BinkyLover
Power Reviewer Power Reviewer
TRUST RATING
Member since 5/15/2009
Reviews 25
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Buford Highway Farmer's Market

Posted on: 5/24/2010

Amazing Selection

I only recently heard of this place and have been a couple of times. They have a huge selection of hard-to-find ethnic foods (categorized by region), an unparalleled seafood section (I counted no fewer than 16 different types of fresh shrimp) and a ridiculously large fruit/vegetable section with items that are sure to confound even the foodiest of foodies. They even have a corn tortilla machine that pumps out hard-to-find fresh corn tortillas that can be purchased *hot*! The selection is pretty mind-blowingly extensive and it isn't expensive. This place is a must-visit when you're in the mood for something different.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Taki Japanese Steak House

Posted on: 4/7/2010

Good but on the pricey side

My wife and I have eaten here a few times since they have opened. We've tried hibachi, sushi and their table menu. The sushi is on the good, but not great, side. It is, however, very expensive. Rolls were mostly in the $14-$20 range. Hibachi is pretty much like other hibachi, only a little bit more money. My favorite was the chicken tempura, which seemed more moderately priced, light and fluffy. The restaurant itself looks fantastic on the inside with a modern, Japanese decor. Despite the price, we'll probably be back with coupons. But overall, I don't think it's first on my list for Japanese.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Uncle Julios

Posted on: 4/7/2010

Rip Off

If you like average Tex-Mex at double the price, then this place is for you. I've eaten here twice (the second time was against my will). The service is slow, although it's a newer place, so they might work that out. However, the prices for what I can only describe as run-of-the-mill tex mex are outrageous. I'm talking literally twice what you would pay for something comparable elsewhere. Unfortunately, the price does not create an illusion of quality.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Regal Perimeter Pointe Stdm 10

Posted on: 4/7/2010

Your Average Theater

As far as movie theaters go, it's average. It's relatively small and lacks stadium seating like the Regal 24 off of I-85. As of this review, they don't have any 3D support, either. But, if you're in the area, it's clean and not usually over-crowded (except perhaps on Friday/Saturday nights).

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

JR Flooring, Inc.

Posted on: 3/28/2010

Great floors, great price and great service

We just had engineered hardwood and tile installed by JR Flooring and couldn't be happier. The process from start to finish was smooth and quick, the final product looks great and the price was very competitive and did not change. Ricardo was very helpful and answered the questions I asked promptly. He was quick to return emails and phone calls and seemed genuinely interested in our satisfaction. Once we decided to proceed, Ricardo scheduled our installation within a week and it was completed within the estimated time frame. The crew was courteous and hard-working and seemed to pay attention to detail. Upon final inspection, we noticed one board that had a manufacturing defect and, without hesitation, they replaced it. They cleaned up, reinstalled appliances and moved the furniture back to its original place. In the end, both the tile and wood came out looking great. I highly recommend the Kensington line of flooring. It was a little more costly than some other options, but was well worth it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Mirage Persian Cuisine

Posted on: 2/17/2010

Consistently Great

I've been going to Mirage for years. Their food is consistently good (well, except for the ground chicken kabob...yuck) and of superior quality. I love the chicken kabobs and the pomegranate koresht is very unique and delicious. The wife loves the lamb kabobs. Be sure to try the appetizer sampler!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nordstrom Department Store

Posted on: 2/17/2010

Top-Notch Service!

I had bought my wife a Fendi watch on sale from their website and, after she wore it for several months, a small piece (the inside of the "D") on the side fallen out. She called the Perimeter location and asked if they could do anything. The young lady on the phone offered the choice of a complete refund or she could personally send it back to Fendi and handle the warranty repair. My wife loved the watch, so we opted for the second choice. Nordstrom handled the watch at no charge and called back after about a month to let us know it was returned fixed. Absolutely great service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Whole Foods Markets

Posted on: 2/17/2010

Perfect grocery store for lottery winners

Whole Foods, in my humble opinion, has the highest quality selection of groceries out there. But it comes at a steep price. Their vegetables and seafood are fresh and delicious. And they have an extensive selection of cheeses, meats and ready-made/deli products. When I'm feeling spendthrift enough to go, I always play a pricing game. I look at what I'm buying and guess how much something comparable would cost at a normal grocery store. Then I see how close to twice my guess the actual total winds up being. It's that expensive.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Walmart

Posted on: 2/17/2010

Garbage wrapped in feces dipped in urine

This is the worst Walmart I have ever been to, which really says a lot. I'm not the type to hate Walmart just for being Walmart, but this store is just bad. It was OK before they expanded it into a Super Walmart, but now it's just a disgusting, mismanaged mess. One time I went in there and there was a package of fried chicken from the deli sitting on a shelf in the bread isle with one of the legs eaten. Disgusting, yes. But then I went back a week later and that very same package of chicken (I could tell based on the bite marks) was MOVED to a pallet 20 feet away! I can only imagine that an employee did this because what customer would show any interest in it? Other "interesting" tidbits include drops of blood in a checkout lane and a homeless lady (with her cart of goodies) sleeping on a bench in the store. I almost stopped going here entirely and instead opt for the far superior neighboring Super Target, but every now and again I find myself in there only to encounter absolutely indifferent employees and enough health code violations to shut down a bar in Tijuana.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Progressive Lighting

Posted on: 2/17/2010

Scammy Pricing

This place operates on a pretend permanent 50% discount. Every lighting fixture is "listed" at a very laughably high price. Then they put an "X" through it and expect us to believe that the "half" price is really a good deal. Only the "half" price is a good twice as much as Home Depot or Lowes (who aren't exactly lighting discounters). They do have a good selection of rather attractive lighting fixtures, but they are mostly the facade-type that are made of very thin and flimsy metals. So you're not really getting what you pay for. When we were remodelling, we went in here to check it out and didn't stay long. Some people were treated to good service, but we had to hunt for help and it took a while to get anybody's attention.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 3 Next »