Hunterhikes
TRUST RATING
Member since 1/18/2010
Reviews 12
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Harbor House Cafe

Posted on: 6/29/2011

A Pleasant Surprise!

SERVICE: Our waitress reminded me of Flo from the old TV show Alice. She was very folksy, but charmingly so. FOOD: Let me unbuckle my belt and relax a bit while I tell you about the more than generous sized portions that could make a lumberjack groan. I couldn't believe how delicious the food and how large the quantities. HUGE THUMBS UP!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

The Yates Apartments

Posted on: 5/22/2010

Wonderful Studio Apartments

The owners are very responsive to any repair needs, rents are reasonable for the area and location is excellently placed between downtown and UW. It's a nice place to live if you prefer not to drive, yet have ample access to everything in the city.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Madison Park Hardware

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Great Neighborhood Hardware Store

Walk in and you're greeted with a sincere "hello" and you feel immediately welcome. If you look momentarily lost, someone will ask, "what can I do to help." I'm always glad to go to MPH to find anything from screws to little games from our toddler. The staff is warm and genuine, but they are also pillars of the community and have been very engaged in community events and supported the kids of the neighborhood for a long time. This is what a neighborhood hardware store should be about and I'm glad to see that they still exist.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pharmaca Integrative Pharmacy

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Love Pharmaca!

Tthe staff at Pharmaca are genuinely nice and their selections are great for the neighborhood. The pricing is a little overinflated in my opinion, but you are paying to have people keep a prevailing wage and to have the convenience of a store like Pharmaca in the neighborhood. Their overhead isn't inexpensive, I"m sure. I was disappointed when they stopped carrying the cucumber bottled water and replaced it with less interesting assortments. However, they more than make up for it in so many other ways, from their participation in the Halloween parade to the daily samples of chocolates they put out. Oh, and they do carry a great selection of interesting chocolate bars that you won't find at most stores. All this being said, it is pretty common that you have to wait and wait for someone to come to the register to allow you to pay for items. That drops the ranking from a 4.5 to a 3 as it happens almost every time I'm there: either the line is really long, or the wait to see someone at the register is long. Otherwise, it's a fantastic staff and atmosphere.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Twice Sold Tales

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Poorly Run

There seems to be little effort placed in the care of the shop, and I was not very impressed with the staff's knowledge of organization or friendliness. When we visited the store a vagrant kicked through the front window after being asked to leave after several complaints from a young woman who was being harassed. It seems like a dive book store that tries to purchase books cheaply and exploit the students who frequent the store simply to make rent.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cozymel's Coastal Mexican

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Decent Version of American Mexican Grill

While the food is standard and not what you would consider authentic, it's far better than the majority of Americanized Mexican grills. My wife and I enjoyed our food, thought the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was quite pleasant. Upon reading some of the more critical reviews, I simply can't agree that our experiences were anything nearly as displeasing. I think it's trendy to be summarily dismissive of Americanized mexican restaurants, but I was fairly pleased.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Twice Sold Tales

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Great Bookshop

Twice Sold Tales is always a great place to spend two hours in the afternoon when you are looking for great literature. Like any great second hand bookstore, the shelves are overflowing and aisles are incredibly narrow to cram as much into the store as possible. The staff is anything but pretentious, going out of their way to be friendly and help you find a book, even if it's not on their shelves and they need to call around to find things. The prices are great and it's one of my favorite book stores on the West Coast. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Einstein Bros Bagels

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Unimaginative and Bland

The bagels are prepared fresh daily, and are tasty. However, their selection of sandwiches a bit overpriced for their quality, which seems very mediocre and signs they they are very much the typical chain. They have a decent range of cream cheese flavors, but I'd highly recommend more diversity. The food would have ranked in a three star rating, but their staff seems unfriendly and indifferent. Unfortunately, each of the three or four times I've been there, I've waited incredibly long times to pay for my selection due to long conversations the cashier is having with other staff or customers and even longer for the food. For as routine as it seems for a chain, I'm surprised at the long waits. I think EBB could be far better under different head quarters management, which seems to have stagnated rather than look for ways to improve service and selection.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rubio's Fresh Mexican Grill

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Typical, but decent.

I wasn't expecting much when I walked into the place as it seems like your very basic fast food mexican place. However, the fish tacos are very nice. The place is exceptionally clean all the time and there are never long waits. I'm impressed with them overall, and appreciate that when you sign up for their email list, there's a coupon for a free taco. However, they are far overpriced for such small portions.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Daily Bagel

Posted on: 1/18/2010

Delicious Bagels and Great Staff

The Daily Bagel is a family owned bagel shop nestled in the heart of a little shopping center near our home, which I have come to admire greatly. The staff is exceptionally pleasant and understand developing great relationships with their clients for repeat business. They seem to know everyone that comes into the shop by face or name, which impresses me. The sandwiches are delicious and they take great pride in asking you for your opinion on their food and coffee. I highly recommend the breakfast bagel sandwiches, the tuna and chicken salad in particular. Yum!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »