hdtvguy
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/08/2009
Reviews 33
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 6

Two Men And A Truck

Posted on: 5/27/2015

OK job, but super slow since paying by the hour.

Had used a different Two Men and a Truck years ago and was thrilled so when it was time to move papa out to his own apartment we looked up nearest office. Found this one with decent reviews. They gave an estimated to move what was basically barley a bedroom and some additional pieces.to be up front they were within their estimated time window and price, but they were on the long side of it, basically when you pay by the hour there is no motivation for anyone to move quickly. They dragged their butts often carrying less than 86 year old Papa could have carried on his own. There were 9 pieces of furniture to move, no boxes, everything was empty and ready for them. Any slower and they I could have walked it all to the new apartment. This was such a different experience than the first time we used a different office years ago. First piece of,advice, always be the first move of the day, my guess is these guys were late and tired because they had a move before us. They did not do a horrible job, but did far from a great job as well.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

RENU Atlanta

Posted on: 4/23/2015

Great service at a great price

We just did a major remodel and needed frameless shower doors and called several companies. They were all very well reviewed and while I suspect they woudl have been good, we selected Renu because of Rib's customer service. Here is a guy that knows what customer service is. First he comes to you, too many other shops are only open Monday to Friday during business hours. Rob also takes the time to hear what you are looking to do and then provides you options and the pros and cons of each. He is very responsive seems like no matter when you email him. He follows up and his pricing is competitive. He will never be the cheapest, but he is far from the most expensive as well. Great process and easy to deal with. Product was installed as promised and is fantastic looking! This place excels in customer service and I would have no problem recommending him.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Great service and very good windows

Was shopping for windows for a long time. Narrowed it down to 3 companies that carry higher end windows. The other 2 companies, one was much more expensive for what I did not feel was that much better window, the other was actually less expensive for a better window, but had minimum of 6 windows you had to purchase and the lead time was insane. John at North Georgia was very helpful and worked up a few options at my request. We went with the Vytex windows which are considered to be the lower of the top end windows, well I would not know it as the windows are great.Also the quality of the window is only as good as how it is installed and North Georgia's installer did an amazing job. I talked to him about a fee things and even asked a question about a possible door install. His approach and quality workmanship convinced me to order a new front entry door.These guys have been around for a long time and offer quality products and installs and have great customer service. They will be replacing the rest of my windows soon enough.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Top South

Posted on: 4/8/2015

Good price, marginal quality and installaion

First the sales staff (Melissa) was great and extremely helpful. All the problems start with installation. The works was broken up over a few installs due to the timing of our renovation. The first install of the main kitchen went well. The master bathroom quarts was like a comedy show, 3 guys to install one small counter top and they could not even cut the back splash straight which we did not see until they were done and everything was glued in place. Then they brought the island when we told them not to and when they finally installed the island there were several spots where you can see major flaws in the finishing work. I wait 9 days and numerous emails before they can even set a date to come look at the finishing issues then say they may have to take the island back not that it has been glued to the island. I heard mixed stories about Top South and purchased from them because the sales person was great and they had the only slabs we liked in a particular granite, but the installation and service is a crap shoot at best. Would try my best to buy some where else in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

JOAT- Jill of all Trades GA

Posted on: 3/10/2015

How can the other reviews be so wrong.....

Let me say I am baffled as to how all the other reviews can be so wrong about this company, she is FAR BETTER than any of the reviews are giving her credit for! Kristen and her workers Leo and Marvin are excellent to work with. Her subs are also extremely good, especially her tile people as they are true craftsman. We researched and interviewed several contractors before selecting Jill of All Trades. The great thing about Kristen is she loves her job and wants to make sure you are totally satisfied, and with me that is no small task. She is anal and OCD and more picky than you will likely be assuring you will wind up with a deliverable that you will be happy with. What impressed me the most was her willingness to collaborate on some tough decisions and being open to suggestions. Some of her prices may seem a tad higher than her competition, but that is because she goes above and beyond to make sure she delivers top quality. She does not nickel and dime you and actually did far more than she should have in some areas to make sure we would be satisfied with everything. We total gut and remodel of kitchen, and 2 a1/2 bathrooms as well as stair railing and painting. At least 2/3 of our home was renovated and you could not ask for a better finished product without paying a high end custom home builder to build things to your exact specifications. I have no regrets about using her and will use her for future projects and recommend you look no further and call her for your project!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Not bad until there is an issue

