• Claim This Profile!
    Join thousands of businesses who are using Kudzu to find new customers.

    When you register, you can:

     •  List your specialties
     •  Respond to reviews
     •  Create special offers


Cafe Nuovo

1 Citizens Plz 
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 421-2525
Website: cafenuovo.com
Edit Business Info
Cafe Nuovo Cafe Nuovo : Restaurants, Providence, RI



Reviews
by zaymac at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 9/26/2010
Customer Service is severely lacking
My wife and I had booked a reservation on the Saturday night of a Waterfire, which may have been our first mistake. We entered the jam packed restaurant to find the wait staff and managers running around like chickens with their heads chopped off. It took nearly 10 minutes just to grab someone's attention to let them know that we had a reservation. And then I was greeted with a snippy, ""Can you just give me a minute, we are kind of busy here"". I understand that Waterfire is a busy night. But this wasn't the first Waterfire ever in Providence, so the fact that the staff felt so overwhelmed and under prepared was mind boggling. After 10 more minutes and seeing people that entered after us being seated, we were finally seated at our table. My wife had made the reservations requesting a table outside, so she was upset that we were seated in the rather noisy dining hall. Her words, ""I feel like I'm in a cafeteria"". She proceeded to get up from the table and go talk to one of the managers about getting a table outside. The manager stated that it wasn't possible, and my wife told her that we were probably going to end up leaving then.To which she cheerfully replied ""Okay, bye"".By that point, we were so annoyed and upset with the rudeness of the wait staff, that we decided to leave. So I am unable to give a review of the food. But if it is anything like the customer service, I'd imagine it was piss poor as well.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



by navye6 at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 8/29/2010
Not worth the trip
Aug 28, 2010\rMy wife and I experienced waterfire for the first time last night. We read the reviews for Cafe Nuovo made a reservation. Disappointing, maybe our experience at Ruth Cris,Capitol Grille, Camilles had our hopes, expectations too high. Food was Ok(far from the quality of the above mentioned), except for the swiss chard came with the lamb. (couldnt eat it)\rThe sevice was poor at best, our waiter (Carlos) had little too no experience in serving food or wine. we had a bottle of wine (Silver Oak 04 ) he spilled several ounces on the table before decanting. He did offer an apology for his error, ok mistakes happen, it was only the beginning of a bad service. He poored the wine only once after that, because you could see he had no experience at wine service, another waiter came to his rescue, the rest of the evening I did my own wine service for my wife and I. After our dinner was served he never visited our table for a check of our needs. I asked him as he was passing by if he had a moment, be right there, never happened. Dinner was over I mentioned my swiss chard, again he offered an apology(hes good at that)asked if we wanted coffee/dessert, my wife reponded she would like a desert menu and tea, I asked for coffee with cream, he brought the coffee with milk not cream, again apology was offered. I left a very small tip for a meal and wine cost of $281.00. I spoke with a manager about our experience on the way out, apology was offered, they are good at that as I mentioned. IMO, any of the above eating establishments I mentioned are worth considering, Cafe Nuovo nope never again. \r
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



by contributor639 at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 6/14/2009
Disappointing.
The first time I went to Cafe Nuovo it was great. The second time was on a Waterfire night and it was awful. We made a reservation to sit outside a month in advance. We got to the restaraunt and had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. Our waitress was unfriendly and probably overworked. Our salads were great and came out fast. The main course took over an hour to come after the salads. The chicken oscar was not great. The chicken was dry and the cut of meat was disappointing. It was thin fillets - not what you would expect for $25. The dish supposedly came with lump crab meat but they hardly gave any crab. The potatoes were really good. My husband's veal was also overcooked but his risotto was good. The chocolate lava cake was $9 and we assumed it would be big enough to split. However it was very small and disappointing - I've had better at cheaper restaraunts. They also added $17 to our bill for drinks we never ordered, but they did take that off. I think this restaraunt booked too many tables for Waterfire and they couldn't handle it. I wouldn't be so upset if this restaraunt wasn't so expensive. I expected more from them considering our first experience with them was so good. The staff pretty much ignored the problems of the night.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



by stephie101 at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 6/14/2009
Expected better
Would have had a better experience if we had gone on a night that wasn't waterfire. The food and service were ok, not what you would expect for such an expensive restaraunt.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



by smablanch at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 6/14/2009
Good experience.
Went on a Friday night last year and everything was great. The staff was friendly and excellent. The meals were fabulous.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



1 to 5 of 12



Coupons
Royal Buffet
Excludes Holidays. Dine-in or Take-out. Beverage Extra. Parties of 10 or less only.
Not valid with any other coupon.
With Valpak® coupon only.
Coupon void if altered.

ex 05/02/2014  |  Valpak coupon »
Ronzio Pizza

One coupon per customer.
Coupons may not be combined with any other offer.
With Valpak® coupon only.
Must present coupon at time of order.
Coupon void if altered.

ex 05/02/2014  |  Valpak coupon »


Other home services categories in Providence, RI
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.