HomeInDecatur
TRUST RATING
Member since 1/12/2009
Reviews 63
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 5

Costley, Chad Donald MD

Posted on: 8/10/2011

Great local doctor

I had my first appointment with Dr. Costley a few days ago. He's client focused, not money focused His office is sparklingly clean. Most important: unlike Dekalb Medical Center - I can park for free! Overall a great new find.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Empire Heating & Air Conditioning

Posted on: 6/17/2011

Good, not great experience

I used Empire to fix a recent AC breakdown. Here's my experience: -- Telephone service and scheduling was good. -- The technician was a bit talkative, but he seemed to be an expert at his job. He solved the problem quickly. He did set a very dirty bag down on a very clean and expensive dining room chair. (The dirt came up) -- The value was average. I thought the charges were a bit high, but then again it is expert service and fixing an AC in Atlanta during the summertime. So I suppose I cannot expect great value. -- The company seems to prefer service calls from people on maintenance plan, so I joined the maintenance plan. -- Overall, a decent company with good people. I would use them again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sunshine Window Cleaning Inc

Posted on: 6/17/2011

Great value, good service

The basics: I used them for gutter service. They were inexpensive. Their customer service was good. They came on time, did the job well, and left without fuss. So, I would definitely use them again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cakes & Ale

Posted on: 6/17/2011

Best dining in Decatur

Cakes and Ale - what can one say? It's by far the best dining establishment in Decatur. I've been a few times and it has always been outstanding. The menu is creative, local and fresh. My one complaint would be the desserts - they could use improvement.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Iberian Pig

Posted on: 8/23/2010

Great food; odd, annoying staff...

Like most of the reviewers here, I have nothing but praise for the food and drink at this place. The food was simply fantastic. I particularly enjoyed the sangria and the pork cheek tacos. Excellent. The big drawback is the unfriendly attitude this place puts off: -- Annoying, childish rules written on the wall near the bar. Cliche alert! -- The waiter spent more time complimenting the restaurant and extolling the food's provenance than he did serving us. It was annoying! For example, he bragged about the acorn content of the pig's diet, etc. If the food is special, it will shine through -- I don't need to be reminded every time the waiter opens his mouth. The waiter also spent a good deal of time praising the chef and his approach to food. There were three of us dining and we laughed so hard at how odd our waiter was and how he was presumably trained with these boastful talking points.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Stone Soup Kitchen

Posted on: 8/23/2010

Good breakfast place

What can I say, this place serves good coffee and breakfast. I had the "usual" and it was very good. The cappuccino was excellent. My wife had the blueberry hotcakes and loved them. The place is in a not-so-great location, but definitely go there if you happen to be in the neighborhood. I would not drive far just to make a trip for this breakfast. We combined our trip with a walk through Oakland cemetery. The service was decent -- nothing extraordinary to report...

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Goin' Coastal

Posted on: 7/16/2010

Okay place, except for the seafood...

This is a brand new Va-Hi place. First the annoyance: The waitress clicks an ink stamp on the table and writes her name. I thought that was terribly cliched. Goin Coastal bills itself as a seafood specialty place, but my dish (scallops) was sub-par: eight waterlogged scallops without much flavor and just sitting in a pool of watery-butter. My partner's dish was crab cakes with lobster in them. Once again: sub-par -- they fell apart, were burnt on the outside and did not have any lump meat in them. They did not really taste of crab. Our appetizers (mine: raw oysters, hers: gazpacho) were better. On the plus side: the service was excellent and the veggies were good. But at a seafood place the seafood should shine, not the veggies. This place has some definite potential, but they need to increase the quality of the main courses if they are going to maintain their menu prices (which are high). Otherwise it will remain poor value for money.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Farm Burger

Posted on: 5/8/2010

Burger fans will love, others will say meh...

This newly-opened burger bar is pretty good. Here are the basics: Location: Decatur - west Ponce. Parking is tight, depending on when you visit. Service: Not much. You wait in line, order at the counter, then sit with your number and the meal eventually comes your way. The restaurant has a low comfort level - it's quite basic. Food: The burgers are great! I loved mine. I've been about 4 times already and always had a good burger. The fries are good too. Value: It depends. For a burger meal, expect to pay about $8-$12 per person, depending on the sides, drinks and additions to your burger (some of which bring a surcharge). I personally think it is below average value because there is no table service and the atmosphere is loud and cramped. At those prices, you can go right next door to the Marlay House pub and get a burger that is nearly as good, albeit with less choice of toppings. Ambiance: If you go to Taqueria del Sol, you will be familiar with the vibe - crowded, loud (concrete floors), loads of strollers, etc. It feels about like a mall food court, with a funky edge. Overall: If you are serious about burgers and willing to pay a premium just for quality and choice of toppings, this place is for you. If you are an average burger fan like me, and value other things such as service, cost and ambiance, you might prefer to go to somewhere else.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nan Thai Fine Dining

Posted on: 5/6/2010

Outstanding Thai

Great service. This is the best feature of Nan. Great food. The portions are small, but the flavoring and presentation are flawless. The dumplings are exquisite. Good location near Atlantic Station, although not very walkable from midtown hot-spots. (valet parking) The restaurant itself is elegant and airy. Overall, I strongly recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Community Q BBQ

Posted on: 5/6/2010

Good neighborhood BBQ

I must admit - I'm a big Fox Brothers fan, so Community Q would need to meet my expectations. Generally speaking, it only partially meets them. Parking at this facility (shared with other restaurants) is predatory at times. It's an annoyance. Service is order-at-the-counter, self-serve drinks, then wait for someone to bring the food around. If you like table service, this will disappoint. I've been five times and had the pulled pork plate (2 sides) each time. The quality has been variable, never bad but often dry and not as moist as it should be. The sides have always been excellent... actually as good as Fox Brothers. This place serves its BBQ on Texas Toast not buns, which I like. This place does not serve smoked chicken wings like Fox Bros does, but overall the selection is good. Overall: a good place for a BBQ outing.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next »