AllisonJC
TRUST RATING
Member since 3/05/2011
Reviews 12
Average Rating
Helpful Votes 0

di Paolo

Posted on: 6/2/2011

Great Authentic Italian

This restaurant delivers great AUTHENTIC Italian food (specifically northern Italian- like their great Bolognese sauce). Lots of attention to detail makes for a great meal. Servers are knowledgeable and helpful. Not an overly formal or stuffy place, but strikes a nice balance between a nice atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Roswell Founders Hall

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Beautiful Venue, Great Events, Snooty Staff

I'm a little conflicted about this review. We used Founders for a wedding reception and absolutely loved our reception. The location is beautiful, and everything was handled very efficiently. For appearance, location, and execution of the event, I gave them five stars on the quality subcategory. I didn't really enjoy the planning with them because the staff is a bit unapproachable, definitely impatient, and frankly, just a little too snooty to overlook. I was grateful to have a wedding planner who handled most of the contact with them. I'm a people person, and I can tell you, you won't get the warm fuzzies from this crowd. Food is handled by their catering company, which is technically separate, but Founders provides the beverages- sort of a strange dichotomy- and they don't really have a great selection in terms of wine and beer. They are also slightly higher on those items than most other comparable venues. Thus, the lower service and value ratings. I would like to point out that the servers were excellent and very friendly to our guests, but they were provided through the catering company that did the food. We also enjoyed working with the caterer to plan our menus, but again, she works at the catering company rather than for Founders Hall itself.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Dents & Dings

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Don't Take Your Car Anywhere Else

This is the best place to go for body work. The owner, David, does a lot of work on very high-end cars, but even if you don't drive a Ferrari, he's the man to call because he offers such a great value. He has worked on our Chevrolet Trailblazer and VW Jetta. He is very honest and trustworthy and will give you a frank assessment of your damage and what he can do for you- and whether or not it will be worth the cost. We are extremely picky about our cars and that's why we love him- he is a perfectionist and really takes the time to do the job right. After my new car got several door dings in the work parking lot and dent on the roof from a rock, David made it look like brand new. Each time we've used him, he let us come in the same day we called and fixed the cars while we waited. I can't say enough good things about this business.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Zerorez of Atlanta

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Not So Great

To do all of our carpeted areas, we're usually looking at about $400-$450. We used to get great results in the past with spots AND odor removed. But the last couple of times, we just haven't had the same experience. The most recent time, we had a couple of pet stains, as well as coffee stains. When I called to schedule an appointment, I was assured that they could remove coffee stains. They also reminded me of their 30-day guarantee and re-cleaning that is offered. So, they came out, and the result was okay but the coffee and pet stains lingered. The guy who came out for the retreatment immediately told me that they can't remove coffee stains, contrary to what I was told. He also said that the lingering pet stains must be new. I told him I understood that can't always expect perfect results, but since it was offered to us I wanted to at least try a re-cleaning, and the pet stains were indeed the same ones as before. After arguing with him for about half an hour I finally just told him to leave. He eventually said grudgingly that he would try, and he did a cursory once-over of the problem areas. It did slightly improve them, but it's not at all the type of experience we used to have with this company.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Pastis

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Quel Dommage (What a Shame)!

Pastis was once my favorite restaurant, and my husband's favorite, but we've lately been really disappointed with it. For years, this has been our go-to place, and we basically went any time we had an excuse to go. However, recently the quality has gone downhill. Servers were previously attentive and knowledgeable about the menu, and the food and wine were always perfect, making the considerable expense well worthwhile. However, we have been there four or five times in the last couple of months and have been very disappointed each time. Servers are now rushed and many seem to have no idea what they are doing. Our recent experiences have included chilled chardonnay served in hot glasses fresh out of the dishwasher, cold, undercooked chicken roulade, filets ordered medium well and served almost raw, and meals served with no silverware on the table with us having to get up and find someone to bring us cutlery so that we could eat our dinner. Not only have our dinners been bad, but we paid around $100 for each of those bad dinners. After expressing our displeasure to a manger recently, we were promised some gift certificates that we never received. We decided to give it one last chance last weekend anyway. The experience was the worst to date, and so Pastis is now off our list

