JKinAtlanta
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 8/25/2006
Reviews 52
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 20

Stilesboro Biscuits

Posted on: 5/10/2014

Great Breakfast & Fun Experience

You have to figure out their hours - they're not open everyday & only in AM, but a great place. Also, it's very small, so get there early. They only have a couple tables, but they're shared, so sit down if you see a spot. The friendly ladies at counter will probably call you sweetie & the last Sat. of month a great bluegrass band plays in the corner. Various biscuit types & sweet rolls are your main options. Just go.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

O'Charley's

Posted on: 5/10/2014

Consistently good, but watch the seating practices

Close by, consistently good & reasonable prices with typically good service. We've gone here for years. One thing that's happened twice in past 6 months occurs when it is very crowded. You have the typical wait-list/buzzer. As people waiting overflow into bar area, cheating cheaters who just arrived will see a table come open & ask a bar-waiter if they can have it. The bar waiter says sure & they plop right down!!! I almost made a scene after 2 groups jumped us this way, but luckily our buzzer buzzed. We told manager, who supposedly corrected wait staff over there & then comped us part of meal, I think. Anyway, this doesn't happen on "normal" nights, so check it out. Sunday brunch menu & 9.99 specials are good too.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Italian done well

Capo's does a good job with everything from pizza & calzones to nice Italian specialty dishes. You can grab pizza by the slice for as low as $2. The specialty dishes run a bit more, of course, but in line w/ similar restaurants and prepared very well. They also have specials throughout the week, so be sure to check.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Elsbree, James MD

Posted on: 3/11/2013

Good Doc, Close By

I've been going to Dr. Elsbree for nearly 7 years now. At the start, he seemed just a bit aloof, but maybe he mellowed, or maybe we just know each other a bit now, but he seems much more personable now. Appointments have been pretty easy; the staff is responsive & I cannot recall any insurance mixups. He's willing to listen and will take time to answer your questions whether on a sick or well visit.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sal's Pizza Bistro

Posted on: 1/1/2011

Nice discovery nearby

Looking for something different, but still nearby, we found Sal's with an online search. Just six miles away, but in a different direction than we usually go, we were pleasantly surprised. What Sal's lacks in ambiance, it makes up for with friendly service, good food and impressive prices. It's a small place, but there was only one other table filled when we arrived. We read the daily specials while the friendly waitress brought the complimentary garlic knots. Not crazy about the marinara for the knots, but it was ok. Wife got a gyro while I got the baked ziti. Both were huge plates & less than $7 each. Mine included a salad; hers fries. After a 2nd basket of garlic knots we were stuffed. We just drank water, so can't comment on beverages. And for the happiest part - the bill was just over $13. Throwing in a few bucks tip for the nice service and we were still out for less than $17, with a to-go box for Monday's lunch! The pizzas looked good too. We plan to go again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Texas Roadhouse

Posted on: 12/12/2010

Favorite Family Steak Place

For a consistently good steak and sides with good service and fair prices in the West Cobb, Paulding Co. area, this is your place. The young wait staff are usually surprisingly pleasant & polite. They keep the hot, fresh yeast rolls & cinnamon butter coming, while keeping your tea glass filled. The salad, steak and potato are consistently good with much better prices than Outback & Longhorn, IMO. Haven't tried much else, though friend's kid had chicken fingers that looked really good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

West Cobb Diner

Posted on: 11/16/2010

Good food, big servings, modest prices

This place has become one of our faves for a Sunday dinner or otherwise. Only open a year or so, the food is great, with generous servings for very modest prices. I really almost hate to call attention to it for fear it will change. We hit a dud server on one occasion, which can really spoil a place, but most are very friendly & attentive. They have gone out of their way to make sure we were served well. Country-fried steak wasn't a favorite, but meatloaf, fish taco special, & other seafood items from po-boys to shrimp salad were very good. Love the sweet potato fries too.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Blu Greek Taverna

Posted on: 9/11/2009

UPDATE to original //Good dinner: Gyros & Souvlaki

Update 1/10: 3rd, but last time for Blu. Server brought basket of pita points w/olive spread. We thought, oh they listened about no bread items. Food was good (though took awhile). Kid's meal came w/drink & dessert - decent value - until we asked for her dessert. Waiter paused, gave funny look & then went to get. We thought, weird, but whatev. The bill came; kid's drink was $2.25. We told him kid drink included. He 1st said "no," then relented when we asked to see menu. Then, saw $1 for pita pts. Not much, but we had specif. said no apptzr. He said,"Bread just comes." We said, "But we didn't order." He fixed, but that's not right. Not worth this hassle. ---- 9/09 In mood for something different after not liking looks of another nearby Greek place, GPS led us here. Nice decor & atmosphere just off Marietta Square. First approached by two servers (one, brand new -- uh-oh), we were concerned, but Sarah did great job & needed little help from her tutor. Only reason not 5-star on svc. was not her fault, but after 20-25 minutes, food had not arrived. With no bread basket to keep us busy we were nearing frustration when food arrived. It looked good & tasted better. Just a gyro & chicken souvlaki, but we both finished everything & in a rare move, ordered dessert to split. Described as cake in honey & on bill as bread pudding (I forget the Greek name & it's not listed on their Web site), we quickly finished it as well. Very good. Will go again if get chance.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Fusco's Via Roma?

Posted on: 6/19/2009

A very nice dinner

We've seen Fusco's in Acworth for several years and only just got around to going. Hostess and wait staff very pleasant and helpful. Others even pitched in when server got busy and mgr./owner? was walking around chekcing on things. Wife's martini not the best in the world, especially for the price, but dinners were very good if slightly pricey. But then again, this is a nice restaurant. She had a steak-type special (i.e., steak was part of the recipe, not a traditional steak). She loved it. I had a scallop & prosciutto pasta dish. Scallops very good, huge portions. Wasn't overwhelmed by the sauce, but still very good. Nice salad, bread with olive oil included. We'd definitely go back on a special occasion.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bugaboo Creek Steak House

Posted on: 3/25/2009

Ugh, disappointed...

Had been to a Bugaboo in Gwinnett several years ago and it was fine. Finally went to this one on our side of town with family a couple months ago and ugh, food was just lousy. Service was fine and friendly, but I recall having a tough steak with not a good taste. Wife had some type of fish, I believe, and was similarlly disappointed. Too many places around to try this one again, I'm afraid.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next »