BuckheadV
TRUST RATING
Member since 2/05/2010
Reviews 9
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 1

Dave & Buster's

Posted on: 3/12/2010

Grown Up's Chuck E Cheese

I liken D&B as a grown up version of Chuck E Cheese. You don't really go for the food more so for the atmosphere. Came in on a Thursday night for a little change of pace from the regular dining affair. I had been here before but it was much busier (Saturday). Weekdays... not so much. My date and I walked in and no one seemed to be working. We eventually wandered into a seating area where I learned it was open seating only after I asked a waiter. After seating, I realized that one server was serving our area of 7 tables, thus the slower service. This night my date and I ordered from the Eat and Play combo menu ($16 for an entree and a $10 play card). I ordered the Double cheese burger and my counterpart ordered the Philly Cheese-steak. I have to say the food is no frills just what you expect. You mainly go for the atmosphere. The food quality was pretty much average, maybe a little below your normal chains (Chili's, Taco Mac, etc). But the server (Rob) was polite and tentative to our requests. Drinks were refilled in a timely manner and we got the 'is everything ok?' as expected. After dinner we went to the arcade area, this is what separates D&B from other chains. They have a wide collection of arcade games (new and old) as well as ticket games (new and old, decent prizes too). Luckily our meals came with a play card which was more than enough for my date and I to kill about 1.5 hours here. Overall it was an avg exp, will prolli just come for the games and drinks next time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pho Number 1

Posted on: 2/23/2010

Decent Pho for the Price

So craving pho, I was introduced to this establishment by a friend who said prices were low, and food was decent (for the price). The restaurant itself is nothing fancy with the outside needing a little bit of updating. Walking in the restaurant is pretty clean with booth tables along the perimeter and larger seating tables in the center. The restaurant gives off a very family owned feeling to it, with cartoons playing behind the counter for the children and a giant projection television (from 1990's) playing either soccer or traditional vietnamese shows complete with family members watching it while they do their side work. I've only had the pho here so thats what the review will be about. The pho comes in your typical sizes (regular (5.50) and large (6.25)) and the selection varies from just particular cuts of meat (pho tai etc) to the special which is a hodge podge of everything. The broth isn't as rich or deep as it would be if you made it at home, but still pretty good. The noodles are cooked right and the meat (although not as much as I would've imagined for a large bowl of pho) was fresh. I even got a side of raw meat ($1) to see the quality of the meat and i'd have to say it was fresh enough. The sides it came with (limes, jalapenos, bean sprouts, thai basil, etc) were all fresh with few brown spots. Overall the experience was pleasant. Decent priced food, good portions, and the best service you can expect from someone who's first language probably wasn't english.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pho Dai Loi Restaurant Ii

Posted on: 2/23/2010

Good Food, Good Prices

So feeling adventurous and getting bored of going to pho #1 for pho, I journeyed over to pho dai loi 2. The restaurant is located in the corner of a small plaza just past burlington coat factory and less than 2 mi from pho #1. Compared to Pho #1 the restaurant is more updated with more decor on the inside namely a large chandelier in the dining room. When you walk into the door usually a waiter will greet you and seat you. My first time there I was waited on by a shorter fellow with dark hair that came down to his eye level. He was pretty rude and insisted that we had ordered something we didn't, when my guest asked him to take it back he kinda gave a sigh and went back to the kitchen. I now avoid that waiter like the plague and it seems that he goes out of his way not to serve me (fine by me). Thank god the food saved my first experience here. The prices range from 5.25 for a small to 6.50 for an 'ex-large' bowl of pho. The broth is a tad bland for me and seems to be missing a bit of that bold beef flavor found in some other bowls of pho i've had. But at the same time it was good. The noodles were cooked correctly and the meat and side items were very fresh. In addition to the pho, I've also had the opportunity to try their rice dishes (and there is plenty, priced around $6.95 or so). Their meats are well marinated and the quiches they serve are quite tasty. Despite the mediocre service (short guy with bangs), the prices and good food more than make up for it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

LA Fitness Sports Club

Posted on: 2/23/2010

Basically Your Avg Franchise Gyms

So needing a gym in Atlanta, GA I hopped into LA Fitness since they had reasonable advertised pricing when compared to smaller gyms around Atl. Also with a Buckhead location it was only 1.7 mi from home. So I walked in and it seemed like your run of the mill franchise gym. Desk staff rotates every couple of months and trainers seem to do the same save a few. They also have your typical pushy service asking you to sign up for things you usually don't need (given that you are of avg body type). I'm no body builder nor am I obese or overweight, so none of the services were of any benefit to me. As far as the equipment its adequate enough to get by so long as its not crowded (usually from 5-8 weekdays). They have 4 flat benches, 2 incline benches and a decline bench. Their free weights range from 5 lbs to 110 lbs and there's at least 3 sets of each. Their free weight benches are scarce and sometimes it can be a challenge to find equipment to use. There's also 2 smith machines and 2 squat racks and 2 cable machines (altho periodically 1 cable machine seems as though it was mangled). As far as weight machinery there's a good selection with several machines for each muscle group but there's only one machine per exercise so expect to wait. The cardio equipment is well maintained and there's plenty machines if you're a runner, elliptical machine user, or stationary biker. There's also roughly 5-8 stair machines. Locker rooms are adequate to change in, but I'd just shower at home.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Vortex Bar & Grill

