michaelj007
TRUST RATING
Member since 1/09/2009
Reviews 12
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Roasters

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Decent BBQ- by MichaelJ007

I've been to Roasters on Roswell Rd numerous times and have had many of the menu items. Hands down, the chicken tenders are the best. the BBQ chicken salad is disgusting and i cannot believe its even on the menu. Most of the wraps and sandwiches are decent. the platters are good too. the sides make the price a slightly below average value. the cornbread that comes with every meal is decent- def not from scratch though. it's decent BBQ for a franchise, similar to Shane's. but it's no Pig-n-Chick or Fat Matt's. get the sweet potato suffle and the cheese broccoli for sides.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rio Grande Cantina

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Good Patio.. that's it- MichaelJ007

You only go to Rio Grande for the patio. that's it. the menu is overpriced. Flautas and the fajitas for 2 are prob the best buy. Everything else is a rip off and the service is typically horrible. to give you an idea- a group of us ordered a round of "Patron" shots. I KNOW MY TEQUILA. immediately after i drank whatever they served me i asked for 2 more "patron" shots and insisted the bartender taste it then tell me it was patron. he tasted and claimed to not know how cheap tequila got in the patron bottle. He gave me quite a few beers to settle up. this place is a rip, you only go to chill on the patio.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Frontera Mexican Restaurant

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Good Mex-Mex food and value- MichaelJ007

I've been to Frontera many many times. Usually for lunch, and plenty times for dinner. Like most Mexican places the menu is too large and you don't know what to get. The burrito al Carbone, carne asada, torta cubano, fish tacos, fajitas, and flautas are all excellent- i always get a side of jalepenos too. The drinks are cheap and large,$5.99 for a HUGE Dos Equis Amber. parking is tight and the quality can be inconsistent at times. But it's as good as mexican gets for the price. btw- the roasted garlic salsa is alway amazing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bangkok Thyme

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Great Thai, Good Sushi, OK price- MichaelJ007

Thai is my favorite and Sushi is up there too, Bangkok Thyme manages to do both pretty well. It is slightly overpriced. However, you can still get a good value. A large sushi roll and entree or sushi for 2 is all you need for date night or what have you. I've dined at this restaurant probably 6 times. I have to say the Ginger Chicken is hands down the best Thai dish I've ever had anywhere, period. All of their stuff is pretty good. The sushi is very fresh also. If ur into Thai or spicy food, ask for it Real Thai Hot- it's fresh thai chilis instead of the typical crushed red pepper flakes. the Thai Tea is excellent as well.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Shane's Rib Shack

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Average BBQ- by MichaelJ007

Shane's is a decent chain BBQ joint. The guy who said they have the best ribs in town is clearly nuts, or a franchisee. I used to live down the street from Shane's and have dined there numerous times. the Shack Sampler is the best value. the Big Dad sandwich or tenders are good for lunch or a small meal. The prices are average. best sides are collared greens and mac n' cheese. My biggest complaint is the inconsisten quality. sometimes the collard greens are great, sometimes they're all mooshy. Sometimes the baby back ribs are good and fall off the bone, some times they're small, dry and stringy. etc. U can usually get 2 meals out of the larger shack sampler, aside from that i'd stick to the pulled pork and tenders. they do NOT have the best ribs in town. just average BBQ.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Top Spice

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Great Thai food, great service, great value

Thai Food is my favorite. Top Spice consistently serves probably the best Thai in Atlanta. I only go for lunch. but for $8-$10 you get soup and a decent lunch entree. I highly reccommend Beef Rendang, Char Kway Tyow, Spicy Catfish, and Spicy Basil Leaf- these dishes never dissapoint. If you are a Thai expert like me get thai hot and brown rice.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pig-N-Chik BBQ

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Pig N Chik is excellent BBQ- MichaelJ007

Pig N Chick is great BBQ. the pulled pork is probably the best in ATL, the ribs are pretty dang good too. The menu is priced well, so it's a good value. The staff is always friendly and the owner is even there working. what else can I say? this place is great.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pearson's Wine Atlanta Inc

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Great Wine and Liquor- MichaelJ007

Pearsons has an excellent selection of Wines and Liquor. the staff has tremendous knowledge of their inventory. There are usually plenty of items on sale to choose from as well. The beer is the same price or a little more as every other place. I BELIEVE the Sam Adams 12-pack is slightly cheaper here than in most places.. keep it on the DL though. If you wan't quality tequila, wine, or champagne- this is where you need to go people. I'd never steer you wrong.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

MichaelJ007 will never steer you wrong

First of all- I wouldn't trust even 1/2 of these reviews. Listen to me people, MichalJ007 will never steer you wrong. OK- I've been to Chef Rob's twice. the first time I had Jerk Chicken and Coconut Shrimp. both were pretty good, a little pricey and the restaurant wasn't busy so service was decent. 2nd time was for lunch. It was busy and service was horrible. Instead of sticking to the Jerk Chicken I ordered the Ginger Tuna. BIG MISTAKE. It was without a doubt the worst piece of tuna i've ever had. I felt embarassed for Chef Rob myself. I could not even finish it. I wanted to send it back, but i had to get back to work and didn't feel like spending another 30 minutes waiting for my food. If you decide to go here, stick to the jerk. You've been warned.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Tin Lizzy's

Posted on: 8/3/2009

Gotta Love Tin Lizzy's- MichaelJ007

I've been here many many times. Parking is much better now that they arranged the use of the blockbuster lot and other surrounding lots. It's still tough to get in and get a table, especially if the weather is nice. you can't go wrong with the tacos- fish tacos and spicy cilantro steak are my favs- and the nachos and queso are great as well. nothing beats watching the Noles and having some beer on the patio at Tin Lizzy's.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »