Canine Village (Starbarks) Kennels & Pet Boarding

Canine Village (Starbarks)

(602) 373-4620 www.caninevillage.com »

20420 N 22nd St, By Appointment Only!Phoenix, AZ 85024   map »

Business overview

Please see our 35+ 5 Star reviews. The highest rated kennel in Phoenix. We are a very specialized, small facility in North Phoenix. Family owned. EVERY suite has an outdoor potty space beyond the a/c and heated indoor space. Your dog can go to the bathroom whenever he wants, outside. 2 acres to play on, pool for water-loving dogs. No hidden costs. Playtime: 3x per day included! Medication given at no extra charge. We follow pack-leader dog psychology for obedience training. Loving care.. while you're away. We have a clientelle of over 300 dogs. Send an email for an appointment.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Services

  • Day Care
  • Feedings
  • General Boarding
  • In-Home Care
  • Playtime & Exercise
  • Recreation Area
  • Snack Time
  • Special-Needs Care
  • Training

Service Area

  • Anthem
  • Carefree
  • Cave Creek
  • Glendale (Downtown/South)
  • Glendale (Northwest)
  • Mesa
  • Paradise Valley
  • Peoria
  • Phoenix (Central)
  • Phoenix (East)
  • Phoenix (North)
  • Phoenix (Northeast)
  • Phoenix (Northwest)
  • Scottsdale (North)
  • Scottsdale (Old Town)
  • Sun City
  • Surprise
  • Tempe

Animal Types

  • Dogs

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012, 2013

Hours of Operation

* By Appointment Only

* 24-Hour Service Available

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Paypal
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

View More »

Best Care away from home, 11/25/2014

Canine Village treated my dogs like family. My dogs loved the freedom of being able to go indoor/outdoor at their will. I loved the fact that they set appointments for drop off and pick up. It... made me and my pups feel special with one on one attention. It was a very calm and unhurried transition. I would recommend their care any time.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Disappointed with the business side, 11/24/2014

I have no problem with the care they gave my dog. That was fine, it's not exactly like their outdoor barn facility building is a unique innovation. It is their business policies that are driving me... to leave a 2 star review. I boarded my dog for a weekend over the summer without incident. Then this fall I received an email saying they no longer accept credit cards, I understand that leaves you with a merchant fee, but in today's world of plastic I would rather have an additional 3% fee than the inconvenience of getting cash. My biggest issue however was with scheduling my dog for a boarding at Thanksgiving. I scheduled via email. At no time did they email me about any special holiday policy (I double checked, I received other nonkennel emails from them about their opinions on other dog incidents throughout the valley, but never their policies). I then had to cancel 24.hrs prior to my dogs arrival due to a family member illness. I was then told they don't allow holiday cancellations and that I was expected to give a $125 donation to their rescue side. I will not be returning. It is hassle enough that you have to give them a specific time for drop off and pick up (all other facilities I have been to allow for a window). It was the way they handled the situation. Their lack of expressing policies and the guilt they give expecting donations to their rescue.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Videos & Photos

View all »

Photos (3 photos)

Displaying 1-15 of 59

Reviews

KathyHuck

Reviews: 1

Best Care away from home

Canine Village treated my dogs like family. My dogs loved the freedom of being able to go indoor/outdoor at their will. I loved the fact that they set appointments for drop off and pick up. It made me and my pups feel special with one on one attention. It was a very calm and unhurried transition. I would recommend their care any time.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

dawlfun82

Reviews: 1

Disappointed with the business side

I have no problem with the care they gave my dog. That was fine, it's not exactly like their outdoor barn facility building is a unique innovation. It is their business policies that are driving me to leave a 2 star review. I boarded my dog for a weekend over the summer without incident. Then this fall I received an email saying they no longer accept credit cards, I understand that leaves you with a merchant fee, but in today's world of plastic I would rather have an additional 3% fee than the inconvenience of getting cash. My biggest issue however was with scheduling my dog for a boarding at Thanksgiving. I scheduled via email. At no time did they email me about any special holiday policy (I double checked, I received other nonkennel emails from them about their opinions on other dog incidents throughout the valley, but never their policies). I then had to cancel 24.hrs prior to my dogs arrival due to a family member illness. I was then told they don't allow holiday cancellations and that I was expected to give a $125 donation to their rescue side. I will not be returning. It is hassle enough that you have to give them a specific time for drop off and pick up (all other facilities I have been to allow for a window). It was the way they handled the situation. Their lack of expressing policies and the guilt they give expecting donations to their rescue.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 11-25-2014

