garywilk
TRUST RATING
Member since 4/27/2008
Reviews 13
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Americinn Motel & Suites

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Good QUIET rooms

No, its not a five start hotel and it doesn't cost like it. It IS clean and well-run. Since moving away from Burlington over 25 years ago we've typically returned to visit family and friends at least once a year. We almost always stay here. We've tried other local hotels from time to time, but unless there's some reason to stay elsewhere (event, etc.) we always stay at AmericInn.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bickels Cycling And Fitness

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Iowa and bicycles?

Besides corn, Iowa is known for RAGBRAI, the Des Moines Register's Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa. If you're getting ready for that big event Bickels is (and has been for many years) the place in Burlington to get quality bicycles and great service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Photovisions Camera & Video

Posted on: 5/18/2008

A real camera store

If you love photography, either film or digital, this is the place where you can get whatever you need for either. Their emphasis is on quality and service. And if you're particular about the way your prints look, they've got the best color of any place I've ever been, other than ordering from a pro lab. Top notch.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Eye Consultants of Atlanta

Posted on: 5/18/2008

What every doctor's office should be

All doctor's offices should be modeled after Eye Consultants!!! I see Dr. Pastor who is excellent on his own, but the most amazing thing about Eye Consultants is how well the office is run. The downtown office is huge - a ton of doctors, somewhere between five and ten receptionists, etc. You'd think it would be a disaster but its exactly the opposite. The receptionists are clearly marked by doctor so its easy to find which one you need. I've never had more than five or ten minutes go by between arriving and the beginning my care. The staff are friendly and efficient and I never feel like I'm waiting needlessly. Things always keep moving and even though you're in a sea of patients you never feel like you've been left adrift. I wish every doctor's office I visit were run as well as Eye Consultants. Some are pretty good, but Eye Consultants is undoubtedly the best organized doctor's office I've ever been to. But oddly, in all this efficiency I never feel like I'm being rushed. Huge but personal, quick but not rushed. This place has it down.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Georgia Aquarium

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Hate to say it, but...

Just not that good. I'm not a big marine biologist or anything, but I've been to a few aquariums and this one, despite being HUGE, is probably the worst I've seen. Poorly designed and laid out. Its almost like its designed to make things crowded. Small viewing portals where people are packed in tight. VERY BAD DESIGN! It needs to be WAY MORE OPEN. If you're in the mood for a really good aquarium take the time and drive to the one in Chattanooga. I don't know that the Georgia Aquarium could even be fixed without just starting over.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Piedmont Fayette Hospital EMR

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Go elsewhere for ER

The rest of the hospital is OK, but the ER at both the Fayette county facility and the main hospital downtown is horrible. Unless you're near death, you'd be ahead to go the extra distance to a different hospital if you're in need of urgent care. VERY SLOW without justification and sloppy overall. I know that ERs in general are in trouble throughout the country, but these ERs take the prize for the worst I've ever been to in my life. On top of that, after my very first experience with the main hospital downtown way back in '94 they botched the billing and paperwork and it took me forever to get it straightened out. I had hoped they'd improved and/or that maybe being in the suburbs now would mean a better ER, but no such luck. There are other hospitals in the area with ERs with much better ratings. Do the smart thing and find one before you need one.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Martini's Grille

Posted on: 5/18/2008

The view is just part of it...

A very upscale restaurant for Burlington, probably the best in town. The food and service are wonderful, though they've recently revised the menu to some "new" format (I forget the name) more in the family dining style. You can still order many items from a menu in the traditional sense, but the new style is kind of a package deal format. I preferred the old way, but still enjoyed the eating there the last time we went. And the view of the Mississippi and Illinois is gorgeous at sunset. Even after the sun has gone down its still fun watching the river traffic and enjoying the view of the bridge.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Weird Harolds

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Great, knowledgable LOCAL record store

Sadly, one of a dying breed - a local record store where the people know music instead of a nameless, faceless chain. Huge selection of all kinds of recorded music and other bric-a-brac. Big selection with plenty of used CDs to choose from. If you're one of us aging baby boomers and still like to get music the physical way then this is the place if you're in Burlington.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Attina's Music Store

Posted on: 5/18/2008

Terrific service

Bought my guitar and amp there and got excellent service and a terrific guitar and amp. The guitar is a Godin (go-DAN) LG (a small Canadian manufacturer) and the amp is a Line6. A friend (professional musician) had recommended Godin as a guitar with great bang for the buck for someone who plays purely for leisure. First amp I bought with it was a Crate that I just hated. They let me return it for full credit toward the Line6, a much better if slightly more expensive choice. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable, and my salesman was quite obviously a guitar player himself. A terrific experience all around

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Eye1st Vision & Laser Center

Posted on: 5/13/2008

A buttoned-down place with first-rate results

Its now been over three years since Dr. Matzkin did my eyes and I still waste time everyday just admiring how clear things are. I'm at worst 20/20 in each eye and with no side effects. Dr. Matzkin is very accomodating but his demeanor, both personal and with his staff, is very serious. That's just fine with me - when someone is making delicate and permanent changes to my eyes I don't want them being flip about it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »