rccola20
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 8/20/2008
Reviews 21
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Flying Saucer

Posted on: 8/26/2008

Most Beer & Specials on Tap in Charlotte

I've been a regular @ the saucer for a few years now; you're not going to find a better hangout for quality draft beer or nightly specials. The servers are friendly and very, very knowledgeable about their beer selection. Every night they offer some kind of sale from the list of over 200 tap or bottle beers (draft night, biggie beer night, North Carolina brewery night). Their food is great too! (Try the brats or soft pretzels). Come out on Friday or Saturday nights for live music from local bands. Always a good night with good beer!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Barley's Taproom and Pizzeria

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Beer Heaven

Stopped in with a friend and had a excellent meal with amazing beer selection. The service was a little slow for a weekday afternoon but the specialty beer made up for it. We also enjoyed one of their huge pizzas loaded with topping. They offered specials on certain bottle beer and some limited releases I haven't seen anywhere else (Ommegang, Flying Dog, various rare Belgium and German, etc). Will try and stop by again when in Greenville.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Tim Marburger Mazda

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Why Car Salers Have a Bad Reputation

I want to give a similar report about Tim Marburger Mazda. I have the same story about the sales staff. The exact car I wanted needed to be transported to Concord from Greensboro and figured I would give Marburger my business. We hammered out a final price and manager Keith finalized the deal for the car (which they knew was in Greensboro). I made a deposit and left satisfied with the price. Next day and Keith calls with 'bad news' that the Greensboro dealership won't send the car and never would at that price. I was disgusted in the fact they led me on and then wouldn't do anything to resolve the matter. They wanted to keep my deposit until the same model would be available (shipped from Japan in 4-6 months!). With my money back, I went straight to Greensboro that day and amazingly got my car at the price I originally offered Marburger! Learned my lesson: BUYER BEWARE.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pebble Creek Executive Golf Course

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Fun Par 3 - Day or Night

I always try to get out to Pebble Creek over the summer. They offer a 18-hole par 3 course with great rates and fun of lighted night play. It's your basic par 3 layout with sand traps throughout and water on the 9th and 10th hole. Fun to take the kids or to challenge your short game.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Five Guys

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Can't Find a Better Burger

I've been to a couple Five Guys locations in Charlotte, all have been excellent. Service is top notch and the burgers are the best in the area. They give you huge portions of fries and I've always left satisfied. Glad to see they expanding throughout the area. Overall: A+

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Lark Haven Golf Club

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Best Local Course Value

During the season, Larkhaven offers the best fees (cart included) for a challenging 18-hole course. Easy to get to from I-485 and always been a fun round with the varying course design (multiple water hazards and fairway layouts). With many new clubs opening around Charlotte, I always come back to Larkhaven to avoid high rates.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Azteca Mexican Restaurants

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Most Authentic in South Charlotte

I can remember when Azteca first opened years ago and even today you're not going to find more authentic Mexican food around Charlotte. They always had the best variety of real Mexican dishes. We've always have a little wait but it's well worth it. They have the freshest salsas and special hot sauces to compliment an excellent margarita. Try the chorizo burrito or shrimp cocktail - Excellent.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Value Village Thrift Stores

Posted on: 8/21/2008

A Real Value

I started going to Value Village on the advice of friend who loves bargain clothes shopping. They really do have a huge selection of men, women, and kid's pants and shirts at amazing prices (compared to most other thrift shops). Checkout the back of the store for vintage toys and hidden antiques. I've always came out with a deal (most glassware and misc items marked less than $1). The items in-stock usually turn over quickly so there is always something new to discover.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Total Wine & More

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Total Beer Too!

I love stopping by Total Wine for its impressive beer selection. They have the normal macro-brewery offerings at really competitive prices but their specialty stock keeps me coming back. They have new seasonals and small batches from many local and national micro-breweries as well as rare European imports. The staff also has a great knowledge of their products and quickly answer any questions about styles or food pairing. The store has had beer tasting throughout the year (including the regular wine tastings) so they have been very accommodating to beer lovers.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Ellas of Calabash

Posted on: 8/21/2008

Always Been the Best

Going to the beach always means seafood in Calabash and our family has always been Ellas regulars. It's worth the wait for the best service and seafood in town. They've been in Calabash the longest and we've never found a better substitute. Try their soft-shell crab sandwich, worth the trip!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 Next »