Guinevere
TRUST RATING
Member since 10/28/2010
Reviews 12
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 4

A Green Lawn

Posted on: 4/28/2014

Quit & Left Elderly Woman with Piles of Debris

A Green Lawn has left me in a big mess & I'm in my 70s. Don't mess with the owner--he's takes offense if you mention any safety issue (his crew wore no gloves while working in woods where there is barbed wire, wild rose thorns). I had scheduled a woods chainsaw cleanup crew 8 days in advance for late Fri PM; instead, 3 guys showed up at 8AM with no chain saw. They hauled debris from the woods & dumped it on the drive. They said another crew would pick it up. That was 5 days ago. The owner has not responded to my request for pickup. He DID email Fri. they were quitting--apparently because I complained they showed up without the right equipment and at the wrong time. They didn't edge for 3 months & equipment was not sharp when they did. When done, trees had egg shapes around them, not circles. Crew itself is very nice. Didn't get a bill for 3 months but owner didn't notice a past due balance on account. Alerted him & paid him in 15 mins. Got lots of spam requesting reviews. Owner will blame the victim if you complain.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
 Woods Debris Not Hauled But Dumped in Drive

AL - The Fix It Man

Posted on: 4/28/2014

Al--Genius Handyman!

1st time he came, Al fixed ~17 items in one day--ranging from a chair rung my dog had chewed out to adding magnets to an antique sideboard so doors finally stayed shut. He painted my back porch, hung 2 ceiling fans, light fixtures, fixed a gate, built a door to fireplace gas key, repaired an antique table so it didn't wobble, pressure washed a patio, and more. He is meticulous in his work, on time, and ALWAYS prepared with the right tools. Couldn't be happier!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
 Al pressure washing steps
 Hanging ceiling fan before painting back porch

Superb Cleaning, Attitudes & Service with Smiles!

After a nightmare with another company & interviewing 9 services, I chose QCare, mainly because of Brooke's skills & management talent. Today, Barb & Tabitha dazzled me with the quality of their cleaning work, work ethics, and attitudes! I had emailed Brooke (did I mention she is a gem?) my "To Do" list--a 2-pg table, room by room. Barb walked in with her IPad & had already studied it. They were flexible enough to use a few special products of mine (Liquid Gold on old antiques; Weimans Granite on marble) & also loved the new Fantastic with Scrubbing Bubbles. The 2-story house now sparkles with detail cleaning that I find exceptional. Both Barb & Tabitha were graceful and kept smiling when I mentioned I had 5 Ragdoll cats, an English Springer & a Cockapoo--and did not complain with all the cat hair. I didn't expect the Springer to warm up, but he did w/in 30 mins. They were both very focused & diligent & worked at a fast pace. They asked questions when needed such as which product I preferred on a certain piece of furniture. We made a list of "to dos" for next time also. My hyper Springer ended up stretching out on the couch as they vacuumed & polished & that's a FIRST. He NEVER relaxes around strangers--so, to say they are "pet friendly" is an understatement. They were both gentle with the animals. They both speak & read English beautifully--I didn't have to talk in sign language once! I am signed up for next month already! Thanks for a terrific job well done!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Barb and Tabitha

Chipper LLC Tree Service

Posted on: 4/4/2013

Outstanding professional landscaping!!!

Chipper LLC (Austin & helper) installed 10 cu yds of mulch yesterday in a very complex landscape with new shrubs, Japanese maples, giant old trees, and emerging perennials. They did a SUPERB job! They worked hard, even without a lunch break, to get it all done; they brought a Toro Dingo with an augur to dig holes I had requested for new shrubs where the old ones had been chainsawed. What a surprise! I thought it would be a week of digging instead ~20 mins. with high powered equipment. The price was excellent and the work exceeded all my expectations. They were even able to start the next day. They cleaned up with a blower so it all looked mint. Thanks, Chipper LLC!!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
 Ready to work with Dingo
 Austin digging where I had sprayed neon circles for new shrubs
 Ready to go!
 10 cu yds spruces up 3/4-acre lot!

Atlanta Turnkey

Posted on: 9/20/2012

Great Work, Attitude, Communication & Pricing!

After 3 handymen failed to show up (despite their emails), Jeff & his assistant knocked out my security light, dryer duct, bathroom light fixture, and door latch issues quickly & professionally. He has so much expertise across so many home issues, I am confident he can help in the future. He was on time & the price was fair. They both worked as a team quickly & had all the tools he needed to do the repairs. I appreciated the senior discount, too! I highly recommend Jeff as a handyman; he even noticed stuff I'd missed such as a broken hinge on a major gate to the back yard, downspout clogged with leaves/debris, an electrical blank on the garage side for maybe an extra security light. He confirmed his work by phone and email as well as sent me an electronic invoice right away. All that helps with a paperless "green" office.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
 Jeff brought a caged dryer duct to replace an old one that was "stuck" open, allowing rodents in.

