Lazers
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 5/11/2008
Reviews 348
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 4

Bruster's Ice Cream

Posted on: 7/11/2008

OMG, I scream

This place is AWESOME!! Sure on a busy drag away from my neighborhood, but the alternative (Brusters) is on Indian River Road in Acredale section - same thing. They are awesome. Great ice cream (some flavors show the maple base taste through). Know the deals! First, get a punch card (buy 9 get the 10th free) everything counts as a purchase cheap and high end. I like the single scoop in a waffle cone - it is so generous a helping you might have to ask for half a scoop (no). If it is raining (or snow) you get a second scoop for free. I have not scientifically measured it out, but The second scoop (free or paid for ) is significantly smaller than the first waffle cone scoop (it is huge). There are more tricks to learn, so stop by get a single waffle, get the card punched and eat on!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Iceland of Virginia Beach

Posted on: 7/9/2008

Hey, its ice in Virginia Beach!!

For transplanted northerners here is your year round skating ground. Decent ice, not to crowded, great for a birthday party - after all who skates!? I understand that ice time for hockey is as much at a premium here as a real hockey town - so call for any use.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Virginia Zoo

Posted on: 7/5/2008

Open vista

tucked inside the city of Norfolk the Zoo has spent considerable effort in creating an "open African plain" to exhibit the lions, elephants, giraffes, zebra, rhino - ostrich(?), and bongo. A vast improvement over the segregated cages. The prairie dog exhibit is also incredibly fun!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Five Guys

Posted on: 6/29/2008

I read it on Kudzu

I had heard of it before but wasn't compelled to go until I saw the peer reviews - really. I had to try it. I was intimidated by the comments of the burgers being so large. The cashier counseled me that I could get the Little Burger (cheese and bacon). And I added a fry!!! They serve the fries in a cup and a paper bag. The paper bag held more than the cup. Of course I was tempted to eat all of the fries despite not wanting such a quantity. So if you want incredible tasting and voluminous meal or even want to try to moderate the over-sized portions - the burgers are great and you need to go to Five Guys! Fairfield - the heart of Kempsville.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Virginia Beach Convention Center

Posted on: 6/29/2008

Build a big box and now fill it.

Sure it is nice and new, but will it be used for thing that needed it or for events that it needs? The old convention center had a nice auditorium (now "covered" by Sandler), and I visited car shows, boat shows, graduations, crafter shows... All will happen int he new digs too - so what did we get for the architecture and yet another farm field of carpet?

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Atlantic Garden Center

Posted on: 6/27/2008

It's not McDonalds but worth a shop

Great sale going on now (6/27/08)plants, fountains, et al. It appears to me that their main emphasis is garden ecoutrements and annuals. Not many trees or shrubs (but that could just be my eye). Same brand as offered at Home Depot (Monrovia) for shrubs. Gross prices looked the same.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Catch 31

Posted on: 6/27/2008

WOW, this place is snappin'

For those who wanted to keep an open green space - I'm sorry. This place is great! Beautiful stage just off the property with bands all summer. The patio is full to over full! The restaurant serves excellent food and is busy year round. Great ocean front veranda to enjoy dinner. Plenty of tvs turned to sports if you are at the bar - and no band is playing. Truly a great amenity for our little Berg!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Vibrant caring facility

The overhaul has yielded nice dividends. Ample parking. Warm and friendly welcome desk. Active "market square" deli, pharma, gift shop. Once you are up the elevator you are definitely back to the original hospital - no shine here, but competent practitioners and all the things that beep and squeeze that you need!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Mary's Restaurant

Posted on: 6/26/2008

Mary's gone but not forgotten

The heritage continues with great value, comfortable and friendly staff and patrons. Great for a morning "club" to dine and chat!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Lucky Star

Posted on: 6/26/2008

It was fine

Dinner, lunch, or even a casual "joint" next door the food and service is fine. On crabcakes, the Virginian Pilot had them tied with Surf Rider. After a diligent sampling I go with Surf Rider. There is something unique in the Lucky Star's. You be the judge, worth the verdict.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next »