Make-A-Move

4 star rating 27 Reviews

(404) 437-6338 Call

Write a Review Write a Review

3600 Dallas HighwayMarietta, GA 30064

Reviews

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  vkishore12345

    Reviews: 1

    Worst Movers Ever
    vkishore12345 (1 review)
    8/16/2017

    I received a quote of around 9000$ for moving my household items. The executive asked me to pay 25% to schedule the move. I made 50% of payment using one credit card and the remaining 50% using the other credit card. Within 48 hours of the payment, I asked the sales executive to reschedule the move which he did and later again I told him to hold the move until I provide him a pick date due to issues at the pickup location. The issues at the pickup location were not resolved so I informed the executive to cancel the move and issue the refund. The executive told that he will hold 25% of the deposit which he did not mention as deposit till then. I tried to call the executive on the same day multiple times to know the processing time for refund but he did not return my calls so I disputed the charges on both the credit cards. 1. Ever since I requested for cancellation, they stopped responding to my calls/text messages/emails. They even blocked my number. 2. They never mentioned about terms and conditions or shared any agreement about 25 % of the payment. The merchant is saying now as 25 % is the deposit is non-refundable. 3. It has been around 4 months and still they did not issue any chargeback on the credit cards. Even if he thinks of holding 25% of the deposit, he should have refunded the charge back on both the credit cards by now but he lied to one of the credit card disputes saying that he already provided the service. I am still fighting for refund

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Raychellane

    Reviews: 1

    Do not use this company!!!!
    Raychellane (1 review)
    7/28/2017

    Horrible!!! Ruined all my furniture and wouldn't give me their insurance information! Lazy workers! If you care about your things do not use this company! So much of my furniture damaged! Horrible customer service! They give u the run around for weeks! DO NOT use make a move movers!!!

    More »

    Project Details

    Moving company

    Area Acworth, GA

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Make-A-Move replied on 7/28/2017

    Ms. Yoder,

    We appreciate your business but your review is a clear reflection of your unwillingness to be fair and honest. We only provided loading services for you locally. We did not transport your items. Once we have loaded your items, we cannot be responsible for any potential damages that may occur in transport based off the fact that our company is not transporting your items nor providing the transporting vehicle while your items are in transit. What we caused was a minor scuff on your refrigerator door which we are more than willing to help you with, as we already communicated openly to you via email and phone. To state that all of your furniture was damaged in transport is grossly exaggerated and could only happen if the transporting company you hired drove off a bridge. Your solution is simple as we explained. All you have to do is simply contact the company you hired to transport your items as they are liable. Regarding us and what we have already discussed with you, all you have to do is provide us the manufacturing make and model of the refrigerator so that we can look into repairs for the scuff. Until you do that it's impossible to help you. Since then all you've done is make threats to steal services by chargeback attempt (which is a criminal offense) instead of simply coordinating the scuff repair. We have been in business for over decade and this could not be true if we didn't help our customers. Also, as a result of being in business this long, we can quickly recognize when a customer doesn't really want to resolve any challenges but more so is looking to commit something underhanded. If this is not so, just provide the needed info for us to help.

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Tripp2015

    Reviews: 1

    Criminal Warrant for Owner: Robert Settle
    Tripp2015 (1 review)
    4/13/2017

    Before hiring this company, take a close look at the criminal warrant issued in Cobb County for 1 of the owners (see below): Case ID: 17-W-1237 Docket Start Date: Docket Ending Date: Case Description Case ID: 17-W-1237 - STATE V SETTLE, ROBERT Filing Date: Tuesday , February 07th, 2017 Type: WA - WARRANT Status: none Case Parties DEFENDANT SETTLE, ROBERT Address: 3600 DALLAS HWY, 230-113 MARIETTA GA 30064 Aliases: none 07-FEB-2017 12:20 PM BAD CHECK AMOUNT DUE Entry: COURT COST $67.50 + PRINCIPAL $123.50 + SERVICE CHARGE $50.00= $241.00 DUE 07-FEB-2017 12:20 PM BOND SET Entry: none. Settle, Robert 1 03-NOV-2016 16-9-20 DEPOSIT ACCOUNT FRAUD

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Make-A-Move replied on 4/18/2017

    Please disregard. This is a former employee from 2016 that we hired for a large project. It turned out that the employee did not have a valid license or bank account to process his payment for services during the project. We regret hiring him as he was referred by a trusted employee. This is a false claim that has been dismissed by cobb county. Our reputation is something we take very seriously and therefore considered it important to reply. Thank you for your business and for your review of our sincere reply. Please view his horrible reviews by looking up Smith's moving, llc. Through research we have discovered that he has attempted similar threats and extortionist acts towards other employers. His reviews are similar to the actions he apparently premeditates regarding his customers and contractors alike.

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  dallas1962

    Reviews: 1

    horrible!!!
    dallas1962 (1 review)
    2/04/2016

    Beware of using this "company". They damaged all of our furniture with no response to crediting us or fixing it. We were quoted for 5 hours of moving and charged for 10. My husband paid it since they knew where we live and he felt threatened. Just use an actual company.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  PlaneLaine

    Reviews: 1

    Exceptional service
    PlaneLaine (1 review)
    10/17/2015

    Every aspect of my dealings with Make-A-Move was flawless, from Roderick, who came out to give me an estimate, to Eugene and the crew that did the actual move. The price was much lower than any of the other estimates I got. Everyone was professional and knowledgeable. Crew was on time and very efficient. I highly recommend this company!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  NicoleCapo

    Reviews: 1

    Best In Town
    NicoleCapo (1 review)
    9/04/2015

    Make a Move company did a great job helping my family and I move into our new home! I have told everyone about them!!!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Kevsmiles

    Reviews: 1

    Great Referral
    Kevsmiles (1 review)
    9/19/2014

    Make-A-Move was referred to my wife through Emory University. These guys were great and their pricing is fair. They came out to our house and did a walk through and gave us an estimate on the spot. They took time to explain the process involved with our move. They came the day prior to our move and packed our kitchen and bedrooms and the next day they moved us from Decatur to Dalton. we had a really simple and professional experience so I wanted to pass along my thoughts as we have now settled in. Thanks from the Smileys!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Tommytomcarter

    Reviews: 1

    Great Value
    Tommytomcarter (1 review)
    8/11/2014

    We experienced a long process when searching for our new home. We researched and spoke with so many different people during the purchase of our home that our heads were spinning. So when it came time to move we were at a loss as to what to do. Luckily our realtor recommended these guys. Unexpectedly our move was one of the easier parts of the process. These guys made it real simple and at a fair price. Good people too...Communication level was high. I learned what a "master mover" is as they have one of each moving crew. Great job guys

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  AtlHomemaker

    Reviews: 1

    Suprise fees and partial workers
    AtlHomemaker (1 review)
    7/29/2014

    This was a terrible experience. The movers called to tell me they were going to be about half an hour late. They finally showed up at 1 hour and 15 mins late, and the only excuse was that there was "bad traffic" (at 10 am in the morning) The crew was supposed to be 4 people, but it turned out to be 3. I did get a discounted price on the 3 movers, but 1 of the 3 spent most of his time on his cell phone and "organizing supplies" in the truck. I doubt it take 3 hours to fold blankets. 3rd member of the team also walked into the residence, without asking pugged his cell phone and took many phone calls during the appointment. There is also the additional fees. Despite letting the company know about the steep driveway at the initial booking, it did not occur to anyone to mention that there could be an extra fee associate with that until we were AT the new house with a truck full of items. I was told that the on site person had to "access" the house to determine if the fee was necessary. If there is a possible extra fee, that should be disclosed ahead of time. So the options are pay the extra fee or the all the items at the curb. Terrible, horrible service all around.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

    Make-A-Move replied on 7/31/2014

    We are disappointed to read this review. Here are a few points that may have been considered: 1. You were given a time slot for arrival which is an hour and 1/2 window.The crew arrived within that time slot. 2. You requested to have your crew size reduced from 4 to 3 men thus changing your hourly rate. 3. It is uncommon for a customer to want an hourly rate to move an entire house but we did it in 5 hours. The average house move of your size is 6-8 hours. The crew chief must stay on the truck to load safely, maximize space and ensure that your items arrive to your destination without damage. 4. The potential fees were disclosed and are standard and yes, the crew chief must do a walk through to assess potential fees because you denied to have a site survey done for a house move. We cannot predict what you have in and at both residences without seeing it. 5. As mentioned during our follow up phone call yesterday, we apologize for the crew member speaking on his phone/plugging his phone into an outlet within your home. This is in direct violation of our policies and disciplinary action has been taken. 6. Most importantly, per our conversation, your move was completed safely and efficiently with no damages. We spoke with you several times during the move to address your concerns and even discounted some fees simply for good faith and offered you a gift card to thank you for your business. We take pride in our reputation and we deeply appreciate your business. There was a reason why you were referred to us. Quality of Service and reputation. Although, this review presents our company in a negative light, we appreciate your feedback.

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Keene70

    Reviews: 1

    Best House Movers in town
    Keene70 (1 review)
    1/21/2014

    This company just moved my wife and I from N. Atlanta to Snellville and it was a wonderful experience. We are a military family so we've moved a lot in the last 15 years or so and I've seen it all. By far Make-A-Move has been the overall experience as far as communication, promptness, cost, and people. We went from a 5 bedroom to a 6 bedroom without any of the typical issues I've come to expect with moving. I am recommending them to our relocation department.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  TheCustomerIsAlwaysRight

    Reviews: 1

    THE WORST MOVING COMPANY EVER!!
    TheCustomerIsAlwaysRight (1 review)
    1/20/2014

    Please save yourself the heartache and NEVER use this company. A few things I experienced: They don't have trucks - they showed up in a Uhaul with one guy & his friend They won't fix anything they damage!!! - They have ignored my calls, and disregarded my attempts to follow up on them repairing damage they admitted doing to my door! They don't have an office - the phone number dialed a guy in his car blasting Rap music when I called to follow up on the damage mentioned above. This is a ONE man company that will call a friend and rent a Uhaul to move you but charge you professional prices. Trust me, Avoid this company at all costs. It's worth paying $50-$200 more for piece of mind!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (2)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  coryjoven

    Reviews: 1

    Not your average moving company
    coryjoven (1 review)
    6/24/2013

    I tried other moving companies in the past. Everything from cheap labor to hungover college kids showed up at my door. Once I used Make a Move I vowed, I would never use another company again. They did everything by the book and professionally. Any request I made they immediately did. They made sure I was happy and left no box unmoved. They even took my donated bags to Goodwill for me. You guys are great!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  Floydj

    Reviews: 1

    Relocation for mom goes without a hitch
    Floydj (1 review)
    6/20/2013

    Mom has been taking care of the house for years now on her own. We needed a company who would relocate her and be careful with some of the antique furniture. We also needed to make the 250 mile move to Atlanta without breaking the bank. Half of the furniture went to our house, and the other half went to mom's assisted living home. It was easy to show the crew which furniture went where. Johnny was a pleasure to deal with.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  joannaeve

    Reviews: 1

    Quick and reliable service
    joannaeve (1 review)
    6/19/2013

    I needed to move in a hurry and have my home office operational without missing a day. I moved on a Wednesday, and had all of my computer equipment setup and working the very next day. They labeled the office and computer equipment boxes so that everything could be unpacked and setup with no downtime to my clients.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Make-A-Move - Marietta, GA -  anntaylor

    Reviews: 1

    Be Careful
    anntaylor (1 review)
    6/18/2013

    On 6/18 I shared how I had a horrible experience with Make-A-Move, and they immediately responded that they were apologetic and going to handle the matter. I felt better after reading the post. Well, it is 8/15 and I still have not received any compensation, in fact, the manager is claiming that because my desk was manufactured by "Ikea" they won't cover it. So be careful. You might as well let your little brothers move your items for the cost of a a steak and shake than to pay these guys. Their word means nothing - don't be fooled.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

    Make-A-Move replied on 6/19/2013

    If you are doing a move within Georgia, you have three valuation options available. (Please note that movers are not insurance agents and are not licensed to sell insurance). Instead, movers have valuation which is a contractual limit of liability. Every mover in Georgia uses the same form called The Addendum to Uniform Household Goods Bill of Lading. It is required to be signed prior to the move. Most people choose Option1 because it is included at no additional cost. It has a maximum payout of $300.00. Option 2A is available for purchase at a rate of $11.30 per thousand with a $0 deductible. Option 2B has a premium of $3.75 per thousand but comes with a $300.00 deductible. The guidelines for additional valuation state that a minimum of $5000.00 per room be purchased. Imagine that your 10 room house is completely empty. In this case, you would purchase $50,000.00. More coverage is available should the situation warrant. Some people say that they are moving , but they only want coverage for the TV's. You have to cover the entire shipment. Here's an example, State Farm will not allow you to just insure the stereo in your car; they require you to cover the entire vehicle. Whenever we sell a move, we are ethically bound to discuss all valuation options with the customer and require a signed form prior to the move date. .Now, to the customer's review. Unfortunately, some damage did occur, and the customer selected Option 1. No lies were told to the customer, and she completed the valuation form and returned it prior to her move date. The customer made a willful decision without influence. After the move, the customer filed a claim. Based on the customer's selection, $300.00 maximum payout, we are more than happy to honor the contractual agreement and will send the customer a check for the amount that is neccary to cover damages up to $300.00. To cite another example, some people purchase liability only insurance for their automobile. If they have an at-fault accident, State Farm will not repair their vehicle because they haven't purchased additional coverage. We have tried on many occaisons to speak with Ms.Taylor to take care of the problem. The movers were on time and ready to work. We as a company wavied fees for Ms.Taylor's move. Ms.Taylor asked for 2/men and we sent 3/men to get the move done in a safe and timely fashion. Ms.Taylor's total for the move was $475.00 We have treated this customer with fairness, honesty and integrity.


Business details

Moving Supplies

  • Boxes
  • Carts & Dollies
  • Dish Packs
  • General Equipment & Supplies
  • Packing Supplies
  • Padding & Quilts
  • Ropes
  • Stretch-Wrap
  • Tape
  • Wardrobe Boxes

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Buckhead
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cobb County
  • Crabapple
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Greenbriar
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Local Service Area

  • Local
  • Long-Distance
  • Regional

Move Types

  • Commercial & Office Moves
  • Computer Moves
  • Confidential Moves
  • Display & Exhibit Moves
  • Do-It-Yourself Moves
  • Emergency & Short-Notice
  • Employee Relocations
  • Estate Moves
  • Hi-Rise Moves
  • Intra-Office
  • Mountain Home Moves
  • Moving & Relocation - General
  • Pianos
  • Residential Moves
  • Senior Moves
  • Single-Piece Moves
  • Small Load Moves
  • Trade Show Moves

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • 9:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SUN
  • 9:00pm
  • 5:00pm

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Money Orders
  • Paypal
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

2005

Languages Spoken

  • English

Photos

Album: Trucks for moves large and small!
1 of 6




Moving Trucks