NeedMoreCowBell
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 7/13/2008
Reviews 90
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 4

Le Pigeon

Posted on: 8/9/2008

Le Pigeon

heard this place was a must as we passed through Portland. The Foie Gras was really good for an appetizer. I like how the menu changes weekly, that shows the chef is innovative and local. When we were there there was an incredible pork shoulder dish. Normally I'm not a huge pork fan, but the texture and sauce on this was delicious! Pretty good wine selection too. If you can, save room for the creme brulee. When we were there, they had a BONUS pot of espresso flavored cream with a shortbread cookie. What a great deal!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Yoko's Japanese Restaurant

Posted on: 8/9/2008

Halibut Cheeks

I hesitate to write a review about Yoko's for fear more people will further swamp the place. But it is in fact, AWESOME. Try the halibut cheeks if they have it, the soft shell crab appetizer, the seaweed salad and any of the rolls/sashimi/nigiri. Oh and sit at the bar.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

FREE WI-FI

Unfortunately I am a very frequent business traveler, and our company has one of our largest clients in Portland, so I fly into PDX a fair amount. Its one of the best in the country. If you have an elite/rapid car card and status on an airline rental car dropoff and security is super fast. I wish more airports were like PDX. Its doesn't hurt that Portland in the last 5 years has evolved into such a great city.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Hotel Deluxe

Posted on: 8/9/2008

Hotel Deluxe

The cleaning staff made the room like nobody had been staying there. Suitcases in the closet, toothbrushes side-by-side, and...where's my Portland magazine I was reading?...oh, in the drawer with a bookmark on the page I was on.Portland's legendary mass-transit system is within steps of Hotel Deluxe, including the MAX trains which run from the baggage carousels at the airport to 2 blocks from the hotel doors.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Navarre

Posted on: 8/9/2008

Navarre

There are some days you think to yourself, "what could I get for $25?" If you're in Portland, the answer is go to Navarre and get really full.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Top Gun Seafood Restaurant

Posted on: 8/8/2008

OK

Good standard dim sum. Parking stinks. If you go at noon on a weekend, don't even bother driving into the lot... it's chaos. We waited outside for about 20 minutes because it was so busy and the waiting room was stuffed with people. The numbering system for the wait list is not in any kind of order, so you have to pay close attention not to miss yours.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dixie's BBQ

Posted on: 8/8/2008

BBQ Sauce is not Hot!

Over-rated ... hugely over-rated ... the food is nothing great. Customer service is OK. Prices are on the high side. The MAN sauce s ridiculous. Is this a Mexican restaurant in disguise? uase last I heard, BBQ sauce is not Jalapeno hot.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Kingfish Cafe

Posted on: 8/8/2008

Best Soul in Seattle!

Lovely decor and atmosphere in the restaurant. At 8pm on a Friday we were told it would be an hour wait, but really more like 30mins.... (that's how it should be, not the other way round !). Great food. The only word of warning though, is if you have specific southern staples on your mind, phone to check if they are on the menu that night. Chicken and Waffles is on the Winter menu, and I'd be hankering for it all day. The desserts rotate as well, so if you really really want the Red Velvet cake or Sweet Potato Pie, call ahead to see if it is on that night.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Catfish Corner

Posted on: 8/8/2008

Catfish Corner

Good fish...good hush puppies...good yams...a little pricy for soul food...service was outstanding...will go back, especially for the gumbo on Wednesdays.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rover's

Posted on: 8/8/2008

Haute Cuisine

Rover's is exceptional! It is probably one of the best restaurants I've been to in my life. If you are into French cuisine, this is the place!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value