Nanston Dental Group

13 Corporate Square 
Atlanta, GA 30329
Phone: (678) 973-4054
Website: www.greatexpressions.com
Nanston Dental Group Nanston Dental Group : Dentists & Dental Services, Atlanta, GA



Reviews
Reviews: 2

Posted on 2/1/2011

Most inept and agrivating billing staff around
After repeated attempts to determine the balance on our orthodontic bill, we stopped auto draft at our bank. In reviewing the audit obtained from billing staff it showed balance of $257. They said we owed $642 because the auto drafts had been returned. After paying the $642 on next visit they would not make an appointment because we now owed $138 the original monthly payment. Adding all we paid along with what their audit said the insurance had paid the total is $174 over the total amount. The billing staff treats us as if we were stupid for pointing this out from their own papers. I'll never do business with Nanston again as soon as my daughter gets her braces off.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Nanston Dental Group replied on 02-04-2011
I am a Patient Advocate with Nanston/Great Expressions Dental. As we strive to improve our service, patient feedback is a critical part of this process. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and that you have decided to leave Nanston.
If you would not mind, we would like to assist or at least be given the opportunity to offer some explanation or resolution.
Please email me through the Contact Us form on our website or call me directly at 1-888-SMILE80 ex. 1123 so that I can try to help.
Reviews: 1

Posted on 12/20/2010

Wonderful dentist, poor administrative staff
A too common problem: "Good help hard to find" holds true? Flawed business model ("corporate" dental treatment)?
My family uses 3 Nanston (now Great Expressions) offices.
Corporate Square: Dr. Downer - gentle, professional, shows utmost concern for patients. Ditto hygienist Jennifer. Sparkling clean office, almost always runs on time.
Midtown: Husband's choice near his office. He's happy.
Decatur: Oral surgeon Jay Patel (son's tooth implant) -- absolutely incredible. Daughter will have her wisdom teeth extracted by him, too.
However, I had a root canal with another dentist in this office. He will not come near my mouth with a sharp tool again! Unprofessional, inane chit chat with assistant the whole time; rough (chair shook!); post-treatment pain for 3 days (not my first root canal, so I didn't expect this)
Administrative issues:
-Phone system - most Byzantine, frustrating labyrinth ever encountered. Impossible to call your "treatment coordinator" directly. All paths lead to appointments line, transfers, holds, voice mail.
-Turnover appears high.
-"Receptionists" trying to appear knowledgeable give out misinformation re: treatment plan.
-Odd procedure: After treatment (even with throbbing root canal), wit in waiting area until bookkeeper calls you to pay. Longest wait of visit!
-"Up-sell" and marketing (NOT by dentist but by business office reps reading charts). This is common everywhere now.
Overall: OK for dental treatment, not for your mental health!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 1

Posted on 3/30/2010

Fantastic Dental Team
Dr. Downer is the best dentist I have ever had. He is gentle and very professional. Desiree (his hygienist) is fantastic. I always feel welcome when I come for my cleanings and other services.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 1

Posted on 2/20/2010

BAD ORTHODONTIST!
My child was told at our consultation, that the gap in her top teeth would be closed all the way with braces. Now, 2 years later when her braces are about to be removed, i'm being told that her teeth are made that way, and that nothing can be done about it. Nanston is very shady!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Nanston Dental Group replied on 02-22-2010
Hi Bamalady29, I'm sorry to hear about this. Would you mind giving me a call? I can be reached at (678) 836-2255. Thank you, Kate Young
Reviews: 1

Posted on 12/12/2008

Very SHADY!
Avoid at all costs.

I went in for a basic cleaning (as I am a regular brusher, flosser, and go to the dentist on a regular basis) and came out with bleeding, sore gums, and a hefty bill.

I had the same experience with the being stabbed in the gum until I was bleeding, all the while the hygienist is counting like she does not know what she is doing "1,1,2,1,3,4,4,4 (4 is when she really put some elbow into the stabbing and I bled even more to which she diagnosed "gingivitis in a few spots" Anybody's gums will bleed if you stab them with sharp metal. I have never ever had a dentist or hygienist do this sort of thing (I called my old dentist office later and was told this is not normal and I should report them).
I was worried I would get an infection since my gums were so sore and had open wounds from the "gingivitis checkup".
Then the dentist came in and to keep it brief, I honestly suspected he might be high. He was very odd when I asked him anything and barely answered and had a glazed sort of look on his face.
Then I was told I needed to have my fillings replaced (I do not have fillings) and was pushed to sign an agreement to have them "set this up" that was astronomically expensive. I thankfully had wised up by this point and declined, especially when I saw the billing dept. (A very unkept looking lady with multiple piercings loads of black eye makeup and black fingernail polish).
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Nanston Dental Group replied on 11-30-2009
Hi Matt, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry your visit to our office wasn't all you would have liked for it to be. While we will take to heart the comments you've made, I do feel I need to set the record straight on the procedure that the hygienist did. The clinical term is called Periodontal Screening and Recording (PSR for short). The numbers that the hygienist was calling out were being recorded in your health record. During the exam, a metal tool was being guided between your teeth and gums. The higher the number that was being called out, the deeper the tool was able to be inserted. Lower numbers are good and are a sign of healthy gums. This evaluation method is used throughout the dental industry. Gum disease is a very serious condition, and a precursor to many other health conditions.
1 to 5 of 7

Put in your 2 cents. Write a review and tell everyone how you felt about this business or service professional.

Is this your business? Would you like to respond to a review? Reply now through your Business Center.

Kudzu Category Sponsors

Coupons
Dierkes J Michael DDS
Receive 30% off children's orthodontic records.
ex 06/10/2014  |  view coupon »
Chamblee Dental Care
1 Tooth Extraction.
Regular Price $220

*Limited Time only. Not valid with Insurance.
Cannot Combine Coupons.
Expires 03/31/2014

Chamblee Dental Care Ph: 770 936 0833
ex 05/31/2014  |  view coupon »


Other home services categories in Atlanta, GA
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.