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Mittie's Cafe Tea Room

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Great Breakfast and Lunch

The Alpharetta Mittie's has been a favorite for me for a long time. If you were a fan of the OLD Roswell location on Canton Street, you'll be pleased to find the same menu at the Alpharetta location. My husband and I really like to go for brunch on Sundays, and I often go for lunch with my Mom and sisters. Now- if you are looking for a formal tea room- this isn't quite it. It's fairly casual. It has a loyal crowd of ladies who lunch here, but men- don't be scared away! The food is really great and the staff is friendly and fun. The lobster bisque is a favorite with our whole family. The Miss Emily's chicken salad is the star of the show here- it's a sweet chicken salad with grapes, chopped nuts and tarragon, and served on greens or on a croissant. But don't overlook the Cherry Bleu chicken salad, which is just as good (if you like blue cheese). They serve breakfast and lunch. Both are great.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Brookwood Grill

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Not Worth it Anymore

This place was once on my list of favorites but now I'm just indifferent about it. Generally in the past I have found the food to be consistently good, and the service excellent. However, recently, it has become a real hassle to go here for dinner. Heaven forbid that we try to go on a weekend- even with call-ahead seating we never know how long we will wait for a table. Servers seem rushed and the food seems rushed too. Temperature is often an issue, and we just don't notice the same attention to detail that we used to love about Brookwood Grill. Sometimes during the week when they're able to take a little more time and get it right, it's still okay, but usually now when we're willing to spend a little more on a nice dinner, we go somewhere that we know will give us a good experience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Mittie's Tea Room Cafe

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Yuck.

The Roswell Mittie's moved a few times in the last few years, and I had high hopes once it ended up at the Plum Street location and stayed there. But I find the restaurant uncomfortable and have had really bad food here, which is such a disappointment since it used to be so good. Service was minimal- order taken, food and drinks brought out eventually- but those were our only two visits by the server. The restaurant was dirty on the day that we visited. Don't confuse this location with the Alpharetta location, which is separately owned and has great food and service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Agropro Lawn Care Specialists

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Fantastic Service

We've had issues with our lawn for years that our previous services never could seem to resolve for us. We started using Agropro about a year ago, and they have made a huge difference. It is healthier overall, and we see a lot fewer weeds. They have been able to prevent most weeds, and they handle the non-preventable ones quickly and courteously. The owner and the technicians are very knowledgeable. We also added some turf area at a different property that had a mix of grass types, and they helped us formulate a plan for getting rid of fescue and making it all bermuda. Our technician told us exactly what to expect and has been helping us through every step of the process. We've been impressed that not only can they handle ordinary, everyday services, but they can also tackle long-term projects and help make big changes where they are needed. Also, their customer service is top-notch. Very friendly office staff are always prepared to give you an answer, or find out the answer for you if it requires technical expertise from a specialist. They are very quick to respond to calls and e-mails and are always courteous and pleasant.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Rice Thai Cuisine

Posted on: 3/5/2011

Always a Good Meal

This restaurant is consistently great. They have traditional Thai favorites like massaman curry and pad thai, and a house Thai salad with peanut dressing. All of the dishes are made with fresh ingredients and the flavor really reflects it. They also have great specials that are inventive and creative. It's a small comfortable place with a nice atmosphere. The porch is a particularly nice place to sit and have a good meal during mild weather. Servers are friendly and helpful. The wine list isn't extensive but there is pretty good variety and servers make great suggestions for wine and food pairings. If you're feeling adventurous, tell them a few things that you like and ask them for a suggestion or a surprise dish.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value
Prev 1 2 Next »