Sound Sensations Car Stereo

Sound Sensations

29 Reviews

(770) 429-1600 www.sound-sensations.com » View Website »

337 Cobb Parkway SMarietta, GA 30060   map »

Business overview

Sound Sensations is Atlanta's number one mobile electronics retail facility with the capability and know-how to plan, design and install high quality audio equipment and auto security systems in every kind of vehicle. Sound Sensations is a unique car stereo company, formed in 1970 who specializes in everything from car audio and video, performance, wheels, neons and more.

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Car Audio & Video

  • Car CD Players
  • Car DVD Players
  • Car Electronics
  • Car Navigation Systems
  • Car Speakers

Car Stereos

  • Cassette
  • CD
  • iPod Ready
  • MP3-CD
  • SIRIUS
  • XM Radio

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • TUE
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • WED
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • THU
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • FRI
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • SAT
  • 9:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • SUN

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1970

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

View More »

FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO SERVICE YOUR VEHICLE!!, 12/29/2014

See my Google review for the specific details. I called in to Sound Sensation and was quoted $370 for a car alarm and remote starter by Andrew. Let me say that I specifically asked for a "car alarm... and remote starter". I immediately made the appointment (paying a $50 deposit) as I called five other local locations and I was quoted between $410 through $450. My reason for writing this review is not to badger anyone but the customer service that I received at Sound Sensation was horrendous. As a first time customer I felt as if they did not care about the service that they provided. I was advised by another customer that this company has been in business for a very long time and I assume that this is why they do not care about customer service as their longevity has overshadowed the reason for them being there. Andrew not only treated me with horrible customer service but there were two other customers that I observed were being treated in the same manner. He must be the owner's son as this would never be allowed in another customer service environment. I will say THANK YOU to Patrick as he was patient and did exactly what he said he could do. He opened his calendar, explained the holiday situation helped create a solution to the problem without raising his voice. Needless to say I will never visit this location for any of my vehicle needs again. There are 6 other locations to choose from.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Horrible Window Tinting, 8/27/2013

AWFUL Experience! I scheduled my appointment 2 weeks in advance, just to be called the day before to be rescheduled. Then, the day before my 2nd appointment, they called to reschedule again. Finally,... when they were able to "fit me in," I dropped off my car at 12:00pm, asking them to please do a great job on my window tint for my 2013 Lexus. The sales person responded by saying, "the guy that does our tints is the same guy that tints for the Lamborghini dealership." Well, they told me it would be ready by 3pm, so I came back 3 hours later to pick up my car, but it was not ready. I ended up having to wait another 2 hours until my car was finally ready. I looked my car windows over, noticing a couple of questionable blotched spots, but the salesperson said they would disappear as the film cured. Five days later, after the curing process is supposed to be complete, I am noticing several blotched and scratched areas on my windows! Horrible! I don't even want to deal with going back there to get them fixed because I know it'll just be another HUGE headache! Don't believe the hype! This place seems to be a popular place where big names go to get their cars dressed up, but if you're a normal guy like me, it seems as though the service and results are way below par. On top of that, their prices are above average and they hit me with additional fees when ringing me up...fees that weren't discussed prior to that...

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 1-15 of 29

Reviews

DiondreRussell

Reviews: 2

FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO SERVICE YOUR VEHICLE!!

See my Google review for the specific details. I called in to Sound Sensation and was quoted $370 for a car alarm and remote starter by Andrew. Let me say that I specifically asked for a "car alarm and remote starter". I immediately made the appointment (paying a $50 deposit) as I called five other local locations and I was quoted between $410 through $450. My reason for writing this review is not to badger anyone but the customer service that I received at Sound Sensation was horrendous. As a first time customer I felt as if they did not care about the service that they provided. I was advised by another customer that this company has been in business for a very long time and I assume that this is why they do not care about customer service as their longevity has overshadowed the reason for them being there. Andrew not only treated me with horrible customer service but there were two other customers that I observed were being treated in the same manner. He must be the owner's son as this would never be allowed in another customer service environment. I will say THANK YOU to Patrick as he was patient and did exactly what he said he could do. He opened his calendar, explained the holiday situation helped create a solution to the problem without raising his voice. Needless to say I will never visit this location for any of my vehicle needs again. There are 6 other locations to choose from.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Truth333

