pizzacutter
TRUST RATING
Member since 9/09/2010
Reviews 7
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

Barrelle Roofing

Posted on: 6/10/2013

Good all around

I picked them because all of their reviews on Kudzu were 5 stars. They deserve another one from me. They did a full tear-down and re-roof on our house. They said they'd show up at 7:30, they showed up at 7:30. They said they'd be done in a day, they were done in a day. They said they would clean up. Not a scrap left in the yard. No problems with the roof. I spoke directly to the very friendly(!) owner on the phone and he was the on-site foreman. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Arbor Insulation Solutions

Posted on: 10/11/2012

My 3-year-old approves

They showed up on time (on the dot), the work took exactly as long as they said it would for exactly the amount that they said it would. Before I left for work, I told my 3 year old daughter to let me know if they were nice. When I got home she said that they were very nice to her. On top of that, we've noticed a difference in the house temperature. Good quality contractor. Happy to recommend them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Welch Engineering, LLC

Posted on: 6/5/2012

Absolutely top-notch

Glenn conducted two home inspections for us (one of which turned up major issues and led us to back out of the sale), including radon testing and low-flow plumbing inspection. It was nice to go into negotiations with such a thorough report. He was prompt (reports were in our hands a few hours after the inspection) and thorough. He was a gentleman throughout the process. His fee is a little higher than others, but he is a licensed professional in all the major areas, and you're talking a few hundred dollars on a MAJOR investment. I am struggling to find superlatives strong enough to describe his excellence. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

FenceWorks of Georgia, Inc

Posted on: 5/23/2012

Good fence, poor communication

We hired them to build a small safety fence around our basement stairs. The gentleman who provided the estimate was prompt and professional. However, we were told that the fence would be put up on Tuesday. On Tuesday, there was no fence and no phone call. On Thursday, I called and asked, and was told that on Tuesday, the crew had not been available, and so I had been re-scheduled for Saturday. I can understand that sometimes things happen (someone on the crew was sick, there was an emergency), but the lack of any sort of explanation concerned me. I found it rather unprofessional. The fence itself went up with no problems on Saturday, and it's a decent fence.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Zurn Plumbing Service Inc

Posted on: 5/11/2012

They show up, they do good work

We contracted with Zurn to fix cathodic protection issues on our natural gas line, as well as to take care of a few (water-based) issues turned up by our home inspection (corroding drain pipe, sink needed to be low-flow, tighten the toilet tank). They can handle both. They showed up when they said they would. They did quality work and kept us informed on what they were doing (and why). They were pleasant. Good customer service as well. The best contractors are the ones about whom you have very little to say.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

McCall Enterprises

Posted on: 5/11/2012

Good work, so we fed them ice cream

We hired McCall to take care of some wiring issues found in our home inspection, as well as replacing the electrical masthead on the house. Terelle said that he would be there at 8:00 am with his crew. He was there at 8:00 sharp with his crew on two different days. They were pleasant, did good work, and even cleaned up after themselves. If there's something that summarizes the experience, it's this: when they had to shut the power down (it had to be done), my wife fed them ice cream (well... it was going to melt...) Terelle walked me through what had to be done (and most importantly, why) and called at the end of each work day to update me on progress. On time, professional, good communication, quality work. That's the definition of a good contractor.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Protection Concepts

Posted on: 9/9/2010

salesman is a jerk

The in-home salesman came in and stayed for two hours constantly trying to up-sell my wife's parents. He used every high-pressure dirty salesman trick in the book. Whether or not his product is any better/worse, I don't know. Had it been my place, I would have thrown him out of the house. I wish I could use stronger language to say how horrible a human being the salesman was.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value