girliejean
TRUST RATING
Member since 7/13/2009
Reviews 10
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Las Trojes Mexican Restaurant

Posted on: 7/14/2009

Needs recipe change

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants, but that was before I went and ordered a chicken burrito with rice and beans and everything in it (including the rice!) had a fishy taste. I don't know if they had cooked it in fish oil or what, but rice shouldn't taste like fish EVER, and ditto for beans and chicken. If I had wanted fish I'd have ordered fish.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

La Fuente Mexican Restaurant

Posted on: 7/14/2009

Nice little place

I really like the decor in this restaurant. All the staff are very nice. The Mexican coffee is excellent, as is the salsa. With that said, I thought my food was very ordinary, but my teenage daughter loved it and branded it her favorite Mexican food. My husband thought it was good, not great. So I guess I am the picky one. Or maybe their chicken burritos aren't as good as their enchiladas? I don't know, but the chicken burrito I had was very bland and just "okay". Not disgusting but not quite good enough.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Opa Subs & Espresso

Posted on: 7/14/2009

Best pizza I ever ate

I like this place. I like their sandwiches and their Greek food - but when I decided to wait the extra time it takes to get pizza, I found heaven. The Opa Omega is truly the best pizza I ever ate in my life...it does take a long time to make, so if you're in a hurry you should call ahead and then allow 15 more minutes than they said it would take. But even though it's a little pricey, it is truly worth both the price and the wait. The staff there is very nice, although I miss the previous owner, who moved and sold the business - he was such a character! - but the quality is the same with the new owner.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Shang Hai Restaurant

Posted on: 7/14/2009

One of the best!

This is a beautiful, elegant-looking place hiding in a tiny shopping center! They have extremely good food in large portions, very good prices, and the staff is all so very nice. We were really surprised when we went in, it isn't like those fast-food kind of Chinese places usually found in little places like that. Definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Stylemasters Hair Salon

Posted on: 7/13/2009

You will love your hair

I have gone to this salon for so many years. I introduced my mother to it when I was just a teenager and she always goes there now as well. Ask for Dohn Matteoni, (pronounced Don) he is an excellent stylist. They're comparable in price to most other non-discount salons and the quality is very good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pizza Hut

Posted on: 7/13/2009

Decent pizza for the price

It isn't my favorite but it is pretty good; they have good specials and the staff is friendly. The buffet is about like any other. Personal pan pizza could be a little bigger but they taste good.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Los Compadres

Posted on: 7/13/2009

BEST Mexican restaurant in town

I try all the Mexican restaurants I can find. This is the one I go back to every week. The people are very nice, you get very large portions of whatever you order for a really reasonable price, and the quality is always excellent. Definitely recommend it. We also love their daily lunch specials (but my special favorites are the Tuesday and Thursday specials.)

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Absolute Dental

Posted on: 7/13/2009

Not going back

I thought I had made an appt for their Sparks office, but when I showed up there they said that I had to go to the Reno office because they are the ones who checked my insurance. So I drove all the way to that office (where someone told me that Sparks could have asked them to fax the information over and I could have been seen in Sparks, where I live.) So that was strike one. The staff was basically nice but the dentist wrote down that I had a wisdom tooth that needs extracted...I had all my wisdom teeth out at age 17. I do have a REAR tooth that needs pulled but I am not comfortable when a dentist can't tell a wisdom tooth from a regular molar. I asked the staff if I could take or have my x-rays sent to Sparks because I wanted to go there because it is just a couple of blocks from my home, and they said I could go there but I would need to have a whole different exam because the dentist there could not go off what the Reno dentist recommended...WHAT? My insurance won't pay for that. I will never go back.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

TGI Friday's

Posted on: 7/13/2009

Get appetizers, not entrees

So, I went here because my son told me how wonderful the food is. I was quite disappointed in the portion size and all of us found our food to be somewhere between ordinary and just not good (depended on product). I asked my son what's wrong with him and he said he goes there for the appetizers and that they are excellent. The servers were nice, it was a bit crowded as far as how close the tables were, and I am willing to try their appetizers but NOT their entrees again. That was a waste of money.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Round Table Pizza

Posted on: 7/13/2009

Pretty good pizza

We had the King Arthur's pizza (sort of a combo) and a one-topping; we chose linguica because they're one of the few places in town that has it. The food was quite good and the staff friendly and it was served when they said it would be ready.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value