Iron Horse Remodeling

(404) 549-6707 www.ironhorseremodeling.com »

Business overview

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Norcross
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Services

  • Written Statement of Work
  • Written Warranty

Jobs

  • Drywall Repair
  • General Carpentry
  • Install Insulation
  • Kitchen or Bath Fixtures
  • Painting
  • Remodeling
  • Roof Repair
  • Siding Repair
  • Tile Repair

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • SAT
  • 9:00am
  • 4:00pm
  • SUN

Green Credentials

Iron Horse Remodeling offers a variety of affordable, energy efficient, options for your home. Lower your energy bills, qualify for federal tax credits, and go green while adding to the aesthetics of your greatest investment. You will love home even more after Iron Horse Remodeling helps you to GO GREEN!

Reviews

View More »

Totally Unprofessional, 12/02/2014

I spoke to the guy regarding a basement remodel and he was downright unprofessional. I couldn't even get him to come out and give me an estimate. I scheduled a time for him to come out to my house... and provide an estimate and he was a no show. I would never entrust any money with this guy if he's not even responsible enough or reliable enough to keep appointments. It was his loss not mine because I ultimately ended up going with Green Basements for close to a $60K job. Maybe that was too small of a job for him. I don't know.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Wes gets it done, 3/27/2014

Brought Wes in to fix some dental molding damage done by rodents as well as repair of a support column. Did excellent work. Later brought one of his framers in to buttress some attic supports who... did it very professionally at a competitive price. Will gladly call on Wes again for my next project.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 31-45 of 137

Reviews

blissdemeanor

Reviews: 11

Came out to review project and never followed-up

Disappointed; Wes came out to look at my renovation project and he was warm, friendly, knowledgable and had some great ideas. Indicated that he would get back to me in a week or so with a quote, and never heard back. If he was not interested in the project, a courtesy email or call would have been nice. I have since found another remodeling contractor that I'm excited about. Based on my experience and from reading his reviews he seems hit or miss on reliability and follow through. Something to think as you consider a project with him.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

I apologize to you for not hearing back from me regarding your project. I don't know what happened in the line of communication but certainly wouldn't have intentionally not responded. Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Miliwill

Reviews: 18

Remodeled Bath and misc. repairs

Wes is a very nice person, but the quality of work is not what I expected. I had Iron Horse put a drywall ceiling in a basement bedroom and remodel a basement bath. They did not cover anything in the bedroom until I asked them to. By then the bed was covered in drywall dust and debris. The antique furniture is covered with drywall dust. A Big Mess. The tile man did not use RedGuard which was part of the contract. He had tiled almost two shower walls when I went to check so I had him remove the tile to add the waterproofing. Wall border tiles were put up crooked. A corner we added to a walkway was not even close to being level, not sure if this is a construction or drywall problem. The list goes on and on. Wes states he does quality work and this must be my fault because I did not make myself clear before the projects began. This is definitely not quality work although Wes insists it will be fixed. He was paid in full for the bathroom yet it is not finished. Use caution if you hire this company.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thank you for the review and your business. We try to provide the customer with a pleasant experience by being courteous and professional while providing quality work. Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

CherylandOwen

Reviews: 1

Cheryl Christian says "Excellent Work"

Iron Horse owner Wes was pleasant, prompt and courteous. The work he did on the exterior of our house was A1. I had to look at old pictures of the missing brick faces, the flashing on the roof,the extension on the downsprouts, incorrectly installed siding panels with gaps which he fixed, and sealed flawlessly. He did an absolutely PHENOMINAL job, and we will definitely be using this company for ANY/EVERY remodeling that needs to be done on our house. I highly recommend Iron Horse Remodeling for your remodeling needs, especially if you are looking for honesty, courtesy, friendliness and excellent, professional service. Thank you Wes...Iron Horse is definitely the BEST!!!

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks for the business Cheryl! You were a pleasure to work for and hope to do many more projects for you as they come up. Thanks Again, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

tinajones

Reviews: 1

Horrible Work Ethic

Horrible company work ethic.. Never returned phone calls or emails... Promised deadlines but never met them... Think they took on too many jobs and just went around promising whatever the customers wanted... Heed the warning- Go elsewhere!!

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

I've never figured out who you are or why you wrote the things you did. I think my reputation based on all my reviews speak for themselves. Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

homeupdates

Reviews: 2

Excellent Work on Exterior Mods

Wes and team are great. I had an exterior door moved, new steps installed, siding and roof overhangs installed. Wes is very prompt, courteous, and flexible. The work looks great and I would definitely use them again.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thank you Jack for letting us do your projects. Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

JDWood

Reviews: 7

Very happy customer

Wes, Bill, and Steve came to my house today and quickly knocked out three projects that have been on my to-do list for a LONG time! Wes fit me into his schedule quickly, and his pricing was very competitive. To top it all off, the quality of work was excellent, and all of the guys were very friendly. Wes seems to have assembled a high quality team with skills that cover many different areas of home renovation/repair. The three projects they completed for me today were to rebuild columns on my front porch, replace rotting interior window trim, and caulking a bathtub. This was my first experience with Iron Horse, and I will definitely turn to them for future projects.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks Mary for your business. I'm very lucky to have such great guys working for me who are not only skilled in what they do but are also courteous to the customers. We look forward to doing your next project. Thanks, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

HomeOwner123

Reviews: 10

Very pleased, will use again...

