Ironleg
TRUST RATING
Member since 5/20/2010
Reviews 7
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Northern Tool + Equipment

Posted on: 1/22/2012

Good source for towing items

I buy my cargo-related items here. They stock a complete assortment of hitches, tie-downs, trailer parts etc. that you either can't find or pay a fortune for at other places. They also carry lots of Chinese-made tools and contractor grade power equipment. Downside is sometimes they are out of stock of an item for a long time and the customer service is not great. Bottom Line: If you know what you are looking for and are willing to trade some quality for price this is a good choice.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cahoots Restaurant

Posted on: 1/22/2012

Unique building, average food

A reasonable choice for a decent meal. The building includes part of the old town jail, and you can eat in one of the grafiti-covered cells. which is kind of cool. The service is pleasant enough. Menu is your typical fern bar fare, prepared competently. This is a good choice if you are looking for a cheeseburger or iceberg lettuce salad and you're willing to pay a bit more than fast food prices for the atmosphere.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Cobb Air Inc

Posted on: 1/22/2012

Expert, trustworthy service

Don't make the mistake of calling around trying to find the cheapest place to service your AC! Just call these guys and get it done right the first time. I've learned that a lot of outfits send you somebody that is more of a salesman than a technician who is focused on getting you to buy a bunch of junk you don't need. Cobb Air will give you the straight scoop without the malarkey, and probably save you money in the long run.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Gilmer Towing

Posted on: 5/31/2010

Honest, Friendly and Value Priced

When our box truck and trailer rig broke down on the highway north of town, we were worried that we might not make the event we were traveling to on time. Our trailer alone weighs about 8,000 pounds, plus the fully loaded F-450 box truck. The Sheriff called Gilmer Towing for us and we felt very fortunate to have found them! They hooked up our entire rig and brought us back to a repair shop in town, then took us to a second shop when the first was unable to replace a faulty alternator. The service was first rate, and the tow bill much lower than we anticipated, given that we were out-of-towners just passing through. If you need quick, professional recovery of your disabled vehicle anywhere around Ellijay I highly recommend Gilmer Towing!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Kemp's Lawn Mower Sales

Posted on: 5/20/2010

Good place for hard to find parts

If you need small engine parts, Kemps is a good place to try. I've gotten to where I just go there first, after ending up there several times after wasting time looking for a part at other stores in town. The prices are what you would expect for a place that stocks specialty repair parts. You can probably save money shopping online, but if you're like me when the machine breaks you need to get it running now, not in a week. I've never had anything serviced here, just bought parts, but as a parts house I can recommend them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Johnny Mitchell's Smokehouse

Posted on: 5/20/2010

A Hidden Gem Northwest of Atlanta

If you can find your way to the small town of Euharlee, you'll discover one of NW Georgia's best kept dining secrets. The friendly hosts of this family restaurant preserve the tradition of honest Southern cooking and spice it up with some funky twists on old favorites. Practically everything at Johnny's is homemade, right down to the salad dressings. Where can you find that these days without paying $40 a plate and wearing a tie? The BBQ is top-notch (check out the trophies lining the wall from BBQ contests) and there are steaks, great seafood, salads and other goodies to satisfy just about any craving. You'll also find a wide selection of beers and even a wine list! This may seem odd for a BBQ place, but have a short chat with Jill and you'll be impressed with the thought and care taken in each selection. Johnny's may require a bit of a drive for most folks, but the countryside is beautiful, the food amazing and the service warm and attentive. Luckily the menu is extensive, because once you've tried the place you'll be back again and again.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Townsend Car Care

Posted on: 5/20/2010

Honest, inexpensive and knowledgeable

Curtis Townsend's garage may not look like much - it's just an old gas station near the tracks in downtown Cartersville. You won't find a fancy waiting room stocked with burnt coffee and last winter's magazines here. What you will find is a mechanic who really knows cars and can fix yours for a reasonable cost. I've been taking my vehicles to Curtis for years, and he usually can diagnose the problem within two minutes. Whether you need a tune-up or a transmission rebuild, odds are Townsend's will get it done faster than the big fancy places. And since you won't be paying for that shiny waiting room or all the advertising, your bill will be a whole lot lower too.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value