Reviews: 2

Horrible Window Tinting

AWFUL Experience! I scheduled my appointment 2 weeks in advance, just to be called the day before to be rescheduled. Then, the day before my 2nd appointment, they called to reschedule again. Finally, when they were able to "fit me in," I dropped off my car at 12:00pm, asking them to please do a great job on my window tint for my 2013 Lexus. The sales person responded by saying, "the guy that does our tints is the same guy that tints for the Lamborghini dealership." Well, they told me it would be ready by 3pm, so I came back 3 hours later to pick up my car, but it was not ready. I ended up having to wait another 2 hours until my car was finally ready. I looked my car windows over, noticing a couple of questionable blotched spots, but the salesperson said they would disappear as the film cured. Five days later, after the curing process is supposed to be complete, I am noticing several blotched and scratched areas on my windows! Horrible! I don't even want to deal with going back there to get them fixed because I know it'll just be another HUGE headache! Don't believe the hype! This place seems to be a popular place where big names go to get their cars dressed up, but if you're a normal guy like me, it seems as though the service and results are way below par. On top of that, their prices are above average and they hit me with additional fees when ringing me up...fees that weren't discussed prior to that...

Sound Sensations replied on 01-20-2014

We apologize that you had a less than desirable experience. We strive to provide the best customer service and apologize that we had to reschedule your appointment. Also we strive to make sure every customer leaves happy. If you were unhappy with the job that we did then we would have gladly fixed it to make it right for you.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MariettaGA17

Reviews: 2

Exceptionally knowledgeable & focused on quality

I recently had a full system installed in my BMW 3-series, and am very satisfied with both the equipment and quality of the installation work Sound Sensations performed. I had a rough idea what I wanted to have done to my car when I went in the door, but they actually took the time to analyze what would give me the best sound, and suggested a different approach I wouldn't have thought of. I like that they carry only quality equipment, so you can rest assured your vehicle is in good hands. This is not just another car audio shop that cuts corners or tries to sell you lots of things you really donít need. The staff was very professional and technically deep with everything from amplifiers, speakers, etc. The price they charge is a bit of a premium, but in my opinion, you usually get what you pay for with things like this. That being said, they will work with you on price to find a system you'll love. The showroom and shop are very clean and well-organized. I would highly recommend Sound Sensations and have them do work on my vehicles again.

Sound Sensations replied on 02-17-2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the compliment and are pleased that you are happy with the work and the result of your system upgrade. We look forward to continuing our relationship in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Turners2006

Reviews: 1

Atlanta's Best

Been using these guys since 2010. They provide great high quality equipment that is built to last and they also do Custom Built equipment to fit your needs. If they sell you a warranty buy it. They honor it and repair it as long as its not neglence or tamper on your behlaf just take it back to them and they get you to rolling in no time. Very Professional and a High Quality of Work. I Highly Recommend. When ever I have had a problem they fix the problem and you dont have to worry about driving off coming back a week later talking about this and that not's right if anything you will be back the next week to keep upgrading. They have installed sound systems in many of my cars(6), Home Theater Systems & Surrond In my Home. They Are The Best I've Evr Seen. I Rather Pay For QUALITY rather than QUANTITY anytime of day. They Are The Best!!!