We hired Iron Horse to remodel a utility room, a kitchen and a bathroom. The work ranged from floors and paint, to wall removal, to complete tear out and rebuild (the bathroom). The work is now complete, and we are extremely happy with both the final results, and the experience working with Iron Horse. Wes and his team were a pleasure to work with and very flexible from a scheduling perspective. They were also very willing to adjust plans with reasonable change orders as our desires changed. His tile team is particularly good and very detail oriented. I have to believe that any reasonable home owner would be very satisfied working with Iron Horse and I will certainly use them again for future projects.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks for the review Dan. We enjoyed working on your project for numerous reasons but mostly because you were so easy to work for! Your walk-in shower tile was a challenge since you had so many design features and am happy you were pleased upon completion of the project. Thanks Again, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mhshph

Reviews: 2

Garage Doors - look great

Wes quickly turned around an incredible quote for some very stylish new garage doors and got them installed right away. This is the 2nd project he's done for me and I will continue to go to him for good deals, customer service, and reliable workers that he always puts on the job.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thank you Sandy for choosing us for your project. Your project was a little challenging since you had bought Ikea cabinets off Ebay and we had to make them fit into your kitchen layout from someone elses. We managed to make it work and you guys were pleased with the project...mission accomplished! Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mireland

Reviews: 3

Great overall home improvement company!

Wes and his team did a great job in replacing our rotted kitchen subfloor and replaced the kitchen door and basement door without problems. He made all the projects go smoothly and timely. He was easy to get in touch with and had immediate responses when you had any questions or concerns. We were very pleased with the overall outcome of the project and won't hesitate to contact him for any future projects.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks for the review Micaela. We appreciate the business and hope you will choose us for future projects. Thanks, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Scooterpooh

Reviews: 3

Horrible communication

Tried to get a estimate for kitchen remodel. All was well until he stopped responding to my emails when I was making an appointment. So I tried calling instead. Made an appointment but he never showed up. I called back an he did not remember making an appointment or even any of the conversations we had. Made no attempt to make up for lack of communication. I would not trust this guy if your time is important to you.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

splibrarian

Reviews: 5

5+ stars! Extremely happy with outcome.

Remodeled circa 1955/1975 kitchen (installed new cabinets, appliances & lights; removed load-bearing walls between kitchen & family room). Lot of custom molding/trim to match to the rest of the house. We called Wes because of Kudzu reviews and were not disappointed; in fact, they exceeded our expectations. 1st: His estimate was the most affordable. 2nd: Great attention to detail, especially in framing & woodwork. High praise to Wes, Bill, Steve, Pedro, Franco, Luis & Tommy for their excellent workmanship, input, & accommodation of changes that inevitably arose during the process. Plus, they all were SO nice! They helped us achieve our design goals w/o busting our wallet. If we ever do another big renovation, we certainly will call them again.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks for the kind words Jerry. I can't think of any customers that have been as enjoyable to work with as you and Teresa. All my guys and myself spent so much time on your project that we really got to know you and how wonderful you guys are! It makes us happy to know you guys will enjoy the kitchen transformation everyday and are pleased with the end result. Thanks, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

smthomas

Reviews: 1

Very Happy Customer

We had Wes and his crew install recessed lights in our kitchen, as well as replace some door frames. They were all so professional and easy to work with. The lights and doorways look great. We will definitely use them again.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate the business and enjoyed working with you! Sincerely, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Adele819

Reviews: 3

Can't even get a quote....

EDIT: After receiving an email from Wes after posting this review, I am changing it to 3 stars based on his explanation. He further explained why he couldn't meet with us. We will still not be proceeding with him due to his scheduling conflicts. He also learned he needs to communicate better with his potential clients. - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - I can only review on service and based on his overall rating, I'm extremely dissatisfied with the level of service he is willing to offer. I was only trying to setup a quote for a major kitchen remodel. My husband and I both work full-time, so I asked for some flexibility around that. We could do early morning (7 am), evenings or weekends. After numerous tries at requesting dates and times, he finally just said he will pass on the estimate. He couldn't accomodate earlier than 8am in the morning, no evenings and apparently travels out of town every weekend. It's unfortunate that he was not more interested in obtaining work. I guess he must be completely satisfied with his business now. I would not try to contact again based on that level of service.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MDelosky

Reviews: 5

Poor communication and broken promises.

EDIT: I've updated my 1's to 3's after speaking with Wes about the miscommunication. We will have him come back to give us a quote on our work and can hopefully change the 3's to 5's! --- After multiple emails trying to schedule an appointment, we finally agree on a time and they never showed up, never called to say they couldn't make it. Very disappointing.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

We just finished an upper floor for the Delosky's on 7-8-11 after we cleared up the miscommunication in their review. We spent about 12 days on the project and they were extremely happy with the work preformed. Regards, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

michael1066

Reviews: 22

Requested a Quote

I requested a quote on work that needed to be done. Thanks you very much. I appreciate all your help.

Iron Horse Remodeling replied on 08-23-2011

Your welcome. Thanks, Wes Mahaffey

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 20




Tile Project by Iron Horse Remodeling - Before