Posted on: 2/9/2010

Great Casual Affair

If you're looking for a casual dining experience with excellent beer selection, good portions, pretty good service and eclectic mix of people then Vortex is for you. Be forewarned however not to go during typical lunch and dinner hours as the wait can be a bit of a headache.They have a fantastic beer selection with an avg price for bottled beer about $4 and draft about $6. Their appetizers are fried to pefection and will run about $7 depending on what you get. The real star of the menu has to be their burgers. They have a fantastic combination of toppings on their burgers from extreme creativity (Elvis burger: fried bananas, Peanut Butter) to extreme gluttony (Double Coronary: fried egg and buns replaced with grilled cheese sandwiches) but every burger they serve is delicious and priced just right around $8.50 depending on what you order. On my recent venture to vortex I had their Cuban sandwich and I must say being raised in Mia, this comes close to what you're gonna get down there. So if you're looking for a casual dining experience come early or late to miss the crowds and be sure to bring an appetite and an open mind.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Eighty Eight Tofu House

Posted on: 2/9/2010

Avg Overpriced Korean Food

So if you're traveling along Buford Hwy close to 285 you're bound to see a stand alone sign saying '88 Tofu House'. If you're wondering how it is, I'd go ahead and drive right past it. Now if its 12am, then I guess its a decent option if you really are that hungry. I've been to 88 tofu house probably 3 times and I've only had 1 good experience there. My first visit there was during normal hours when the menu hadn't changed. Theres a decent selection of choices but I opted for the soup and entree combo. The soup was spiced and sized right, but the entree was a little smaller than what I had expected, but the various 'appetizers' that came to the table made up for that missing hole in my stomach. Although don't expect to see the waitress more than 2 times, 1 to take your order and 1 to bring the food. Hankering for decent korean food again at around 10 pm I came to the 88. But this time the dining experience wasn't as pleasant. The menu had been cut and there was no combo dinner. Also the wait staff seemed to be cut as well since it took a while (20+ min) to get our food. All in all 88 is your run of the mill Korean restaurant and if it was in Albany, GA it'd probably be the talk of the town. But in Atlanta there's plenty of other choices for the prices you'll pay here.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Nori Nori Sushi Buffet

While hungering for some sushi and seafood I was pointed in the direction of Nori Nori Sushi Buffet. I can honestly say that Nori Nori is a quality sushi establishment so far that you realize that this is a buffet. I have been for lunch ($16) and Dinner ($26) and both have been a pretty good value as long as you can put away some food. The difference between lunch and dinner is the seafood placed for dinner (crab legs and oysters) otherwise its almost the same. Being a buffet style restaurant the main headline of the sushi bar is rolls. And they have a lot! I've actually had some of the best sushi rolls here, with very creative combination of fresh ingredients. The sashimi served during dinner is of good quality but I won't go as far as to say the best sashimi I've ever had, but for what you're paying its pretty good quality. They also have a yakitori grill for dinner and the selection, though modest, is quite tasty. On the opposite side of the sushi bar is a 'salad' bar. I put salad in quotes because this is not your typical salad bar. There's the normal affair but have you had miso and tofu salad? Didn't think so. This however was a very elegant and well done version of the typical salad bar. Here you will also find variations of the seaweed salad etc. Finally the hot foods. They have a good mix of Japanese and Chinese foods but don't expect anything traditional. Its pretty much filled with typical dishes except it is made with less grease. Fantastic desert selection

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Yager, Howard S MD

Posted on: 2/5/2010

Doctor may be great but office is stuck in 1960

Had to get sutures removed and made an appt. Front office staff was friendly and courteous. So no problems there. First impressions of office was quaint and had lots of old medical memorabilia. I thought thats neat. Didn't think the theme would carry into the actual patient rooms. Hallway to the room was cluttered with what seemed like medical promo items and room itself was also cluttered. There was little space for the nurses to move around and much of the equipment in the room looked rather aged (bed had torn corner and pillow looked a little... 'used'). I have to state that I DID NOT see Dr. Yager since it was stated he was out, I saw the nurse practitioner and even she stated 'Some people have a hard time moving into the 21st Century...' Kind of concerning when instruments are seen sitting in disinfectant solution, some not even in the solution. I'm used to Doctor's offices with disinfectant cabins or getting their instruments out of sanitary packs. To say the least, I need a new doctor in Buckhead.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Taco Mac Lindbergh

Posted on: 2/5/2010

Typical Neighborhood Hang Out

Taco Mac is your typical chain restaurant. As the name implies it serves regular tex-mex (tacos, burritos, nachoes) type of food as well as your usual bar food affair (onion rings, burgers, fries). Typical entree will run you about $6.99 to $9.99 depending on what you get. Usually I go for their burrito (think about the size of a Moe's burrito maybe a tad smaller). That comes with chips, rice and beans, nothing fancy. Appetizers will run from $5.49 (fried mozzarella sticks) to $9.99 (chicken nachos). What really stands out is there EXTENSIVE beer selection. They have probably over 100 beers easily on tap or bottle. Each will run about $4 for a pint. Overall you can probably get in and out for two people for around $20-25 after tip, depending on what you order.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value