llbcsbiggs
TRUST RATING
Member since 2/08/2010
Reviews 16
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 2

North Park Rug & Carpet Company

Posted on: 2/19/2013

Wow!

Wow! This was a service experience that went so far above and beyond expectations, that it is almost unbelievable. We discovered that we needed to put our house on the market in a two week time period, and there was no way we could sell it with the carpet that was in there. I read Yelp, walked into North Park carpet and explained the situation to them. Not only were they incredibly friendly, they jumped right into action. They were at my door within the hour to measure. They moved crews around to get me on the schedule, and I had carpeting in less than three days. And, the crew they sent was absolutely fantastic. They were prompt, efficient, polite, and even funny. The carpet looks perfect. The service was beyond anything anybody could expect. Bravo guys, and thank you very much.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

HD Hookups

Posted on: 2/19/2013

Stunning results, excellent service

I phoned HD Hookups to hang our two 55" televisions when I discovered that we needed to put our house on the market in a short time frame. I only wish I had called them three years ago. Lance was not only on time, professional, and an incredibly skilled workman, but he gave me advice on our Internet system and even helped me properly put up a wall cabinet that had fallen down. Reasonable rates, top notch service, simply stunning results -- it certainly does not get any better than this. Diego, you guys are first on my list for the next house.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Best Plumbing & Drain Cleaning

Posted on: 6/11/2011

Thank you kudzu coupon - awesome plumber

We recently used the Kudzu coupon for a drain cleaning. The guys from Best Plumbing were absolutely fantastic. They were on time, polite, and knowledgeable. They didn't try to sell us on anything else at the time, and they recommended some products from the Internet that might help our system. We've found a new plumber.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Varsity Painting

Posted on: 4/12/2011

Excellent experience from start to finish

When my old painter didn't return my call, I set out to find a new one. So, glad I did. My experience with Varsity Painting was excellent. This was a mid-sized (couple of thousand dollar) project in a funky 1933 courtyard. From the beginning, Jay stood out in the way he listened to what we wanted and gently guided us. I scattershot him with color choices in an email, and he brought a sample of every single one, and then was incredibly pleasant when we had to say, "None of the above" and go in an entirely different direction. They donate the left over samples to the San Diego schools. Our experience with the crew was just as outstanding. Luis and Ernesto were fast and expert at what they did. Moreover, they were pleasant, polite, and meticulous. Most of all, they worked their rear ends off. They did a two and a half day job in a two days. Best of all the project looks outstanding. Thank you Kudzu for another great contractor.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Install It Direct

Posted on: 3/30/2011

came through when others wouldn't take the job

We were attempting to have paving stones installed in a small area of our back patio. Half the contractors told us it was too small. Of the remaining folks we contacted, Ron brought in the lowest bid and was efficient and responsive. When it came time to do the installation, Ron chose Cesar and his guys. They had excellent attention to detail and were prompt, hard working, and incredibly polite. They cleaned up as if they had never been there, and the work looks great. We actually hadn't been sure how the area we were trying to have paved would come out, and, frankly, we were just hoping that it wouldn't look bad. Install-it-direct made it look outstanding. Highly recommend both the business model and the company.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Bauer Construction Inc.

Posted on: 3/21/2011

Earthquake retrofit/general contractor

Our HOA hired Dave Bauer and his crew to do an extensvie earthquake retrofit last year. Because we couldn't afford to live elsewhere and our unit had the outside wall, we were were living with the construction for the almost three weeks. Bauer construction made this huge project bearable. They were unfailingly on time and polite. They completely cleaned up after each day's work. Most importantly, they knew what they were doing and did an outstanding job. It was evident throughout the job that Dave was experienced with these types of projects and an extremely competent contractor in general. Since that experience we have reached out to Dave to ask general questions on a couple of construction issues that had nothing to do with the retrofit. Dave was unfailingly patient and informative. We are considering building a balcony in our courtyard, and Dave Bauer will be our first phone call.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

A Preman Roofing

Posted on: 10/14/2010

Professional and affordable cool roof

We recently replaced the roof for our condominium complex with a cool roof from Preman. Preman Roofing was one of 6 bids. From the beginning, they stood out. They were on time and prepared, put together a booklet outlining their bid and their process, and met with us when they submitted their bid. That same professionalism carried over throughout the process. Plus, they were incredibly reasonable, coming in at a about half the cost of our highest cool roof bid, and including a 4 year maintenance plan. Best of all the cool roof works. We went from having to run fans when the temps topped 75 to not even touching them in the latest 90+ heat wave. Wow! Highly, highly recommend Preman.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Skylight Pros Inc

Posted on: 10/14/2010

Excellent job

Skylight pros recently installed 12 Velux skylights with shades to replace our old cracked industrial skylights. Kevin was outstanding. His part was delayed by the roofers, and he stayed until 7:30 to get the skylights in. And, the skylights and the powder coated frame Kevin had made are absolutely beautiful. There is a reason why every roofer I asked to bid on the skylights too said, "You should really just contact Kevin Lightcap."

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Aztec Graphics

Posted on: 10/14/2010

Excellent framingó less than the big store sales

We recently had several thousand dollars worth of framing done by Aztec framing. I started with two pieces to check them out first. During the time that they were working on them, Aaron Brothers had their 50 percent off sale, so I brought the next two pieces to see what it would cost if they did it. Although the sizes were a bit smaller, Aaron Brother's half price bid was more than I was paying at Aztec. When I got the pieces back, they were really well done. Throughout the process of ultimately framing 6 pieces, the customer service was fantastic. I highly recommend this small business. Keep these guys alive. We need more like them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

All Star Electric

Posted on: 2/15/2010

Top Kudzu find!

All Star Electric ranks right up there as my absolute top Kudzu find! We had really complex wiring problems in the house we just bought with lots of three and four way switches that were wired wrong. Not only did All Star Electric give me a incredibly reasonable flat bid for diagnosing and fixing the problems, Cesar and Jose were absolutely amazing. They started from one end of the house and methodically worked their way to the other end diagnosing the problems one after another. They were energetic, efficient and incredibly personable. My other two bids, also top Kudzu ratings, were very different from this one. The first was an hourly bid and charged more for the first hour for two men than All Star Electric did for a day of troubleshooting. They also told me that I needed to figure out all of the problems before they came out. The second actually tried to start work over my protests that all I wanted was a bid and then told me if I felt guilty I could pay his first hour rate (almost as much as All Star Electric's entire day). When I called All Star Electric after the first guy told me that I needed to figure out the problems ahead of time, I was told by Jose that it would be no problem for them to do it! And, boy did they do it well. How refreshing to have a company that is reasonable, honest, and incredibly professional and efficient. I will be using them for future wiring in this very dark house and recommending them to all my friends. These guys rock!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value