Severian37
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/19/2009
Reviews 10
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Eubanks, Alfred Benjamin MD

Posted on: 10/27/2011

Caring manner, but inadequate attention to details

My first appt with Dr. Eubanks went well enough, though he plainly said he had no experience with the treatment I was looking for, but would refer me on the second appt. I should have written that down. He did write it down, or he was doodling while we were talking. The second appointment might have lasted 10 minutes, with him putting the tip of his pen to his mouth looking pensive, and myself wondering why did I come back. Both prescriptions he'd prescribed for me were newer drugs, expensive, and had pretty bad side effects. I tried for a week and half, but couldn't take the effects any more, and I called and left a message to cancel my next appointment.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Sibilsky, Dana Lynn MD

Posted on: 1/24/2011

Lacking Professionalism, Attentiveness, and Care

I went to Dr. Sibilsky from a friend's recommendation, and apparently she had received the better end of her service. When I saw her for my first (and only) appointment as a new patient, she'd forgotten my appointment, half-listened to me, kept checking her watch, and rushed me out the door in 30 minutes - perhaps she had a hot date, I don't know, but I'll never go back.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Penang Malaysian Cuisine

Posted on: 5/2/2010

Tasty Penang Malaysian Food in Chamblee

We usually go to this plaza for a nearby vegetarian place, but decided to try Penang on an impulse, and I'm glad we did. The atmosphere and lighting were very nice, especially on a hot Spring afternoon. For our appetizer, we ordered the Penang Satay, which is marinated chicken on skewers with a wonderful peanut sauce. We've been to quite a few Atlanta Thai restaurants, and I think this Satay beat them all quite handily. J. ordered a rice dish, Nasi Lemak, which is coconut rice flavored with cloves & screwpine leaves, served with chili anchovy curry, chicken rendang, and fried egg, as well as pickled vegetables. He commented that the anchovy curry was very strong on the anchovies, and I could only take his word for it, since anything with anchovy on the menu is outside of my realm of edible cuisine, but the other items were quite tasty. I went with one of the House Specials, Ayam Rendang, chicken cooked over low heat in a lemon grass and chili paste, and then simmered in thick rich coconut curry. This is a comfort food wonder, taking me back to the days of my grandmother's wondrous pot roasts on Sunday afternoons, and I was very happy with the dish as my clean plate testified to the waitress. We closed with a coconut ice cream, creamy and rich, with real shaved coconut, and it cleansed out palates quite nicely. I suspect we will definitely be back for more.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nicola's

Posted on: 5/2/2010

Lebanese Food, the way Mom would do it

The first time we came here was for my birthday six years ago, and I've had every birthday here since. You cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. My favorite of the meza is Baba Ganoush, though John prefers the Hummus. If you enjoy meat, get the Mediterranean delight for the best kibbi in town. If you enjoy vegetarian, get Ana's delight with hummus, baba, artichokes and falafel. Nicola, the owner, makes you feel at home, and when you're done eating, he will prod you out of your chair to dance. The staff has not changed in all the six years I've been going there, and that should tell you something about the great management.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

My Local Favorite German Home Away From Home

Though I am an Atlanta native, I did live in Karlsruhe, Germany for three years while serving in the military, and I grew to love German cuisine. The two most well-known German establishments in the Atlanta metro area are Kurts in Duluth and The Village Corner in Stone Mountain. They are both excellent establishments, serving authentic German fare for reasonable prices. The Village Corner, run by Claus and Hilde Friese, has been in business since the early 70s, and it has become a Stone Mountain landmark for those of us who reside in the area. Visitors come and go, stopping in to rest on the patio with tall beers and brochen and leave with boxes and bags full of the baked wonders from the bakery. Of their dishes, my personal favorites are the Rouladen, often called Rindsrouladen in Germany, basically beef rolls - bacon, onions, mustard, and pickles wrapped in thinly-sliced beef with a wonderous red wine gravy served with red cabbage and Spaetzle; the Jaeger Schnitzel, scalloped and lightly-breaded pork with red wine sauce; and the Sauerbraten. The bakery is incredible. Hilde has a Granny Apple Cheesecake baked on a pound cake base that is to die for. I am a fairly proficient baker, and this is the only cake I ever buy. I am so thankful to live

