Penney Brothers Reconstruction

311 Christy Dr 
Dallas, GA 30157
Phone: (678) 235-9100
Website: www.penneybrothers.com
Penney Brothers Reconstruction Penney Brothers Reconstruction : Handyman Services, Dallas, GA



Reviews
Reviews: 5

Posted on 8/5/2013

Not such a good deal!
The one man for 8hrs or two for 4hrs is somewhat of a ripoff. These guys cannot complete any thing significant. I wanted a front door replaced just your standard size nothing fancy, no glass. They said it would take two men and they would maybe be able to finish in 4hrs. Scratch that I had the door delivered and installed by the same company for $300, one man in under 2.5 hrs. he even had to make some adjustments to the door. Next wanted to have a bathroom vanity replace, small bathroom only one person can fit inside. this was going to require two men and of course they would not finish in 4hrs. bottom line you are probably better of getting an estimate for a much larger project for less than a 1k. This voucher is supposed to be valued at $750.00. I would never pay 750.00 to have a basic front door installed nor would I pay that much to have a vanity removed and replaced. Go figure.When I say installed by the same company - I mean the same small mom & pop store I purchased the door from.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Penney Brothers Reconstruction replied on 08-05-2013
To whom it may concern: I would say to anyone who thinks these numbers sound correct (his mom & pop outfit) Just call home depot and see what they charge for those projects.I have been doing this a long time (25 yrs.) and it sounds like this person should really be a General contractor considering the estimating knowledge they have. Thanks for this review even though I have never seen you nor have I ever worked with you. REgards
Reviews: 2

Posted on 6/25/2013

AWFUL
I hired Penney Brothers for a small paint project in my home. Let me start by saying, Kevin & his brother were nice & polite. But professionalism & skill are NOT qualities they possess!
1. They arrived 1 hour & 15 mins late
2. Not even 10 mins after arriving, Kevin asked to use my bathroom & he actually took a DUMP!! He gave courtesy flushes, but REALLY?! Who does that?!
3. Then Kevin left to go put gas in his truck (not sure why he didn't do that before he arrived, but my guess is this is meant to run time out on the clock so that you end up paying his $120 hourly rate (x 2 men) over & above the $375 "deal" offered here on Kudzu. By the way, his gas station run took 45 mins.
4. Kevin did not put covers over his muddy shoes, left a mess & paint splatters on mirrors, outlet covers (that he didn't remove) and counter tops because he did not cover areas or use the supplies that I purchased for his convenience.
5. Just under $600 dollars & a terrible paint job later, he asked me to make check payable to his wife (not the business). I had to hire another painter to do the job right!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Penney Brothers Reconstruction replied on 06-26-2013
To whom it may concern: This is my last hurrah as for running giveaway speacials. People don't worry, after my experience with several on line companies I have decided these speacials are not worth my time or commitment. This is another lady who I think wants something for nothing and is also a little unbalanced. I realized that when she started problems with the president of the homeowners association while I was there.As for payment,she asked who I wanted her to make check payable to and for my personal reasons I told her my wifes name if she did not mind.She was given a very legitimate invoice from penney brothers. She lives in a apartment, oh I mean a old condo. The place is not in that great of shape. I went to the store for gasoline for the lots & lots of pressure washing we did. If I had wanted to take advantage of her financially or most other customers I can. However, I have been doing this along time and that is not how I operate. She got a lot of real pressure washing done . Also 2 full bathes and 1 half bath for her measley $560.00.As for using her restroom ,I'm glad I did or she would be griping and complaining about us going to the store to use theirs.I walked the job with her after I finished she said it looked fine.As with all these speacials I ended giving a additional 45 mins. at no charge.She got much more than she paid for. Also she needed to add good exhaust fans to her bathes instead those from the 80's. Best regards Tad1986
Reviews: 3

Posted on 6/13/2013

Kudzu Deal
First I must say, I thought 4 hours for $375 was a great deal. I needed a room painted and the baseboard replaced. After having to reschedule due to a medical reason, they arrived around 10:20 am. The baseboard equipment had to be purchased, he went to the wrong store. After working for a few hours, they had to stop for lunch (30 minutes turned into an hour). Upon completion, I was charged an additional $280. Kevin said an additional coat of paint needed to be added, which is so true. You can see places where the paint is not uniform on the walls. Overall, my $375 deal turned into $655. I had to pay for two additional hours, $20 to remove the few pieces of baseboard that was replaced, mud for the drywall and plastic drop cloth. This was NOT a deal for me.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 5

Posted on 6/10/2013

Great Job!
These guys did a great job on my house and it was very affordable. They pressure washed and painted. I'm very satisfied with the results and will no doubt have Kevin do work for me again in the future! Great Job guys and thank you so much!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 4

Posted on 5/29/2013

Lazy Yahoos
Kevin gave us a 2 hr.time frame in which he'd arrive. He still showed up late, claiming that he'd been calling all morning. Apparently, he doesn't realize that I can look at my cell phone and see that he hadn't called. I'd given him the list of 3 projects on the phone and in person and in writing, but they kept forgetting what to do, and would just quit working. They spent the 1st half hour standing around while he tried to get me to buy more time. WHen I left for a while, I was told by someone in the house that Kevin left as well, and no one worked while I was gone. WHen I returned, Kevin left for an hour. I got about one hour total work out of the "2 men for 4 hours" deal. I paid them extra to finish the only project they were able to finish. I'm no contractor, but I've done a better job at this myself in the past. I suppose it's like they say, "if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself."
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Penney Brothers Reconstruction replied on 06-10-2013
To whom it may concern; There is always two sides to every review. I have been performing repairs and such for 20 years or so and this review is totally false. the truth is that the house is rundown and in need of a lots of repairs. She wanted me to repair her chimney chase. The chimney was 30 feet tall and all corner boards were almost falling off house due to rot. The chimney also needed siding replaced as well.After starting work I notified her that this chimney needed lots of repairs and she said just do as much as possible with coupon. After my obligation was fulfilled the chimney was not finished and would still take in water when it rained. So as often times I decided At that time the coupon hours were completed but two men and myself stayed for almost 2 hrs extra at no charge to her to install material so no water would enter in. She is aware of these facts. To her I say contractor Beware. Thanks
1 to 5 of 14

Put in your 2 cents. Write a review and tell everyone how you felt about this business or service professional.

Is this your business? Would you like to respond to a review? Reply now through your Business Center.

Kudzu Category Sponsors

Coupons
Homeworks
Call us today to learn how you can finance your project with us.
ex 05/01/2014  |  view coupon »


Other home services categories in Dallas, GA
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.