Aaron Plumbing, Heating and Air

Posted on: 5/30/2012

Jim Saves the Day: Bad PRV Valve Blowing Out House

The shower was dripping every night ~3:30AM, waking me up; then the wall water pipes would rattle. Next a toilet wouldn't stop running and a jacuzzi tub faucet stopped working. Jim W of Aaron diagnosed all in short order--my water pressure was 160-200 instead of 55-80 as normal. A bad PRV valve was blowing out my house plumbing! He had everything fixed & working again in about an hour & all's peaceful & normal & working. It was especially great to TAKE A BATH instead of a shower. I also appreciate the Senior Discount. Aaron installed my new water heater in 3/2010 & did a superb job on that too as well as another shower a few years ago that was leaking. They are the best in town!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Kevin's Excellent Repairs--Damaged Outside Sockets

Kevin changed out 2 outdoor plugs with the safe, new types with covers that protect the cords today. He was courteous, prompt, fast, and fair-priced. He also advised me on 2 lamps, showing me a bad transformer so I was able to throw it away. Another socket in the computer room was out but he found a wall switch and all power was restored. Highly recommend & love the digital age they're in!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Omni Plumbing Services

Posted on: 5/18/2012

Outstanding ER Repair of Water Main Break & Toilet

I highly recommend Omni for service, professionalism, promptness & price. I had a water main break & Jeff answered the phone at 7:30 AM on a Sunday; it was pouring down rain and break not huge so we agreed to wait until rain stopped. Both Jason & Jeff arrived 30 minutes early on Tues. & completed the work in 1 hr. It was about 4 ft. down & very gross work. The soil was replaced when done & all was neat & tidy. They repaired a toilet also, but turns out it kept running after they left. Jason came back 3Xs at NO CHARGE and finally discovered it was a bad shutoff valve in the wall; he had already replaced all toilet parts. It is all fixed now. He gave me a Senior Discount also, which helped alot. Despite the fact I had to call back, he arrived quickly and with a smile and no complaining.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Atlanta Air Experts

Posted on: 4/13/2011

Hard-Working Crew, Great Management, Great price

The Supervisor said he had never seen such extensive rat damage to air ducts before--Atlanta Air Experts sent a Supervisor and work crew of 3 to replace and clean all the air ducts on a 2500 sq ft home. They were prompt, hard-working, courteous, and knowledgeable. "Bait and switch" is emphatically NOT part of their repertoire. We reviewed each step and stayed exactly at bid after 22 man hours of labor was performed. All house air ducts were removed & cleaned with Microban; over 100 feet of new duct was installed, taped, and sealed with mastic; all existing ducts were vacuumed to NADCA standards & all ducts were sprayed with Microban & Fabreze--the house smelled BEAUTIFUL. They were all very sensitive to the fact I had cats in the master br and worked with me to sneak a crew member in without letting the cats out. They vacuumed at the end & packed all equipment and bad ducts in their truck. They also checked their work with a remote camera & took "after" phos for me. Delivered performance as promised and I am delighted to recommend them! I interviewed over 6 companies and had bids through the ceiling--obvious price gouging IMHO. I studied EPA literature extensively before selecting a contractor--too many try to scare a customer into buying more than they need. Two even bad-mouthed fellow NADCA contractors--a big no-no among professionals. Do your homework carefully; this is a tricky business!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Persistent & Honest in Complex Problems! A Genius!

Jeff "Genius" Gagne figured out why my furnace was knocking EXACTLY 64 times, quitting, and then repeating the same pattern. It was impossible to heat the house with all the racket. Three other contractors could not make it the day we hit 30 degree; Jeff worked me into his schedule late in the afternoon. We first thought it was something caught in the blower; he removed a piece of paper and it worked fine again. But, the knocking started the next day & night. So, back to a cold house. Called early on a SUNDAY AM & he was at the house by 8AM, pulling everything apart. He finally located a bad relay switch in my 13yo Lennox on the circuit board. First thing Monday he picked up a new Lennox part & it was installed & working by 11AM! Plus, my upstairs furnace had gone out in the meantime & he found a loose wire & repaired that too. He also fixed my thermostat--it needed batteries & was on the fritz. I couldn't get the cover off, so he was able to remove it successfully. His price was very fair, but his persistence in a terrible problem was over the top. He works hard & fast. He's very polite & does not try to "charm" his way to higher expenses and unnecessary repairs. As a senior, I am very relieved to find an honest, hard-working man who is also a genius IMHO.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value