CourtneyQ
TRUST RATING
Member since 7/14/2009
Reviews 14
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

Terrific Service

I come here to get my car inspected for updating my car registration each year. It's close to the tag office, they only charge $19, and it's always quick (even without an appointment), and they are really nice too. They have a small table and chairs for little ones who tag along, along with children's books. And last time I was there, they gave my little boy a Michelin soccer ball to take home! Such kindness. Wow! I will go to them when I need car repairs and maintenance too.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rubicon Construction, Inc.

Posted on: 7/14/2014

Completely Unprofessional

After reading the glowing reviews here, we hired Rubicon to replace a tub and tile surround, but we had an awful, awful experience. I feel obligated to warn others--stay away from Rubicon. I do have one positive thing to say. Jason's crew who removed our cracked plastic tub did a great job. They did it quickly and neatly and were careful to protect our floor. Unfortunately, it all went rapidly downhill from there. His tub installers tore up our wall, badly gouged our door, and put holes into the tub flange to screw it into the studs, which the box clearly said would void the warranty (because water could easily go up and leak through the screw holes). There were other problems as well. When we tried to talk to Jason about possible solutions, he just stopped returning our calls and emails--we didn't hear back for more than a week. He never did help us think of workable solutions. We finally had to hire someone else, and I'm so glad we did. Every contractor we brought in for an estimate said that Rubicon's installation was "botched" and "unprofessional." We were inconvenienced for a long time due to Rubicon's unprofessional work and behavior, and now Jason is threatening us with lawyers because we don't think it's fair to ask us to pay for work improperly done (we did send a check for the tub removal, even though we had to pay to remove the tub Rubicon installed improperly). It's insult to injury. I am so sorry we ever called Rubicon.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Plants Creative Landscapes

Posted on: 11/5/2011

Professional and Affordable

We were so impressed with Plants LLC and we highly recommend them and will always call them for future landscaping needs. We hired them to pull out some ivy, which had some persistent poison ivy lurking too, despite my diligent spraying. They also took out undergrowth, small trees, and other junk growth fueled by neglect, and they cut down a larger tree for us too. They worked hard and carefully and cleaned up great--they even blew off our deck and yard, which was accumulating fall leaves, big tasks well beyond the scope of the job. We got several estimates, but Plants LLC gave us the best rate, and they were so professional in their knowledge and communication and execution. Fantastic work. Thanks!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Best Roofing Company Around

I was extremely impressed by Deluxe Roofing. They will do the job right, and you won't have to worry about improper installation or unskilled workers or cheap cutting corners like with lots of other companies. They were so nice and professional, answered all my questions clearly, didn't push a hard sale, helped me make the best decisions (even if they weren't more expensive). Communication was fantastic. I was so impressed with the notebook full of information they left me, which included examples of roofs they've installed, so we could drive by and see how certain types and colors of tiles looked on certain roofs (and how beautifully they were installed). Deluxe Roofing is a great deal, a great business, and they get my highest recommendation.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

D&S ELECTRIC

Posted on: 6/8/2011

Honest, Smart, Amazing Value

We hired D&S Electric to fix a number of problems--electrical and other--that an inspector found in our house, and Daryl came out and quickly solved all of the items on the list and even found another switch and light we didn't realize existed and fixed that too! It was a fantastic experience, and I can't recommend him highly enough. He fixed our old ceiling fan, so we didn't have to buy a new one. He replaced a bunch of really old, falling apart outlets. And much more, a wide variety of repairs. His communication was great throughout the process--we knew exactly what to expect and he worked with us to find the best solutions. He was extremely knowledgeable, and he could also explain things clearly for us to understand. And most important, we knew he was always honest with us, that we could trust him. I was blown away by his services, but I was even more amazed when I saw how low and reasonable the invoice was for all that work. Daryl is by far the best electrician and handyman I've worked with--through many homes in many different cities and states--and I give him my strongest recommendation.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Affordable Advantage Home Repair

Posted on: 4/5/2011

Excellent Service

Barry and Phillip came out the same day that I called and did some electrical work and some plumbing work. They kindly and clearly explained the problems and how they would fix it, and they offered a basic fix or an upgrade (with absolutely no pressure for the latter). I found them very amiable and professional, courteous and helpful. I am so glad that I found them and will call them again the next time I need help.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cool Masters, Inc.

Posted on: 12/7/2010

Absolutely the Best

Our HVAC was a mess. A previous contractor had screwed up our return air. Our warranty company had replaced the broken compressor but not the coil, so they weren't working right. The temperature varied up to 15 degrees from our basement to the top floor. The furnace was ancient. A mess. We got estimates and interviewed a number of companies, and most were really good companies, but Cool Masters stood out head and shoulders above them. We are so glad that we hired them. Jonathan and Brian and the rest of the crew did an amazing job finding a workable solution for our crazy floor plan. It involved three trips out, cutting out drywall and repatching, and Jonathan's really cool tool for detecting temperature, all before we paid them anything or agreed to hire them. The work went quickly and efficiently, and despite what must have been mind-numbing heat, the crew members were always friendly and careful to clean up (which was especially important to us because we had an infant). Now our house cools and heats evenly, and our electric and gas bills have decreased. I never thought it would be possible! We are so grateful to Cool Masters and give them our highest recommendation.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Highland Nails

Posted on: 12/7/2010

Great Pedicures

I went with a couple of friends for pedicures to celebrate a birthday. We got to sit next to each other and chat while we had great pedicures. Two of us had the standard spa pedi ($20 for massage chair and pedicure), and we treated the birthday girl to the deluxe ($30, which also had a seaweed wrap and some other fancy treatments that I can't recall). Very relaxing, and a great job. The place was spacious and clean and more relaxing than some mani/pedi assembly lines, and it didn't cost much more. Very clean. Friendly. Great time!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Jennifer Noble

Posted on: 7/25/2010

Fantastic

My husband and I went to Jennifer for hot stone massages to celebrate our anniversary. Though we had the same massage, she concentrated on our individual problem areas, and we both felt utterly fantastic afterwards. I had lower back pain and jaw tightness, both immensely relieved by her work. I will absolutely go back and highly recommend her.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

J and K 2 Bath and Kitchen

Posted on: 4/19/2010

Terrific Service

We had great help when we went out to the showroom to pick out cabinets for a new kitchen island. Victor showed us our choices--he gave us room to pick out what we liked but was always close when we had a question. He helped us pick out exactly the right sizes to suit our needs, answered endless questions, helped us plan around adding electrical outlets and braces for an extended granite countertop, and guided us to foresee additional issues we wouldn't have considered otherwise. We were really pleased and confident with our final decisions. After our contractor installed the cabinets, some of the shelf braces were misplaced, and I called J&K2 to see if they would mail me 16 more. The next day, Victor delivered them himself, as he was in the neighborhood measuring for cabinets. As I told him, "Now *that's* service!" We are happy with our cabinets, especially with the fact everything was in stock, so we didn't have to delay our kitchen remodel at all. I would certainly recommend J&K2. Thanks!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value