xopher77
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 7/19/2006
Reviews 36
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 3

Arroyo Tree Services

Posted on: 7/13/2013

prompt, professional, and fair pricing

I have neglected some bushes in my back yard for many years now. Before calling Arroyo Tree services, I paid someone previously to trim them back but they gave up midway through the job and disappeared with my money. I continued to put this job off until my wife and I had enough and I finally called Arroyo Tree Services. I wasn't home at the time Ceasar came out the first time, but my wife told me he was polite, professional and arrived on time. Ceasar gave a clear estimate on the work to be done and I accepted the proposal a couple of weeks later. I finally met Ceaser today and as my wife stated he is indeed professional and polite. Today his crew showed up on time and completed the job completely before leaving. Ceasar always had time for my questions during the work and kept me informed. Unlike many companies in Georgia Arroyo Tree Services is professional, shows up on time and gets the work done when they say they will. I am impressed with their work and I already know I will be calling them back for some tree pruning on the side of my home. I highly recommend these guys for your landscaping needs.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Diner At North Point

Posted on: 2/21/2013

One of the best places you probably never heard of

My wife took me here for my birthday. It was a first time visit for us both. The menu prices are a bit higher than other restaurants, but after eating our meal I can honestly say its well worth it. I ordered the scallops and my wife ordered the lasagna. We also ordered chicken wings for an appetizer. While we were waiting our server brought out some bread and with a delicious oil to dip it in. The chicken wings were rather big. I'm usually not a big fan of big chicken wings due to them usually coming out slimy and undone. But these wings were absolutely perfect. We requested them to be crispy and they got them exactly right. Just the right amount of flavor, spice, and a nice crispy texture on the outside made these some of the best wings I have had anywhere. Our entrees arrived and my scallops were great, I didn't get that many but they were kind of large so it was easy to make them last. My wife seemed to enjoy her lasagna and while I didn't eat any in the restaurant, I did have some the next morning when she brought home the left overs and I really enjoyed that as well. The service was excellent our waiter was friendly and always around to fill our drinks and just to check on us. The total cost was just under $50, add a $10 tip for superb service and this was $60 very well spent. One small complaint is I wish there were more seafood dinners without fish as I am severely allergic to regular fish. But overall a great experience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bait and Switch

I have vision insurance but I discovered that using the insurance for glasses still costs me a lot of out pocket; much more than America's Best "deal" of $69.99 for two pairs of glasses and free eye exam. So when I needed some replacement glasses, I went to America's best to take advantage of this deal. I was seen immediately, but when I inquired about getting glasses and just a prescription for contacts to purchase later, I was told I had to pay for a separate eye exam for contacts. That is absurd, other doctor's offices don't charge separately. Oh well, I decide to just go with glasses and then pick out my two frames to still take advantage of the $69.99 deal. Imagine my surprise when I was quoted over $210. I was told my vision was too bad to get that deal and anyone whose vision is worse than -1.00 can't get that deal. My prescription is -2.25 and -2.50, so I didn't "qualify". I ended up settling on one pair of glasses for $160 since if I just left I would have to pay the exam fee anyway, so instead of spending $69.99 for nothing, it was better to get glasses for $160. Don't be fooled about their $69.99 for two pair offer, unless you have near perfect vision, you won't be able to take advantage of it. Don't get me wrong, $220 for two pair is still a pretty good deal without using insurance, but if you go in thinking you will get two pair for $69.99 you will be thoroughly disappointed. Its also stupid they charge separately for glasses and contacts exams.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Party City

Posted on: 10/21/2012

This place is a madhouse

This is my second trip to this location in as many years. I remember the store being hectic, but not as hectic as it was this time around. I came into this store to find a costume for a Halloween party. After dodging through a sea of loud, screaming kids, and adults who don't watch where they are going, I found a costume that I liked, but of course they only had one size available that was too big. I settled on another costume that was in my size so I took it to the dressing room, only to find that the only have two dressing rooms and a 5 minute limit; just enough time to change out of my clothes, try on the costume and immediately take it right back off. To make matters even worse for some reason this store doesn't think mirrors in the dressing room are needed, so given the 5 minute dressing room limit, you can't even see what the outfit looks like on you. To add even more insult to injury, the costume I tried on had pants from another costume in the package. Clearly the workers don't even care about how they repackage items that customers try on. I put everything back in the package and left the store. I will not return to this store in the future. Not only is two dressing rooms ridiculous, for them not to have any mirrors in there is idiotic. Whose ever idea this was needs to be fired. BTW I got the original costume I was looking for at another store 2 miles away with much less hassle and B.S.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Aaron Plumbing, Heating and Air

Posted on: 10/11/2012

They don't bother to call you back.