Sound Sensations replied on 01-30-2013

Thank you for your feedback and compliments on our service. We appreciate your return business and look forward to continuing our relationship.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

julibelle

Reviews: 1

Automatic Start System

For Christmas last year my husband had an Automatic Start System put on my 2001 Mustang. Clayton did the install. When I picked my car up my first concern was the blood smears down my door panel & the fact that the westherstripping had not been properly re-installed in my window. After I got it home we were unable to make it start. I was told I was doing it wrong, and to bring it back and they would show me again. I did. After getting it home we still couldn't get it to work. My husband was told that the delay was off and for it to be done properly it needed to be left an entire day. So i did that too. That's two full days and a partial day. Still doesn't work. Never has. During the partial day my son was with me. The guys were rude to us to the point of letting doors slam in our faces as we tried to keep up with them going back and forth. It was a horrible experience and i will never go back!! The money was paid, three different trips were made. Worst Christmas gift ever, thanks Sound Sensations!

Sound Sensations replied on 01-30-2013

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service and a quality install. I apologize that you felt we were rude. We move quickly from the showroom to the install bay to stay busy and we usually do not allow customers in the install bay for insurance purposes. We were having issues with the car providing a clean tach signal to start the car and tried many attempts to get the problem resolved, ultimately there was an issue with the car and we apologize for your inconvenience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MariettaAlicia

Reviews: 1

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Zak Howard gave me several options for my satellite radio and bluetooth selections. Process was easy and it works great! Thank you, Zak!

Sound Sensations replied on 01-30-2013

Thank you for your business and the kind words. We are glad that we were able to find the right option for you and that everything works as promised

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

ef1fix

Reviews: 1

Sound Sensations Fixed my Butchered System Install

I should have listened to my Mom! She told me to take my car to see Brian at Sound Sensations to have my system installed. I didn't do it trying to save money. An unnamed competitor disconnected my AC, my heater, and messed up my wiring which started a small fire. The AC hose leaked water all in my floorboard. Just a really bad, bad job! Brian was able to get all of this fixed! I should have listened to my Mom. Brian is awesome and my Mom thinks he's super sexy too!! Hahaha! Sorry Mom, he has to know!

Sound Sensations replied on 01-30-2013

Mom knows best. We are glad that we could help get your install fixed correctly. We are fairly priced and when you get the job done we want you to know it will be done right.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Alreadyfellout

Reviews: 1

Awful tint services

I recently had my tint done in my new volkswagen Jetta by Sound Sensations, this is one of the worst jobs I have ever seen. Whoever did it apparently had enough time to hook his phone up to my bluetooth but not to put the tint on right. Bubbles, Scratches, Residue, and even hair stuck in between the tint. They also left a wet rag with something wet (not sure what) left on my back seat. Unfortunately it seems the only thing good to come of my visit to sound sensations was my nap I got in the waiting room. My tint was fixed the Friday following this, although while striping off the original tint that was installed incorrectly, the driver's side mirror was partially melted (car was two weeks old). I will review better if all problems are fixed.

Sound Sensations replied on 01-30-2013

Thank you for the feedback. This issue was handled and we had the part replaced and the window tint fixed. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to make it right.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Carter2

Reviews: 1

Money Motivated

I do not reommend Sound Sensations because they are solely money motivated. To get me to come to the store, my salesman quoted me a price of $45 to install my amp. Once I arrived, he started this long sales pitch and we ended up with a quote of $375. The Salesmen there continuously tried to sell me the most expensive items which I didn't need. I explained to the him that I did not want a remote bass knob, but he refused to install the amp if I didn't get it. Also, he was trying to sell me an rf converter eventhough my car already had one in it because I previously had a professionally installed amp. My cables where all in there, but the salesman said they would have to rip all the cabling out and start fresh. I asked him why, but he couldn't give me a good reason. I'm an honest man and would like to deal with people who are honest and not motivated by money to sell me things I don't need. He told me I have to take the bad with the good. I said no thank you and walked out.