We have been the #1 rated kennel by our customers for two years. We ask respectfully that you read other reviews too. explanation of occurrence: During holidays, as a non profit rescue, we give out space to people traveling. It helps us raise the maximum amount possible to help the rescue dogs in need. (vet bills, spay/neuter, food) We ask for a $125 non refundable deposit because we have been burned in the past by last minute cancellations. This does not give us time to find someone else to take the spot. We sent out an email to all Thanksgiving reservations. She is the only person that claims they did not receive it. We're sorry that happened and apologized. When she canceled we reminded her of the policy and from that point on there was no consoling her. We apologized again, we asked if she would prefer a donation and that's when she started posting bad reviews all over the internet. We are the only home kennel with indoor outdoor 15 foot climate control runs in AZ. Because we do not have dogs play together we are able to take all breeds of all types. This serves a large part of the AZ population of dogs. Just FYI we DO take credit cards and we have "appointments" for drop and pick up because the building sits where we live and it's a safety issue for our family. Why this woman is bent on hurting a small rescue kennel when her dog had a good experience (obviously or she wouldn't have booked a 2nd time) is something we just don't understand.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

capaul1

Reviews: 1

Cannot be beat!

We have to travel over an hour to board our dogs here; but, this is the only place that we are comfortable leaving our dogs. Kasey and Jazzy have been "visiting" Canine Village (Starbarks) for over 5 years and have always received the best of care. Chuck Gold Canyon, Az

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Sierrasmom

Reviews: 1

We LOVE this place

We've been taking our dog to Canine Village for more than 2 years and we are so happy to have found such a wonderful place to board our dog, Sierra. She loves going there and we always know she is in good hands with people who really love dogs and know how to care for them. We wouldn't take our dog anywhere else. Thank you Janet, Mike and Faith!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

sweetazdianne

Reviews: 1

Starbarks Canine Village * WE LOVE *

This is an unsolicited review. My dog has stayed at Starbarks Canine Village 4 times in the past year. I confidently board my dog without any worries, knowing he is in good hands at Starbarks... their kennels are large, clean & air conditioned. The owners are good people who are always close by as the kennels are on their property. They will provide loving care to your dog and patiently work with behavior issues. My rescue dog has tons of energy and wants to play at every chance. The love of play led to a jumping up on me problem where he had knocked me to the ground during play a number of times. Janet showed me ways to curb this unwanted behavior and I learned it was necessary to consistently assert my leadership position. Janet's insight on dog behavior helped me succeed. Starbarks Canine Village - a 5-star business I highly recommend! Dianne Sweet (Dewes' 'Mom')

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

weddingbliss

Reviews: 1

Great size and value

WE LOVE LOVE LOVE (Starbarks) Canine Village. We have a dog that needs lots of room as she is a puppy and we wouldn't put her anywhere else. 15 FT run with air/heat and potty area anytime she wants. When you are potty training this is super important. It's a natural setting on their property so she feels right at home. No staff changes - This week's stay she was able to swim and they were nice enough to show us how well she is doing in the pool, great exercise. Mike, Jan, and Faith take amazing care of the dogs and love them like their own.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

 Sweet puppy

hewing

Reviews: 1

Happy to review

the owners asked me to write a review and i am happy to do so. i've been taking my 2 dogs there for quite some time now. they mentioned someone keeps writing bad reviews just to shove all the good ones down the list, that is too bad because this is a great kennel. the space is 2-3x bigger than most others you'll find with a bathroom area and the dogs are not in cages, my dogs are always happy and there's no "transition" when they come home.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

sprgrspan

Reviews: 1

Highly Recommend

I'm older and don't travel a great deal but I've been taking my hunting spaniel to Starbarks for about 4 years now. He loves the back acre to use his hunter nose to look for rabbits and he's also a swimmer so he really enjoys the full size pool they offer in the summer time. These are very nice people who love and understand dogs. I also like that part of his stay goes to help animals charities. No hesitation in recommending Starbarks.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 05-27-2011

Thank you so much for this nice review. We love Sunday! Such a great dog. It's weird but with as many wonderful customers that we have it's hard when one person doesn't "get it" and it feels like it ruins all the years of hard work you've put in to it. We so appreciate people like you that have been with us for years and truly understand what we are trying to accomplish with affordable boarding and education.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

yorkiesAZ

Reviews: 1

We've been customers since June 2008

Over the past 3 years we have used Starbarks for our yorkie and labradors 11 times. We have NEVER had an issue. This is a wonderful family who has worked hard to provide a place that is AFFORDABLE. We had issues introducing a new rescue into our home and Janet helped train them for free. We wouldn't go anywhere else!