Been a customer for a few years and they are very responsive to alarms, but when you have and issue, good luck, you get the run around because AMSA is owned by My Alarm Center. They evidently do not communicate well with each other. My system was temporarily disconnected and they kept calling me telling me they are not receiving signal, I told them I know,and to,suspend my system for a while. They kept nagging me so I switched to another provider, but what hassle to cancel.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bear Mountain Custom Painting

Posted on: 1/13/2015

Not a bad job, but rushed

I have used Bear Mountain before and was very happy. They did drywall in my basement several years ago and did a wonderful job. This time I needed my stipple ceiling removed and painted. Overall the job was done decent, but was very rushed. The contract spelled out a process and materials very specifically yet they did not follow the process nor use the specified materials. The rushed job is visible in very bright light where you can see wavy parts of the ceiling where they clearly rushed. They rushed the cleanup and were gone before the walk through. In their defense they are very willing to repaint with proper materials as it seemed it was a communication issue. Overall they did a good job of cleaning up and the job was adequate, although there are a few carpet stains I need to try and remove. The supervisor seems to not be as engaged as he should be. When returning for touch ups and repairs it was more excuses as to lower my expectations and a trail of dust behind them. The owners have been very apologetic and are willing to resolve any issues and make me happy. The problem is it pretty much too late to fix so I am stuck with wavy ceilings in some parts. Lesson learned.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Big Frog Electric

Posted on: 12/19/2014

Great service and amazing pricing

I shopped around some electrical work I am having done and called several highly rated names from Kudzu and Angie's list. The variation in pricing was almost double. I was skeptical of Big Frog at first because they seemed to inexpensive which made me wonder where they cut corners. Remember you get what you pay for. Well, I did a new panel with them and they listened to what I want and even though it was not their recommended panel they did it because it fit my needs. They showed up on time, did a fantastic job and cleaned up after they were done. These guys were personable and were like your friends. I got more than what I paid for and how they do it is by not having fancy trucks with big logos on them and running a lean tight operation. They followed up and were awesome. I would use them again in a second and would highly recommend them!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Davis Window & Door

Posted on: 12/1/2014

Constant delays in my order and I gave up

I wanted to replace my windows 4 years ago and Davis impressed me then , I just had things come up that prevented me from doing it then. I was now ready to do my windows and called them back. They still had my file and came back out to re-quote the job. I had to break the job up due to it being part of a bigger job. I gave them the green light back in October and wanted to add another window. They told me they had to come back out. Almost 10 days later they said oops, sorry you just have to sign and send in the deposit. I gave them a credit card deposit a month ago and asked that they expedite my order and they said they would try. Well now a month later I get a call asking about the window grids which made me question the ETA. Well they had not been ordered yet! What 4 weeks later and nothing ordered, how is that an expedite! I know I am in the minority with reviewing Davis, but there have been several communication mistakes on this order already, now I need to cancel and find someone else. And worse they are the only Sunrise dealer in town, so now I need to find a new dealer and window! I am glad I things in email and credit cards, very good audit trail. I want to think I am just the unfortunate customer that got lost in the shuffle with them, but then just lost 14 windows and a entrance door.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Light'em Up Electric, LLC

Posted on: 11/21/2014

Never responded in a week.

Tried to get them to bid on some major electrical work, but they never responded. Tried emailing them and filling out their "contact us" form on web site, no response.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value