lew147
TRUST RATING
Member since 8/25/2006
Reviews 8
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 3

Walker Tree Service

Posted on: 1/5/2011

Carefully took down a 50-60 foot pine

Steve cut down a tree across the street from us; that's how we found out about him. He was really careful in taking that one down, so we hired him to do ours. Did a nice job. No cranes involved. He climbs the tree and lowers everything down to his crew using a rope.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Year Round Repairs & Tree Service

Posted on: 10/4/2009

Problem solved

There was a part of our roof that had been a problem ever since we moved in. A number of things had been done incorrectly, especially the flashing. Larry and his crew fixed everything. This wasn't a big job, and I was afraid I'd have trouble finding anyone to take it. They did it for what I thought was a reasonable price. And they made sure the tricky spots were done exactly the right way (i.e., step flashing, self-sealing ice/water barrier, so on). On top of it the work area was spotless when they finished.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Snap Fitness Decatur 24/7

Posted on: 2/18/2009

See for yourself

I did the two week free trial. If you're at all interested in Snap then do the trial. There is absolutely no hard sell when you show up. They have you sign an injury waiver and give you a very brief tour and answer questions. I was working out in less than 5 minutes. I never once got pressured to join. In the end I decided to not join since my wife wanted to keep working out at the Y. But I would have considered joining. Pros: cost; convenience; clean; small; no waiting for machines. Cons: The Matrix brand equipment. This was my only gripe. Just go and see for yourself. Maybe you'll be fine with them. To me they reminded me of machines from 20 years ago. The ellipticals do not have an incline adjustment. Really. The treadmills don't have the braking that most do. So if you're going 6.0 miles an hour and then adjust it down to 3.0 it takes a while for it to adjust. Most treadmills take about 5 seconds to do that. Also wasn't crazy about some of the Matrix weight machines. Seemed rickety compared to Cybex equipment.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Quantum Mechanics

Posted on: 2/18/2009

Good so far

The guys here are nice and seem honest. I haven't had much done other than routine maintenance because my highlander's pretty new (2006). Had a "Maint. Req." light come on and had them check it. Seems that light comes on at intervals and is just a maintenance reminder, not an indication that something's wrong. They showed me how to reset it and didn't charge anything for the visit. Another thing I liked: Their shop is spotless. To me that says they're detail-oriented. I like that.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Out of the Ordinary Florist

Posted on: 9/9/2008

Charged credit card, never sent flowers

My mom wanted to send my wife flowers for her 40th birthday. I told her to give Paul a call at Out of the Ordinary, since I live in the neighborhood and like to support local merchants. The flowers never came. When I talked to Paul he said he didn't remember the order but would look at his records and call back. He was totally unapologetic. And he never called back. I asked my mom to see if her credit card was charged. It was. I would have never posted this review if I had gotten so much as an "I'm sorry." I hate to blast a local merchant, but I'm really steamed about this.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Munich West Inc

Posted on: 2/29/2008

Solid, trustworty

Just got rid of my 1997 Saab 900, but thought I should put in a good word for these guys before I forget. Took my car to them probably 10-15 times in 8 years. Never once tried to sell me on work I didn't need done. Steve's unfailingly pleasant to deal with. Mechanics really seem to know what they're doing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Empire Heating & Air Conditioning

Posted on: 7/17/2007

Nice work, no issues

Had a filter compartment add to my furnace/air since the folks who owned the house before me never had one. Go figure. Called Empire, talked to Chris in sales and he gave me a rough estimate of what it would cost. Then he came out the next day and checked out my system and wrote up the contract with the final price. Installer came out two days later and put it in. Note that their installer are not sub-contractors; they all work for Empire. Everything went smoothly. They all showed up on time. I thought about using Moncrief since they've also received good reviews here. But when I called I just got the receptionist and she couldn't tell me much about the pricing, except that I'd have to pay a flat rate for them driving out and a flat rate per 15 minutes of work. I was kind of put off by that. Contrast that with Empire where the salesperson came to my house free of charge. Cost of the job with Empire probably wasn't the cheapest in town, but it certainly wasn't the most expensive.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Import Service Center Inc

Posted on: 8/25/2006

sloppy service at a bargain price

I concur with many of the earlier posts. The guys at this shop are friendly and helpful, and the prices are reasonable. I took my wife's 2003 Cabrio in for an air conditioner problem, a sticky window and a balky convertible top. But they weren't able to fix much. And they broke the rear window switches in the process.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value