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 05-27-2011

We so appreciate all you've done and help us with the kennel over the years. We also know that because you have multiple dogs that it costs you more and you never complain. Wish we could clone you! Your well-balanced happy dogs are a testament to you kindness and good leadership abilities.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

JohnLucy

Reviews: 1

Beware........terrible place

Beware of this place!!!! It is not what it seems and judging by most of these reviews, they were written by the owners. It's pretty obvious since they are all within days of each other and then none for months at a time. Also, if this doesn't clue you in, even the best businesses don't have this many good reviews, unless something suspicious is going on! If you are even thinking about boarding here, please don't. My dogs are lucky to have survived this nightmare. I almost lost one of my dogs after her stay here due to the infected bite wounds she received while being under their care or lack there of. They were so horribly infected because they owners never even noticed them! My dog (who weighed almost 60 lbs) was 47 lbs when I picked her up. These people should be shut down.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 05-27-2011

2 fighting pit bulls, inexperienced owner. Same as "Not What it Seems" below. We want to admit we've changed this reply 3 times. Having a hard time answering someone who we've already spoken to and tried to help for two months but they aren't interested in being helped. Fighting breeds need special attention and he just wants to blame someone else for his dog's problems. They are actually wonderful, sweet dogs but he wants to be a macho pit bull owner and he doesn't know what he's doing. We've contacted an attorney because he's harassing and stalking our business. We've also alerted Kudzu that he's continuing to write reviews which isn't allowed. Please read our 50+ 5 star reviews.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

KellyFly

Reviews: 1

Feel good about leaving your dog

Love that the family lives on site and are attentive to the dogs needs. Great value, great people. Thanks!

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 04-24-2011

Thank you Kelly for your review. I remember that you came to us through a referral and that's always a good thing! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

MarkRad

Reviews: 1

Great Place, Great People

My two miniature Dacshunds are currently staying with Janet, Mike and Faith. This is their third visit in the last two months. I am very happy with the services they provide. It is obvious that they take the time to get to know the animals staying with them and make them feel loved and well taken care of. One of my pets is somewhat aggressive and dislikes strangers...especially other men. Mike was able to actually pet this agressive dog while I was holding her. Anyone else who has tried this has received a pretty nasty bite. This showed me that my dog had developed trust in them. I am very pleased with their rates and their service. They have gone out of their way to accomodate me. I would not use any other kennel in the Phoenix area. Highly recommended!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

HueyLacey

Reviews: 1

Best Dog Kennel in Town !!!

We give Starbarks 5 Stars for taking better care of our dogs then we could ever imagine. Before we found Starbarks we had only left our dogs in the care of our parents. We never thought we would find a place that could top that but we did. Our dogs love it there, they get so excited to see Janet, Mike and Faith. We can't say enough about how much we appreciate having such a place to take our babies while we are away. ALWAYS accommodating, ALWAYS attentive, ALWAYS awesome. Thanks for ALWAYS making us feel relaxed and reassured that are dogs are getting the BEST CARE while we are away.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 04-05-2011

We are so very thankful for patrons who have been with us for a long time. It is so obvious when we get customers who have well balanced dogs that have been trained and well cared for at home. Huey and Lacey are two of the most beautiful herding dogs you have ever seen and are a wonderful testament to their parents.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

JRTLUV

Reviews: 1

WE LOVE THIS DOG HOTEL!

Janet and Mike gave us help after rescue FOR FREE just to be sure the dogs would not have to be put up for adoption again. Hours and hours of working with us on physical, psychological, and the specific temperment of these dogs. We used Starbarks for overnights as well and there has never been an issue. I have 3 pit bulls amongst others. The people that are blaming Starbarks for their pits fighting each other need some serious education about the breed. I've owned numeruos pits and they all fight at one time or another. We love Starbarks and all they do for the canine community. Their proceeds and free space going to rescue is a testament to their love of all animals.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 04-05-2011

We are thankful for you and that you "get us" and what we are trying to do here. For anyone reading, if you have rescued a dog, we give free training to anyone who wants to understand the pack needs of a dog. Some people rescue "fighting" breeds because there are so many currently up for adoption. However, not understanding that they are called "fighting" breeds for a reason can get themselves and their dog(s) in serious trouble. There are very few kennels that take these types of dogs because most kennels do "socialized" play. We do not, they play with a human. However, fights can break out with dogs from the same human family.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

CanineRescue

Reviews: 1

Amazing Kennel and Fine People

I've been working in K9 rescue for about 20 years. Every since I discovered Starbarks my dogs always go to them. This is an amazing family trying very hard to keep prices down and help the canine community. Though Janet could charge hundreds of dollars for training it's a mere $25 for her to come to your house and teach you pack leader method! When I have a rescue that I can't find a foster for, Starbarks takes them at NO CHARGE! Even through Janet's battle with cancer, they have always been there for me. The dogs are always happy and healthy - even the rescues. I have had 20+ stays at Starbarks without incident and I reccommend them without reservation.

Canine Village (Starbarks) replied on 04-05-2011

It's always difficult to work with rescues and we so appreciate the many groups we work with. When the housing market crashed there were hundreds of dogs left in homes without food and water. In the AZ heat it was detrimental. Rescues combed the streets for abandoned houses and would look in the backyards, windows, and garages to see if any animals were left. When they didn't have room we at Stabarks were happy to take them and help find new homes.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Photos

Album: Generic
1 of 3