I called Aaron Plumbing about 3 days ago inquire about how much they would charge for a gas range install. Instead of giving me a general price over the phone, they wanted to schedule someone to come out. But the problem is I don't have the appliances yet and they won't be delivered until the end of the month. I told the lady that I don't have the range yet and didn't want anyone to come out until I knew the price. She said she would have to have someone call me so I gave her my number, but 3 days later still no call. I will move on to someone else and hopefully I can find someone who can at least return a call. Update: Thank you Aaron for responding and addressing this issue. All I ask for in dealing with any business is that they follow through on what they say; anything less makes me feel un-valued as a customer, especially if itís just a simple phone call. The only reason I didnít want for them to physically come out and give an estimate was out of courtesy. I was already quoted one price from the store, and if Aaronís estimate turned out to be more, I didnít want to decline after the serviceman already made the trip out to my home. Even a ballpark estimate would have sufficed to give me a general idea of what I was looking at.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Gwinnett Clinic

Posted on: 6/30/2012

Only go if there is NO other alternative

I have been going to Gwinnett Clinic off and on for the past 12 years, when I got a real PCP I stopped going to these places because over the years I have come to discover that these guys aren't really that good. The doctors I feel don't know what they are talking about a lot of the time, and give out prescriptions like candy and order useless tests. I remember vividly one time I came in because of a slight asthma attack due to running out of neb medication, only to leave with no less than 5 new prescriptions for additional medicine I didn't need. Needless to say I never filled the new prescriptions and only filled the neb and inhaler med medication. More recently I went in because of a prolonged and painful stomach issue caused by high doses of NSAIDs taken for a knee injury and the doctor said it was indigestion which is quite possible since this is a common side effect of NSAIDs, but only after she sent me for xrays at another office across town. She also ordered additional tests, but I never got them done as they seemed unnecessary I also noticed that when you mention other doctors not associated with them, the seem to get jealous as if there patients should only go to them as was the case when I mentioned my orthopedic surgeon who was treating my knee. I guess they are better than nothing, and some docs here are better than others, but overall, I would say Gwinnett Clinic is below average. I have also observed that their offices don't seem very clean.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Arbor-Nomics Turf

Posted on: 5/15/2012

New Customer -- Great so far

I have had bad experiences two other companies; one was lazy, the other was overpriced and pushy. As a result did without service for over a year. When spring started, my lawn was covered with ugly weeds that seemed so bad that I thought there was no hope for the lawn other than to kill all the grass and start from scratch. Luckily I heard about Arbornomics through a local consumer website and decided to give them a try. They came by, inspected my lawn and offered three levels of service at very reasonable prices. They assured me that the weeds were not that bad and could taken care of fairly quickly. I decided to start with the lowest level service for the time being, and a few days after the very first treatment, I could see that the weeds were already dying and to this day no new ones have appeared. I am very happy with the service I have received thus far and will continue to use these guys because they offer great service at a great price. I may upgrade my service plan later on because we have some nasty looking spiders in the yard that get in the house and I think we may be able to benefit from using their pest control service as well. My allergies prevent me from working in my yard and I am very grateful for these guys. My only regret is that I didn't hear about them sooner and maybe I could have saved some headache from dealing with the other two companies.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

A-1 Emissions Testing

Posted on: 2/2/2012

Won't ever go anywhere else

This is my 6th year going to this place, and as always, the owner is courteous, fast, and professional. At this point I wouldn't feel comfortable going anywhere else. Unless I move completely out of the city, this will be the ONLY place I consider for emissions testing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sam's Electronics

Posted on: 7/26/2011

Great Service

Recently, my 4 year old Sammy 61" DLP lost all power after I was replacing a fan. After going through the basic troubleshooting steps, I discovered that the sub power supply had some blown capacitors which I removed and replaced with new ones. When that didn't work I started calling all over town for repair people. Most didn't return calls and others were just plain rude. This was before I called here. I called the number to this shop, and while I didn't get an answer, Sam immediately called me back before I even could set my phone down. He offered to come out the same day to look at the TV. I told him I would call him back if I was still having problems after I replaced the entire Sub Power supply. Long story short even after replacing the TV still wouldn't come on; this was around 6pm. I call Sam back and he showed up at my house literally less than 10 minutes later. After a quick internal examination of my TV, we discovered that a fuse was blown on the main power supply board and he replaced it on the spot for a very fair service call price. My TV works just fine now and I'm grateful to Sam for coming out on such short notice and getting things resolved. Sam is an honest and professional person that it shows in his demeanor and worth ethic. He only fixed what was wrong and didn't try to sell me other services or parts I didn't need. I hope I never have another issue with my TV, but if I do, Sam will be the ONLY person I will call.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Planet Smoothie

Posted on: 7/1/2011

Not as good as Smoothie King but still pretty good

Occasionally after my morning workouts, I opt for a smoothie instead of my protein shake or protein shot. However I always had to drive well out of my way to get a smoothie from Smoothie King. After my most recent visit to Smoothie King, I decided that was enough and it was too inconvenience for me. Luckily I found a Planet Smoothie right on my way to work from the gym, so I decided to give them a try. They seem to offer more variety in some of the smoothies they offer, such as choice of fruit, but their smoothies do seem a little more watery than Smoothie King. With Smoothie King I could take my time, but with Planet Smoothie I had to drink it quickly to avoid too much syrupy liquid at the bottom of the cup. I'll probably return, but that's only because there isn't a Smoothie King nearby.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 4 Next »