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cafe Alsace

Posted on: 5/2/2010

A Little Bit of Alsace in Decatur

If you have ever had the benefit of traveling the region between Germany and France and you now pine for the incredible food of the region, then reserve a relaxed evening to visit Cafe Alsace. It's a regular haunt for Francophiles and Anglophiles alike. Everything here is fresh, the bread is baked daily, the herbs are freshly prepared, and the atmosphere is convivial and enchanting. To go over the finer points, you must note that this is a very real Alsatian restaurant, where dinner is not to be rushed through on the way to a movie. This is a place to bring great acquaintances, friends, or relatives, where the entertainment is the food, the atmosphere, and the conversation. We were fortunate to find this gem of an establishment, as well as meeting Benedicte, one of the founders of the restaurant. Decatur and Atlanta are the better for entrepreneurs such as her.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Istanbul Cafe

Posted on: 5/2/2010

A Great Little Turkish Place in Decatur

I really enjoy home-style ethnic food and having a good time in a relaxed atmosphere, and that's why I love Cafe Istanbul. It's true to the spirit and cuisine of Turkey, and if I squint my eyes enough, I feel like I've gone back. For starters, make sure you get a dish of Borek, a kind of Turkish spanakopita (spinach, feta, wrapped in phyllo dough. These melt in your mouth like butter. For entrees, we usually get the Choban Kavurma, chopped lamb on a skillet with onions, green peppers, and tomatoes. The Chicken Choban is another excellent choice, marinated chicken in place of the lamb above. Another favorite is the Iskender, bread with gyro meat, tomatoes, and cheese on a skillet -- not too far from pizza, if you want to order something the kids will like. The entrees are served with zatar bread, basically pita bread spiced with thyme, oregano, marjoram, and sesame seeds. You can always find this at the Mediterranean Bakery off Chamblee Tucker, or make your own with fresh bread and spices from Leon's International Foods (a Lebanese-owned grocery) off Pleasantdale next to I-85. The service is relaxed and not hurried, because these guys are actually from Turkey and not your typical pretentious Decatur haute cousine staff dressed in black.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Varsity

Posted on: 5/2/2010

An Overrated Landmark

The Varsity is an Atlanta landmark, known far and wide for their sideshow food-fare, but if you're expecting a quality hot dog and fries, you'd be better off making them at home. This place is pricey, especially for the lackluster quality they put out, and it's just plain bad chili. My father called them, heart-attack-in-a-bag, and in fact it was the last thing he had for lunch the day he had a heart attack that put him in a coma for three days and destroyed his short term memory completely. It's not the Varsity's fault, certainly, but it's the kind of food that doesn't lend itself to healthy living. All this being said, if you enjoy fast-food, you will love the Varsity. That's all it is.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Tires Plus Total Car Care

Posted on: 3/18/2010

Well-run Shop

When I called around noon to see if they could take my car, Nelson answered and was very helpful. My car was at the dealer getting work done, so I didn't know when I could get to the tire place. I arrived at 4:30pm, and even though they were busy, Terry said they'd get it done before 7pm. They replaced two tires that had ruptured from a very bad pothole on North Decatur Road. Everyone I encountered was very professional and courteous.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Music Trader

Posted on: 4/13/2009

I'll be a repeat customer

Today I visited Music Trader and met the owner, Paul. He's been in operation for about 20 years and obviously enjoys what he does. He restrung my guitar in no time at all for a song, $10. I don't know what happened to the guy from Marietta, but it didn't reflect my experience at all. I live in Tucker and I always prefer to support local businesses over chain stores. That's what keeps our town from looking as homogeneous as Dunwoody, Alpharetta, or Suwanee. I'll be making Music Trader my regular stop for my music needs.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value