audiofan
TRUST RATING
Member since 6/18/2008
Reviews 7
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

Worth Every Dollar Appraisals, LLC

Posted on: 11/26/2013

Worth every penny!

Possibly the best service I've received from a company. Greg himself came out. A cheery guy, he wasted no time but also paused to answer questions completely and courteously. He knew his stuff and worked efficiently, even though I kept peppering him with questions. After finishing his measurements and basic calcs, he sat us down at the kitchen table to explain what he did, what he knew about the home so far, what he was going to do, and set up accurate expectations. He made sure we were comfortable with his goals of fairness and accuracy. Due to time pressure we asked if he could expedite the report, to which he set a good expectation of "before Monday" (on Friday afternoon), and we said ok... he delivered ahead of time. After the appraisal came in, I contacted him for some clarifications and his responses, both email and phone, were prompt and patient, taking as much time as needed for me to understand. One thing that stood out (besides all the above, which although one expects, one rarely receives), is his attitude of no BS, no talking-down to the client. Too often, professionals tend to treat the homeowner as if he/she is, well, retarded. Greg spoke to us on an even level, explaining when necessary or asked but never assuming we were idiots who were just lucky enough to have a half-mil to purchase a nice home. For this alone he gets top marks, and the rest is gravy. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dickey's Barbecue Pit - Milton,GA

Posted on: 11/16/2010

Going downhill fast

When I first heard about this I was excited, being from TX and having eaten at the original Dickeys quite often. The first visit, within a month of opening, was good. The brisket was close enough to my memory, and the service was great. The next visit was good, maybe not as good in terms of food. The next two visits left me sorely disappointed and I have given up on this place. The service is still ok but not 'bright' like before, a bit sullen perhaps. But it's the food... I always get beef brisket, usually sliced. (I don't eat pork). The last two times it was too fatty. This MIGHT be excused if the rest of it was great. Unfortunately, NOT. The beef seemed limp and gooey, not firm and assertive like good TX bbq should be. I don't know what's up with this place, but they need to get back into the Texas groove. On the plus side, the fries are nice and so is the free ice cream.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Kalahari Electrical Services

Posted on: 8/3/2010

Wow... phone advice with no pressure!

I just got off the phone with Kalahari after calling to discuss a breaker problem. The person listened to my problem, asked a question or two and made a diagnosis. To prove it he had me flip a couple of the switches in a certain order while predicting the consequences and sure enough, he was right! I then asked him what to do to repair this. With no hesitation, he told me what to do. When I expressed a slight concern and asked him what it would cost to have him do it, he quoted me a very fair price. No pressure at all, and I do believe he has a new customer, although one who hasn't hired him yet! Thank you!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Findlay Roofing/RoofRoof

Posted on: 8/20/2009

My second review, they're that good

I posted a 5-star review last year, stating it would be 10 stars if possible. I stand by that after a couple of more contacts with them. I have no affiliation with Findlay besides being a customer, and my neighbor is now a happy customer also. I don't understand the handful of negative reviews, but I would guess this sort of thing comes from an uninformed consumer. While I think Findlay does the needful to explain the project and its related aspects (eg wood sheets needed), this is not a substitute for common sense. If your roof had a leak it is likely that some wood underneath will be rotted. My Findlay crew chief Felix found 11 sheets of wood that needed replacement. I knew before I hired them what the cost would be per sheet and told Felix to show me each old sheet he wanted to replace. He did so and I have no complaints. I have had reason to call Findlay back to my house for a couple of adjustments since my last review. Twice, it was Ricky who came over, and he was at least the fourth employee of Findlay I have dealt with (not counting the roofing crew except for Felix). Like the others, he was cheerful, helpful, very courteous, efficient and competent. There was another emp who came another time and although very good I'm sorry I can't recall his name.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Platinum Roofing and Remodeling

Posted on: 7/15/2009

Platinum - a very RARE thing!

Just like several recent reviewers for this company, I experienced the same disappearing act... salesman came out, I called him back with questions, he said the manager would call me back, no call back for days, I emailed him, no reply...the end. In a way I'm glad they disappeared on me because I went on to find a great roofing company who I will shortly be reviewing, after they finish some adjustments. And no doubt there is something going on with Platinum as another reviewer has suggested, because their reviews have been good in the past and in fact my neighbor recommended them after having used them about 6 months ago. But at this time, they need to get their act together, and this review along with the others should serve as fair warning to others to look out for these problems and tread carefully.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cool Masters, Inc.

Posted on: 6/18/2008

Egotistical, no followup even when asked

The tech came out to charge the system due to a leak. While chatting with him, I discovered he did not know how to convert Fahrenheit to Centigrade. While this may not be common knowledge for high school graduates (that's where I remembered mine from, over 30 years ago), one would think an HVAC 'professional' should know that. Anyway, he suggested a new system and said his boss would call us. Days and then a couple of weeks went by, but no call, so I called. No big deal, things slip into the cracks sometimes. The boss came out a couple of days later to look at the system. Without really examining ANYTHING, upon learning the age (15-16 years) he said it's a "must replace now" situation. During the hour or so he spent at my place he was on the phone with one of his techs for perhaps 40 minutes, arguing about capacitors. When he finally convinced him he said to me "I hate when people think they know everything. That's MY job". Oh well. He left with a promise to email me a full quote. When I did not hear for a couple of days, I emailed him. Then again the next day. No response. He did not answer his cell phone and voicemail was full so I could not leave a message. So I called the office and the secretary asked me to send her the email and she would forward it. So I did so. Three more days, nothing. Called again. Nothing. Called again and said, "It doesn't appear he is going to get back to me. Should I write him off?" I was told "that's fine, sir." End of story.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Roswell Auto Center

Posted on: 6/18/2008

Reliable, quick, quality at a fair price

There's an old joke... Quick, Cheap or Good... pick any two. These guys have obviously never heard this one, as they insist on providing the customer all three. Although "cheap" should not be interpreted here as "shoddy"... what you get is quick-as-possible service, no BS, qualified attention to your problem or service issue, and fair pricing that enables the business to stay viable but also avoids the customer's wallet feeling violated. Randall at the desk, and Carl and his partner in the shop, exhibit professionalism and courtesy, and show the others how it's done.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value