mwild1
TRUST RATING
Member since 8/24/2008
Reviews 9
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

Caramba Cafe

Posted on: 8/24/2008

great little family run place

I think the food here is quite good, and the service is even better. A very animated family runs the place and they will take care of you. If you are craving mexican comfort food full of saucy cheesy goodness this is a place to go!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Briarcliff Animal Clinic

Posted on: 8/24/2008

they want to charge you as much as possible

I started out liking the Briarcliff Animal Clinic very much. They have good hours of operation, but they are a vet farm. Everytime I went it was more expensive and lots of extraneous 'work' on my pets was being practically forced upon me. I became very disappointed with the assembly line service, never getting to know one doctor and the prices, holy-moly the prices! I recommend you consider other options.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Fox Bros Bar-B-Q

Posted on: 8/24/2008

some dang good eats

I was quite impressed with Fox Bros. BBQ. We tried the pulled pork, beef brisket, and smoked chicken. All were tasty though the brisket was a little dry. The sides here were REALLY good, especially the mac-n-cheese. Most BBQ places seem to make mac-n-cheese that is one step removed from kraft in a box...not Fox Bros. it was real, baked, and awesome!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Shaun's

Posted on: 8/24/2008

good, but didn't live up to expectations

I heard very good things about Shaun's but our visit was only OK, especially for the price we paid. Had a great flat bread appetizer and good signature mixed drinks, but the main course plates (one steak one fish) were just average. The space is great, I would try it again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Stella Neighborhood Trattoria

Posted on: 8/24/2008

So glad to Stella on our side of town

Stella is sort of a sister restaurant to Osteria in the Virginia Highlands, and the food quality and service are just as good as Osteria. Good thin crust pizzas, tasty salads and pastas, nice wine selection, and great views form the terrace. A very welcome addition to the restaurants on Memorial Drive.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Alfredo's

Posted on: 8/24/2008

this place is a trip

located on Cheshire Bridge among the cheesy strip clubs and adult novelty stores is the unassuming Alfredo's. It's like walking back in time when you step inside. You have to experience it for yourself. You go for the experience, but the food is decent too. Italian comfort food, nothing fancy, but definitely filling.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Daddy D'z

Posted on: 8/24/2008

fine but not great

I thought the sides at Daddy Dz were pretty good, the pulled pork however was not my favorite. The atmosphere is grimy, but don't let that stop you from stopping in. Everyone has their own take on BBQ, this place has it's highlights, so it's definitely worth trying.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Mattus Co

Posted on: 8/24/2008

good, but somewhat pricey

I have used these guys twice; once for repairing a sewer line, another time to fix our AC. They were efficient and properly fixed my problems. I do feel like they are a little pricey, but I am willing to pay for the quality of service. It's never a one man job with Mattus, that's where the elevated price comes into play, but like I said they know what they are doing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pat Murphy Electric Inc

Posted on: 8/24/2008

Great experience

I needed some advice and minor electrical work completed in our hallway. Pat Murphy Electric sent out a very honest and professional electrician. I would recommend these guys to anyone based on my one experience. I feel like I got a very fair deal from a quality company.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value