Sound Sensations replied on 07-23-2012


It is our standard procedure to tell a customer where our prices start. We then always recommend a customer visiting the store to be able to fully quote an install once we see your equipment, and what has previously been done to the vehicle and then give our professional advice on what should be done. The reason that it was recommended that the install be redone is that to fully warranty the install and put our name on it as the last people to work on the vehicle we want to make sure it is done right. The power wire was not fused properly which is a concern and frankly a danger. We are an honest business and have been in business for over 34 years. We pride ourselves in offering the best customer service and recommending the best solution for your vehicle. Thank you for visiting our store and for your feedback.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

demancri

Reviews: 2

Good tint ... horrible clean-up

We just had our new 2012 VW Beetle's windows tinted at Sound Sensations based on a recommendation from the dealership where we bought the car. When we picked the car up, we noticed that there was overspray that was not cleaned up (both inside and outside the car). They did nothing about trying to clean it up at their location. When I got home and washed the car, I noticed that there are now several scratches around the windows and trunk area that were not there before (it is a brand new car!)! I would not recommend their services to anyone due to the poor job that was done overall ... very little care factor in my opinion.

Sound Sensations replied on 07-23-2012

We apologize for the initial misunderstanding. We did resolve the matter by giving you a follow up call to address your concerns. We had you bring the car back in and had the car fully detailed. We hope that everything is still working out well for you and that the car looks great. Thanks for your feedback.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Beeman74

Reviews: 1

Another great experience

Another visit to Sound Sensations, and another great experience. Not only do they have what your looking for, but they have a great sales and installation team to take care of you too. My hat's off to Zak Howard for doing a great job off helping us decide what to get and for keeping us informed during the install. Even called to make sure we remembered to deactivate the satellite radio since we were not keeping it in our upgrade.

Sound Sensations replied on 07-30-2012

Thank you for your feedback and the positive review. We look forward to helping you again in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

jhesson412

Reviews: 3

These guys are pros! Highly recommended!

I had Sound Sensations install a satellite system in my Mustang. Zak was extremely knowledgeable and quickly told me what I needed after I told him the kind of setup I was looking for. After installation, both Zak and Brian showed me the features of the system and even called Sirius to change my service over from my old system to the new one. After I left, I realized I had an issue with one of the speaker channels losing signal and cracking. When I talked to them about it, they told me they would be in contact the next morning so we could get the issue taken care of. They called when they said they would and quickly got me in that day. They quickly identified a faulty component and got it corrected. Brian then went on a test drive with me to make sure I was satisfied. If you are looking for some true pros who know their craft and are serious about customer satisfaction, then this shop is for you!

Sound Sensations replied on 07-30-2012

Thank you for the positive feedback and review. Very glad we were able to quickly resolve your issue as well. Look forward to helping you in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

kaywellnga

Reviews: 2

Great customer service...

Zak was great! Even though he could have tried to hard sell me to purchase a new system for my car, he suggested getting a diagnosis of my current system. I decided to do some upgrading to the system i already have. And the installer, Mike, made suggestions that helped make the system look and sound better. Highly recommend Sound Sensations!

Sound Sensations replied on 07-30-2012

Thank you for the great feedback and positive review. Glad you found a solution that worked for you and we were able to give you the right advice. Look forward to helping you again in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

BlackPanther

Reviews: 1

Quality Work; Excellent Value

SS upgraded my 2000 Jaguar XK8 (see Gallery Photos), and I brought it back recently to add a JL Audio Subwoofer in the trunk. The master craftsmen at Sound Sensations made the custom install look like original equipment. I've found the SS difference is that they are not just interested in making a sale; they want to build a relationship with their customer. And they seem to know that any successful relationship is built on trust. Their sales staff is great, but it is their service that brings me back.

Sound Sensations replied on 07-30-2012

Thank you for the positive feedback and review. Very happy that you were please with the service and the install. It did come out looking very good. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

JeffMarietta

Reviews: 2

a great, dependable company to deal with

I've worked with Sound Sensations for 10 or 15 years now. They have always been a company that I can depend upon for terrific advice, great service and products. They go out of their way to find the correct solution for my situation. Some of the situations have been challenging due to what the car dealership has done to me - but, they've always worked out a great end result. And, always pleasant to work with. I do recommend Sound Sensations.

Sound Sensations replied on 07-30-2012

Thank you for the positive feedback and great review. We are glad that we can always find a solution for you and that you continue to use us. We look forward to keeping the relationship going.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO