youngblackfemale
TRUST RATING
Member since 8/04/2008
Reviews 14
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Paschal's

Posted on: 7/14/2009

Try Again!

I had a large dinner party here. I was not at all impressed. The food was overcooked, the service was horrible, I was very disappointed and definitely expected more.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Two Urban Licks

Posted on: 7/14/2009

So/So

I've been to Two a few times and even considered having a private event there (but later changed my mind when I found discripancies in the contract). Pros: Excellent food, fun atmosphere Cons: Poor service, rude hostesses, looooong waits!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dunwoody Dermatology, LLC

Posted on: 8/6/2008

My Skin Has Never Looked Greater but for the Nurse

My skin has never looked better! I guess you can account this to the medication I'm taking but Dr. Schaen did prescribe the medicine that has worked perfectly for my skin. Dr. Schaen was very through and attentive. The office was neat and clean. The receptionists were pleasant and knowledgeable. The office is ran very well. I was in and out in no time without feeling rushed and without feeling like my questions were not answered. So, why not 5 stars, that would be because of the nurse. She was very nice during the visit but when I called to say that I thought that one of my meds were burning my skin she was rude and implied that I wasn't using me medicine correctly. Which added insult to injury (i.e. the burns on my face)when I know I had followed the instrustions properly. My regular doctor told me that it was a bad sunburn. Dr. Schaen did tell me that the the medicine would make my skin more sensitive. All I needed to do was up my daily SPF which I did and my sunburn heeled quickly with no scars. Had I not had an appointment with my regular doctor and I had listened to the nurse (with her rude self-maybe she was having a bad day), I would have stopped taking the medicince and my skin would not be half as gorgeous as it is today. No hard feeling though, I'll see you guys on my next appointment!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cook, Nanette MD

Posted on: 8/6/2008

HORRIBLE! WellStar Cobb OBGYN and Dr. Cook

I searched far and wide to find an African American OBGYN in my new neighborhood and was excited to find Dr. Cook. Unfortunately that excitement ran out very quickly. (1) The office is poorly managed. I had to wait over an hour to see Dr. Cook after having to wait over a month and a half to get an appointment (which had been rescheduled from the orginal date). (2) The office is overpacked and crowded. I wonder sometimes if they are offering free OBGYN services. Even the phone lines are consistently busy. (3)The front desk has issues as well. After waiting for over a month for an appointment, I was called the day before to say that I had to reschedule the appoinment because Dr. Cook was on vacation, yes vacation! Which I have to assume was not planned the day before. (4) The facilities are not clean! The waiting room was nasty, the bathroom was nasty (there were urine cups in the holder from the last 5 patients), and the step on the exam room table looked like something had "wasted" on it. (5) The nurses are overworked, RUDE, and unattentive. Especially Novella (Dr. Cook's nurse). (6) And one could say that this sounds like an issue with the facility and not Dr. Cook herself but be warn: just like the front desk and nurses, Dr. Cook is just as unattentive and apparantly overworked. I don't think she even read my chart. I had to remind her (agian!) what I had come there for. I will NEVER go to this doctor or this office again under any circumstance!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nail Talk And Tan

Posted on: 8/4/2008

See, the Trick Is...

Update: I'm lowering my previous rating. This location is now under new management and EVERY good nail tech has left. I'm looking for a new place to go now. I've been going to this location for a while now and I always get an excellent pedicure (wish I could say the same about my manicure). Here's the trick for getting the best service. 1. STAY AWAY FROM THE MEN... they never do a good job. 2. Ask for Crystal, she's the best and the busiest so if you can't get her, look at the names on the sign in sheet and pick someone that has been request a lot. That's a good sign that they're good. Do not go to any random person. 3. This salon is one of the few that will still use the razor on your pedicure. Don't allow them to use it. Instead, get the callus (sp?) remover it cost $5 more but it does the trick and is better for you're skin. Spa Mani and Pedi cost $35 (including the extra $5 for the callus remover).

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

South City Kitchen Vinings

Posted on: 8/4/2008

Great Upscale Southern Food

This is one of my favorite places for brunch and dinner. Try the shrimp and grits which are delicious!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nancy's Pizza

Posted on: 8/4/2008

Yes! Good Chicago-Style Pizza

Nancy's is great! This is true Chicago-style pizza. I love the thin crust pizza but the deep dishes are great too and hearty. The location could be bigger; there is minimal indoor sitting and no AC (which is crazy if you have a business in ATLANTA and you have OVENS!)but they do have a patio. Because of this, I would recommend delivery (which could take a while)... but if you must have the best Chicago-style pizza right out the oven, it might be worth the heat and the wait.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Hair Weaving Center

Posted on: 8/4/2008

Overpriced but, Maybe You Get What You Pay For

I think this place charges wayyyyy to much for weaves. I eventually convinced one of the stylist to do my hair "on the side". I will say however that they do do a good job and is probably the best place to go in Cobb. They also sell very high quality hair but if you want something more reasonable, you can buy hair at the beauty store in the shopping center behind the salon.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Thai Palate

Posted on: 8/4/2008

Hands Down The Best Take-Out Thai in Midtown

This is one of my favorite Thai places. The curry dishes are excellent as well as the shrimp egg rolls. You can dine in (the location looks modern and chic) and grab a hot donut from the Kripy Kreme (which is right next door) for dessert. Or better yet, try thier flamming bananna dessert. Delivery for Thai Palate is fast and with good quality. The only con would be the parking situation. You have to park in the Camden deck and walk out, up, and around the corner to get to Thai Palate. Oh and a tip for the Camden deck is that you do no have to valet. You can drive right by and park yourself. Valet is a scam.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dominiques Hair Studio

Posted on: 8/4/2008

Dominique Does a Good Job

I went to Dominique for a few months after she left Nseya. She does an awesome job and unlike some of her previous collegues at Nseya, she cares more about the care and condition of your hair. For example, she won't sell you a perm when all you really need is a good press. If you want the quality of Nseya at a lower price and and higher value, try Dominique (her shop is just down the street). If you like the "upscale" feel of Nseya then you wouldn't appreciate the small space that Dominique has. Her space in Salons of Atlanta is small and cramped although I believe she's planning to move to a larger location soon. My only compliant besides the small location would be on very busy days, like most African American salons, there will be a wait so plan ahead and call for an appointment.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »