Matthew's Tree Service Inc.

Matthew's Tree Service Inc. Lawn Care & Grounds Maintenance
Phone: (770) 926-7985
Email: Email this business
Website: matthewstreeservice.com
Matthew's Tree Service Inc. Matthew's Tree Service Inc. : Lawn Care & Grounds Maintenance, Atlanta, GA


Reviews
Reviews: 2

Posted on 12/5/2013

Extremely satisfied
This was top-notch service and very professional. On time, safe, and at a good price. He also followed up later to remove the stump as promised.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 1

Posted on 11/7/2013

Unprofessional and rude
We had a tree fall on our house earlier in the year & I called Matthew's Tree Service because of the good reviews on Kudzu. I wish I hadn't. The whole process was a fiasco & there is not enough room to write the whole story, I've put some examples below:

-Arrived 2-3 hours later than what I was told

-Crew argued loudly amongst themselves, made us uncomfortable

-Rolled logs from tree down landscaped retaining wall. Cracked & chipped bricks and ruined plants

-A "mason" came to fix wall, did not replace chipped bricks and mortar slopped on top of wall

-Matthew yelled and hung up on me when I asked to have the wall redone. I was also told the chipped bricks were already there and the vegetation was going to grow over the wall anyway (it doesn't, we keep it trimmed)

-Exorbitant pricing

-Called me "hun" throughout process

-Office people were rude

-Had to call several times to get a call back and got rushed off the phone or hung up on more than once.

-And last, but certainly not least, Matthew said he didn't care if I died from cancer.

I assure you that everything above is true and I suggest you stay as far away from Matthew's Tree Service as possible.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Matthew's Tree Service Inc. replied on 11-21-2013
I had a feeling this couple would be writing a negative review, just not 6-months after the date of service. I received a call from Ms Christine: Sunday, May 5, 2013 stating that a large (36”) oak fell across their house. Since they were staying in a hotel nearby, I informed her that I would round up a crew & head over giving an hour notice.
Being Sunday, I waited for crew members to leave church, head to the office, pick up equipment, & head toward the jobsite. We were actually early bringing out a crane, bucket truck, grapple/log truck, chipper & (7) men. It took (16) hours over 2 days to safely remove the tree from the house.
I was onsite the entire time. Crew members communicated back & forth loudly over the sound of equipment running…not arguing.
A log did roll during the (16) hour process. A mason repaired the fifty year old brick wall using the same matching material on site. The wall was full of chips from age. Your husband approved the final result.
Sorry about the “Hun.” It’s an old Southern habit from being raised in Georgia. I never meant to offend you.
As a preferred provider; my fees follow the strict guidelines set by your homeowner’s insurance company. They paid the bill in full without question. My office manager was direct when it became clear that you refused to sign the check over to us after holding it for 6 weeks.
Additional (elective) tree service was requested by you, & a detailed signed contract obtained. When it came time to pay that bill, you wanted me to add non-emergency tree work into the original bill with the insurance company. When I refused, your husband claimed ignorance due to being “foreign” and not understanding. He also stated that because you were “pregnant;” you didn’t understand what you were signing. Strange since he runs an American business.
As far as the cancer statement: You told my daughter via speaker phone that you hope that I would die of cancer. Why? I never could figure that out. If you have/had cancer; I was never informed...but wish you well if you do/did. The Quality, Service & Value of our work was 5-stars. In my opinion, it is sad that you gave 1-star due to any grievance you have with me as a person.
Reviews: 3

Posted on 9/13/2013

Rude and inconsiderate
We received very poor customer service from Matthew's tree service. We had a day scheduled for our job but they would not commit to any time. We were forced to wait all day and they never showed up. After calling Matthew he said our job wasn't on the schedule and they would come out the next day at 3. We waited and then were told they would come at 6. At 6 we were told they wouldn't make it until the next day. On the next day we called to verify and Matthew said they would be there today or tomorrow. I told him how difficult it was to constantly change our schedule with jobs and young children and no time window given. I asked for a discount on the price and he hung up on me.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Matthew's Tree Service Inc. replied on 09-13-2013
When “BTurchin” approved his job & a request for (Wednesday anytime, Thursday after 3:30pm & Friday 8am- 3:30pm) was sought by his wife by email; our scheduler informed them that we already booked a large 3-day job for those dates, however, if possible; we could have the crew stop over either at the beginning or tail end of one of the work days. We made an effort to keep in contact both Wednesday & Thursday, running out of daylight both days, but being able to get the crew scheduled for Friday at 9am. I was standing in Matthew’s office when BTurchin called at 8:25am to check the ETA & request a discount for being “inconvenienced.” Matthew calmly said NO, and did not hang up. BTurchin continued to talk and requested the discount again. Matthew again calmly said NO, but stated that we could “reroute the crew if he no longer needed our services.” BTurchin stated “no, he wanted them to come on.” When our crew leader arrived on site 10 minutes later, he was asked to leave the property. We then received a text from BTurchin cancelling the job & mentioning that he was going to leave a negative review on Kudzu. Bottom line: we stayed in contact & we made every effort to accommodate their requested time frame; though they knew we were already booked. We were never once rude, though we were being yelled at by both husband and wife at the same time. I wish them the best of luck with their project. This has definitely been a Friday the 13th moment.
Reviews: 2

Posted on 9/7/2013

Great Tree Service (A+)
I had been having problems with squirrels climbing up two of my large size cedar trees located on my front lawn and using the trees as a way to get into my attic. Also one of the trees was growing over outside wires. Frustrated by the squirrel activity in my attic and the wires, I contacted Matthew’s Tree Service, Inc. to get an estimate on removing the two trees. Matthew came to my home to look at the trees and he called me at work and gave me a great estimate for removing the two cedars. Their crew was removing the trees the next day. The service was awesome and the removal of the trees was completed in a very short period of time. I came home from work and the trees were history and I was very happy. Matthew’s team is very professional and they cleaned up all of the debris and the front of my property looked great. Matthew’s tree service “team of pros” knows their job and no more squirrels.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 1

Posted on 7/24/2013

Poor Quality – Exorbitant Price – Rude
I called Matthew’s Tree Service to get a price to prune a small tree (~10 ft tall) in my front yard. I explained during my call that the tree was very small. Matthew called me a few days later from my house (I was not home at the time) to say that he could prune the small tree on the spot for $175 saving the time and expense of sending a full crew.

I agreed and arrived home that evening to see a tree that looked almost identical to how it looked before. Only a few branches at the bottom had been cut. My wife, who was home at the time, told me Matthew spends only about 20 minutes at our home and only about half of that time (10 min) working on our tree.

I reached out to Matthew amicably to try to understand what had occurred. He completely ignored my first inquiry. When I called, he was rude, loud and even hung up the phone in the middle of our conversation. He claims he told me he’d only cut the back the bottom which is not the case. I would have never agreed to that for $175. I know a few Manhattan attorneys that charge $1050 per hour, but not too many gardeners.

I ended up asking the subdivision’s lawn crew about the tree. Using a 6 ft ladder, one of the crew did an excellent drop of pruning the ENTIRE in under an hour. I wish I’d have contacted them first.

Perhaps Mathew is just not set-up for small jobs. I’d have preferred if they had just told me that upfront. Instead, I was gouged and disrespected.

Buyer beware!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Matthew's Tree Service Inc. replied on 10-01-2013
My office received a call from Mr. “SaavyShopping” requesting a quote to trim one hardwood tree on the left side of the driveway & spread fresh pine straw in the front & side beds. When my assistant & I arrived; the hardwood tree was actually a small Eastern redbud tree. While speaking with Mr. “SS’s” wife; I informed her that since we typically have a $350 minimum to send a crew out, I could prune the bottom limbs that were overhanging the front walkway and sidewalk for her while I was there for $175. I was also able to speak with Mr. “SS” via telephone to let him know that with pruning the bottom limbs; I would be raising the canopy & also able to prune as high as 6.5 ft. The tree was quite small & in full sun, so taking more than 10% would not be in the best interest of the tree. Mr. “SS” stated that would be fine; they were having 100 family members in town for a family reunion & wanted everything spruced up. As an Arborist, with 30 years in the Tree Service business, (not a gardener), I carefully hand-pruned the redbud tree, constantly stepping back to check its shape & balance. It took approx 15 minutes to complete the task of at least 50 cuts, creating a large pile of clippings. Mrs. “SS” stepped out to inspect & gave her approval on a job well done. My assistant wrote up the invoice & Mrs. “SS” handed her the check. When we drove off, everyone was happy. The next day; I received an email from Mr. “SS” asking to explain the cost of pruning such a small tree that he felt could have “easily been done with a man, a saw, & an 8ft ladder.” I was tied up with emergency calls from 2 recent storms & was unable to call him back during business hours. We were finally able to speak a few days later while I was en route to assist with a tree on a house. When I tried to calmly discuss the above information with Mr. “SS;” he continually spoke over me, with a raised voice, to the point that I couldn’t get a word in edgewise. I did NOT hang up on him. My call was dropped due to terrible reception in the area, due to the storms, where I was driving. My assistant tried over & over to connect without success. When we got back to the office; Mr. “SS” had left such a rude, hostile voicemail, that I decided not to contact him back. All I can say is: When I left his home that day; his wife was pleased with the results. I feel that the careful, attentive hand-pruning job that I provided left a beautiful, natural result to how this ornamental tree should appear. If Mr. “SS” was looking for a gardener or butcher; I’m perplexed to understand why he contacted a professional tree service.
1 to 5 of 270

Put in your 2 cents. Write a review and tell everyone how you felt about this business or service professional.

Is this your business? Would you like to respond to a review? Reply now through your Business Center.



Other home services categories in Atlanta, GA
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.