very knowledgeable and helpful. I even board my dog here, and the guy who takes care of the kennel was great and was very excited to be able to play fetch with my dog! My dog came back happy. I highly recommend Dr. Fowler and IHP to everyone, and I even carry their business cards to pass to my new pet sitting clients if they need vet help.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Graveyard Tavern

Posted on: 6/10/2008

Pleasantly surprised!

I initially was avoiding this bar because I thought it would be some nasty dirty bar like some other places in the EAV. On the urging of a friend, I went in there and was very surprised. It was very clean and not smoky at all, much unlike I expected it to be. I ordered the Mango Chili wings on suggestion from the server, and man, were they good! The service was a little slow; the server seemed to be bogged down with a table of heavy drinkers, so our non-alcoholic drinks stayed empty for a bit (even though we were eating very spicy wings), but otherwise, it was good. I definitely recommend this place if youre in the village.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Wireless Etc Inc

Posted on: 5/9/2008

Candace was fabulous

I went in with 2 phones, 2 different providers, and wanted to combine them into one blackberry under AT&T. Candace was very helpful in getting me all set up. The process was long and complicated, but she remained light-hearted and helpful throughout it all. She gave me a quick tutorial on the Blackberry on her own phone, as that was the one I was purchasing, and then after she got mine hooked up, showed me how to work my own. After I left, I had to call her a couple times with questions, and she was still very helpful. THEN the next day I had to go back in b/c something didn't transfer right (thanks to Metro PCS...) and she fixed me up again. Great service. I'm glad I wandered into that store instaed of one of the many other stores in Atlanta.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Barking Hound Village Lofts

Posted on: 2/1/2008

Like them but have mixed feelings

My dog really likes this place. She has some aggression issues with other dogs and needs to "warm up" to dogs first. They always send her out with the calmer group so she can convince herself that she is the "baddest" dog in the park and then they let her run around with the dogs in her age/behavior-apporpriate group. I always call and check in during the day and ask how she's doing and they always tell me honestly how she is doing. She always comes back happy and worn out and that's what I like. However the last few times I've brought her back from there, she's come back with fleas. She's a white short-haired dog and I can see every flea on her if she even has them, so I know before going in that she doesn't have a flea on her. When I get her back, whether it's from doggie daycare or from boarding, she is covered with fleas. I have had to flea-bomb my apartment and bathe her a few times after bringing her back the last few times. Otherwise I have no complaints. I have since found a pet sitter to keep my dog overnight when I go out of town, and that's better since she doesn't come back with fleas, but I still recommend BHV.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »