Business overview

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Reviews

View More »

Most inept and agrivating billing staff around, 2/01/2011

After repeated attempts to determine the balance on our orthodontic bill, we stopped auto draft at our bank. In reviewing the audit obtained from billing staff it showed balance of $257. They said... we owed $642 because the auto drafts had been returned. After paying the $642 on next visit they would not make an appointment because we now owed $138 the original monthly payment. Adding all we paid along with what their audit said the insurance had paid the total is $174 over the total amount. The billing staff treats us as if we were stupid for pointing this out from their own papers. I'll never do business with Nanston again as soon as my daughter gets her braces off.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Wonderful dentist, poor administrative staff, 12/20/2010

A too common problem: "Good help hard to find" holds true? Flawed business model ("corporate" dental treatment)? My family uses 3 Nanston (now Great Expressions) offices. Corporate Square: Dr.... Downer - gentle, professional, shows utmost concern for patients. Ditto hygienist Jennifer. Sparkling clean office, almost always runs on time. Midtown: Husband's choice near his office. He's happy. Decatur: Oral surgeon Jay Patel (son's tooth implant) -- absolutely incredible. Daughter will have her wisdom teeth extracted by him, too. However, I had a root canal with another dentist in this office. He will not come near my mouth with a sharp tool again! Unprofessional, inane chit chat with assistant the whole time; rough (chair shook!); post-treatment pain for 3 days (not my first root canal, so I didn't expect this) Administrative issues: -Phone system - most Byzantine, frustrating labyrinth ever encountered. Impossible to call your "treatment coordinator" directly. All paths lead to appointments line, transfers, holds, voice mail. -Turnover appears high. -"Receptionists" trying to appear knowledgeable give out misinformation re: treatment plan. -Odd procedure: After treatment (even with throbbing root canal), wit in waiting area until bookkeeper calls you to pay. Longest wait of visit! -"Up-sell" and marketing (NOT by dentist but by business office reps reading charts). This is common everywhere now. Overall: OK for dental treatment, not for your mental health!

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 1-7 of 7

Reviews

irate_parent

Reviews: 2

Most inept and agrivating billing staff around

After repeated attempts to determine the balance on our orthodontic bill, we stopped auto draft at our bank. In reviewing the audit obtained from billing staff it showed balance of $257. They said we owed $642 because the auto drafts had been returned. After paying the $642 on next visit they would not make an appointment because we now owed $138 the original monthly payment. Adding all we paid along with what their audit said the insurance had paid the total is $174 over the total amount. The billing staff treats us as if we were stupid for pointing this out from their own papers. I'll never do business with Nanston again as soon as my daughter gets her braces off.

Nanston Dental Group replied on 02-04-2011

I am a Patient Advocate with Nanston/Great Expressions Dental. As we strive to improve our service, patient feedback is a critical part of this process. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and that you have decided to leave Nanston.
If you would not mind, we would like to assist or at least be given the opportunity to offer some explanation or resolution.
Please email me through the Contact Us form on our website or call me directly at 1-888-SMILE80 ex. 1123 so that I can try to help.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

ATLconsumer721

Reviews: 1

Wonderful dentist, poor administrative staff

A too common problem: "Good help hard to find" holds true? Flawed business model ("corporate" dental treatment)? My family uses 3 Nanston (now Great Expressions) offices. Corporate Square: Dr. Downer - gentle, professional, shows utmost concern for patients. Ditto hygienist Jennifer. Sparkling clean office, almost always runs on time. Midtown: Husband's choice near his office. He's happy. Decatur: Oral surgeon Jay Patel (son's tooth implant) -- absolutely incredible. Daughter will have her wisdom teeth extracted by him, too. However, I had a root canal with another dentist in this office. He will not come near my mouth with a sharp tool again! Unprofessional, inane chit chat with assistant the whole time; rough (chair shook!); post-treatment pain for 3 days (not my first root canal, so I didn't expect this) Administrative issues: -Phone system - most Byzantine, frustrating labyrinth ever encountered. Impossible to call your "treatment coordinator" directly. All paths lead to appointments line, transfers, holds, voice mail. -Turnover appears high. -"Receptionists" trying to appear knowledgeable give out misinformation re: treatment plan. -Odd procedure: After treatment (even with throbbing root canal), wit in waiting area until bookkeeper calls you to pay. Longest wait of visit! -"Up-sell" and marketing (NOT by dentist but by business office reps reading charts). This is common everywhere now. Overall: OK for dental treatment, not for your mental health!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Ostrich

Reviews: 1

Fantastic Dental Team

Dr. Downer is the best dentist I have ever had. He is gentle and very professional. Desiree (his hygienist) is fantastic. I always feel welcome when I come for my cleanings and other services.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

bamalady29

Reviews: 1

BAD ORTHODONTIST!

My child was told at our consultation, that the gap in her top teeth would be closed all the way with braces. Now, 2 years later when her braces are about to be removed, i'm being told that her teeth are made that way, and that nothing can be done about it. Nanston is very shady!

Nanston Dental Group replied on 02-22-2010

Hi Bamalady29, I'm sorry to hear about this. Would you mind giving me a call? I can be reached at (678) 836-2255. Thank you, Kate Young

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MattGresham

Reviews: 1

Very SHADY!

Avoid at all costs. I went in for a basic cleaning (as I am a regular brusher, flosser, and go to the dentist on a regular basis) and came out with bleeding, sore gums, and a hefty bill. I had the same experience with the being stabbed in the gum until I was bleeding, all the while the hygienist is counting like she does not know what she is doing "1,1,2,1,3,4,4,4 (4 is when she really put some elbow into the stabbing and I bled even more to which she diagnosed "gingivitis in a few spots" Anybody's gums will bleed if you stab them with sharp metal. I have never ever had a dentist or hygienist do this sort of thing (I called my old dentist office later and was told this is not normal and I should report them). I was worried I would get an infection since my gums were so sore and had open wounds from the "gingivitis checkup". Then the dentist came in and to keep it brief, I honestly suspected he might be high. He was very odd when I asked him anything and barely answered and had a glazed sort of look on his face. Then I was told I needed to have my fillings replaced (I do not have fillings) and was pushed to sign an agreement to have them "set this up" that was astronomically expensive. I thankfully had wised up by this point and declined, especially when I saw the billing dept. (A very unkept looking lady with multiple piercings loads of black eye makeup and black fingernail polish).

Nanston Dental Group replied on 11-30-2009

Hi Matt, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry your visit to our office wasn't all you would have liked for it to be. While we will take to heart the comments you've made, I do feel I need to set the record straight on the procedure that the hygienist did. The clinical term is called Periodontal Screening and Recording (PSR for short). The numbers that the hygienist was calling out were being recorded in your health record. During the exam, a metal tool was being guided between your teeth and gums. The higher the number that was being called out, the deeper the tool was able to be inserted. Lower numbers are good and are a sign of healthy gums. This evaluation method is used throughout the dental industry. Gum disease is a very serious condition, and a precursor to many other health conditions.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

vanmichael

Reviews: 15

So Far, So Good

I switched dentists recently and now go to Corp Square Nanston dental (Desiree hygenist and Dr. Downer dentist). I moved so I wanted an intown dentist. I thought they were professional, kind, and not pushy (not trying to sell me products). I requested that I NOT get x-rays since my last dentist had sent over my medical records/dental records and Nanston obliged so I was happy with that. I had a 2nd visit to the Nanston Orthodontics and was happy w/their consultation. I recommended this group.

Nanston Dental Group replied on 11-30-2009

Hi VanMichael, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and welcome referrals of your family and friends! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

sdendinger

Reviews: 3

Worst Dental Experience of My Life

I went to this dentist office yesterday for a cleaning. It had been a little while since my last cleaning, but my teeth felt fine overall. I am a regular brusher and flosser and made an appointment for a regular cleaning. The office was located in between a Mexican apartment complex and a Chinese Restaurant. The office was very dirty and they made you sign some agreement that says if you miss an appointment or are late, they will charge you $20 every fifteen minutes. The hygentist then had the NERVE to be half an hour late to my appointment. She took some x-rays and almost cut me with the plate that she put in my mouth. She stared at the x-rays and was like, "I don't know if you need a level one or a level two." Level what? I told her I was simply there for an exam and a cleaning. She then took out this instrument and stabbed my gums to make them bleed. She then told me I had gingivitis and that they would be doing me a disservice by not doing a "deep tissue cleaning." The "dentist" then came in and was extremely rude and unprofessional. Perhaps she might want to consider taking the stud out of her nose before meeting patients. I told the dentist that I did not wish to have this proceedure done and that I just wanted a normal cleaning. After an hour long discussion they tried to get me to talk to their treatment plan coordinator. That was going to be another 20 mins. I bid them good day and will be going to a normal dentist.

Nanston Dental Group replied on 12-05-2009

Wow, Sdendinger. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our goal is to serve each patient at their scheduled appointment time, but unfortunately things come up. I'm sorry you needed to wait so long. Our dental hygiene visits typically include an oral examination, a periodontal screening, x-rays (as needed), and teeth polishing. The "stab" you were referring to was the periodontal screening where we use an instrument and guide it between your teeth and gums to measure the "pockets" of your gums. Your bone and gum tissue should fit snugly around your teeth like a turtleneck around your neck. When you have periodontal disease, this supporting tissue and bone is destroyed, forming "pockets" around the teeth. Over time, these pockets become deeper, providing a larger space in which bacteria can live. As bacteria develop around the teeth, they can accumulate and advance under the gum tissue. These deep pockets collect even more bacteria, resulting in further bone and tissue loss. Eventually, if too much bone is lost, the teeth will need to be extracted.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 13




Midtown office