PeterPumpkinhead
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 5/17/2005
Reviews 36
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 3

Krystal

Posted on: 3/25/2010

What you'd expect at Krystal

If you haven't eaten at a Krystal hamburger place before, then let me explain what Krystals are like. They are small burgers - a very thin piece of hamburger meat in between two thick buns. We call 'em "gut bombs." A few hours after eating, they will hit your digestive tract like a ton of bricks. But there is something addictive about these little buggers anyway. The Krystal french fries are fantastic, if you buy during the busiest times of the day. If you go at off-times, or late at night, they won't be as good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Ci Ci's Pizza

Posted on: 3/25/2010

More for kids than adults

Kids like the pizza and the atmosphere. Always movies for kids on the large screen TV. Lots of video games begging for parent's loose change. Plan some video games into your budget and you can have a good time. The pizza is more appealing to children than to adults. It is not very tasty, but kids seem to like a less Italian flavored pizza. Adults can improve the flavor by sprinkling on some garlic powder provided near the salad bar. The soft drinks are self-serve and a nice variety and quality. Servers pick up your plates pretty quickly. The "hollering" another reviewer referred to is "WELCOME TO CI CI's!" - and that is a technique to discourage armed robberies. They are letting people who come through the door see that they have been seen by every staff member.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Little Off The Top

Posted on: 3/25/2010

Not recommended

This barber shop is only labeled "BARBER" on the sign on the building. It is located in the strip mall in between Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers and CVS. The name of the shopping center is the Crown Point Shopping Center. Kid's haircuts advertised as $8 with big sign in the window. I considered telling them to go ahead and charge $10, but I wasn't very happy with my child's haircut. The haircut was very choppily done (and took more than a half hour to do at that)so I didn't offer a tip, but thought I would tip a dollar after I got my change back. Well - guess what? The tip was added right into it with no explanation. You will also not get any receipt. The lady who worked the counter was fairly nice, but barely. If you just want your hair cut the very same length all over your head using electric clippers, then this is the place for you. I think they want to offer exactly what their name says - "A little off the top." The environment of the physical space itself is nice - there is adequate and comfortable seating. They make an effort to support the local African American community with fliers, brochures, and business cards of area people. The space has a wide screen televisions showing BET. All that is nice, but what people want is a good haircut, so my review is based primarily on the haircut and the customer service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

CVS Pharmacy

Posted on: 1/14/2010

Good CVS store and pharmacy

This is a good CVS store. All the staff has been great and very helpful and personable. The pharmacist is knowledgeable and helps advise me on products on the other side of the pharmacy counter (this can be rare these days!) The prices are fairly high in the non-pharmacy sections. You will pay for the convenience of the quick visit in and out of this store

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Darden Dr James M Jr DDS PC

Posted on: 1/14/2010

Great Snellville dentist

I am extremely happy with Dr. Darden and his whole staff. It is definitely a growing dental practice in Snellville. Please disregard comments made by other reviewers that "this dentist is in a strip mall." Whether a dentist rents space in a shopping area or not is immaterial to the quality of service, level of the dentist's education or skill. It has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with whether it's a good dentist or not. I worked as an office manager for an oral surgeon. I know when a dental office is run right and safety procedures are followed. Everything is right in this office. I take my entire family here, and you should take your family here.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Home Depot

Posted on: 1/14/2010

This Home Depot can be hit or miss

I've had occasions where I just LOVE Home Depot, and other visits where I almost vow never to return again. SELF CHECKOUT: Credit card terminals can be iffy. Sometimes they don't work, causing more time, more headache. CUSTOMER SERVICE DESK: My experience has always been excellent. If there is a negative, they might over-help! APPLIANCES: The saleslady tried to lead me to a $1,000 washing machine model before asking what my needs were, when a $450 model would work fine for me. DELIVERY: Received recorded call the night before delivery, saying that they would call 30 minutes before they arrived. We DID receive a call - the phone rang only once then they hung up. The guys showed up and they were probably low to medium service level. I paid $20 for a metal drainage hose and they put in a normal one. So I had the delivery guy note the discrepancy on his paperwork, so I could use that to go get my money back. I should have gotten a copy of the paperwork, but he left with it. So now I have nothing to show Home Depot to get my money refunded. LAWN & GARDEN: The lawnmower salesman had great advice for me, was extremely helpful. The folks who ensured the mower started and helped us load the riding mower in our vehicle were great. HOME DEPOT CREDIT CARD: Very VERY high interest rates. Avoid.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Associated Credit Union

Posted on: 1/14/2010

Good credit union

This is a great credit union. If I had to state a negative,it is the parking lot. The layout is poorly designed. For instance, for cars to enter the parking lot, they must cross the lines of cars waiting for the drive-through windows. This makes it almost impossible to get in during busy times of the day. It is inconvenient mainly because of the parking lot. If you plan to do most of your banking at another branch or by mail, this will not be a concern to you. If you are banking at one of the commercial banks and paying $15 a month, then you really should get a credit union membership. You will not be sorry you did.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

DR Chns Natural Pharmacy

Posted on: 1/14/2010

Eh...

I didn't have the best visit at this store. The employees just stared at me and my child as we browsed. Nobody spoke to me. It's a good store if you know exactly what you are looking for, I guess.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

U-Gotta Plumber, Inc.

Posted on: 1/13/2010

Wonderful Gwinnett plumber

Extremely reasonable prices, knows what he's doing, (work so good that I actually gaze and admire it after he's left!)...and my house has, shall we say - "challenging" plumbing issues. I wouldn't call anybody else. Tandi and Mark are very honest and I am glad to know them and do business with them. I recommend them to friends all the time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Ulta Beauty

Posted on: 1/13/2010

They act as if they are doing YOU a favor

Did I get a good shampoo, cut and style? Yes. Very detailed, once the stylist got to that part. Hair was washed and conditioned, then the stylist went to work with another client. An HOUR later (seriously, I am not exaggerating), the stylist came back and cut and styled for me. Total time spent there for this service: 2 hours. I think the amount of time was ridiculous, especially since I had an appointment, so why would they be doubled up like that? Keep in mind, this was the "cheap" haircut at $30. Depending which of the three levels of stylist you choose, you could pay up to $90 (!!!!) for a shampoo, cut and style. If you just need a decent haircut fast, go to Great Clips. I spent the whole time I was at Ulta wishing I was at Great Clips. I'm treated better at Great Clips, faster service without an appointment, and my haircut is $12, maybe $18 if I get a shampoo!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value