• Claim This Profile!
    Join thousands of businesses who are using Kudzu to find new customers.

    When you register, you can:

     •  List your specialties
     •  Respond to reviews
     •  Create special offers


The Glenwood

1263 Glenwood Avenue 
Atlanta, GA 30316
Phone: (404) 622-6066
Website: atlanta.citysearch.com...
Edit Business Info
The Glenwood The Glenwood : Bars & Clubs, Atlanta, GA



Reviews
Reviews: 8

Posted on 4/19/2010

I can't wait to go back!
I had dinner at The Glenwood about two years ago and was impressed with the food but did not want to go back because of the smoke. Now that they have opened the wine bar side with no smoking, I decided to give it another go. I was definitely not disappointed! We sat on the bar this past Wednesday night to order a drink and a bite. There were only a couple other people there, so we had the bartender to ourselves! His name is Mark and he was awesome. He really knows his wine and a lot of other stuff. I had the mushroom burger and it was very moist and the fried pickles on the side were to die for. The fries were seasoned liberally, just the way I like it. My bf had the red snapper stew and he loved, loved, loved it. He had Warsteiner on draft and Mark was so nice that he brought him another half a glass of beer because there was so much head on the first one. He was so attentive. We didn't have to ask for anything. I enjoyed my Pinot Noir from Sicily that he suggested, which was a new experience since I have never had wine from there before. He even knew the background and told us how recently Pinot Noir has become a key wine for the Etna region in in Sicily. Very impressed! Perfect laid-back atmosphere without losing out on the quality of service or food!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
by EmilyDiffenena at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 2/20/2010
Like conflicted teenager, needs to grow up
The Glenwood seems conflicted. On the one hand, the menu looks good, the beer list is extensive and the plating very delicate. On the other, the clientele and barstaff are raucous and mismatched and apparently like to play Slipknot on the jukebox. The table service strives to be fine-dining/gastropub and the bar just doesn't seem to care. Some drinks came out wrong or not at all, and when I needed change, I had to wait for the bartender to finish thrashing to whatever was assaulting my ears before he acknowledged me. If it were a dive bar, I'd be all over it. But The Glenwood is trying to be something else.I'm not sure I'd come back just to drink and munch on apps again. The fried pickles were both soggy and rock-crunchy from sitting in a deep (though elegant) dish under a heat lamp, the onion rings were virtually flavorless and the fries were the best of the three but certainly nothing special. $11 for a three-app dish seems steep if that's what's coming out.I think the place might be better on a weeknight, or if you are coming for a burger and a beer or a slightly fancier entree. I'm going to give dinner a try at a later date and see if it's any better than this Friday night business.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Reviews: 8

Posted on 1/31/2010

Excellent Service and Even Better Food
I discovered this little neighborhood gem about 6 months ago. It's absolutely my favorite place to dine. Walk in and your in a cozy, clean, neighborhood pub. To the right is a separate non smoking dining room (great for the kids and for the inlaws!). And walk out back & you're in a little Eden in East Atlanta on their great patio. But what keeps us going back is the unbelievably good service and to die for food! I mean every single time we go, the service is great! And they have fried oreos. YUM! I've never had a bad meal here. The best casual dining downtown!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
by quirkymichael at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 2/23/2009
Good food. Great beer. Excellent atmosphere.
We've been here a few times and have yet to be disappointed. Waitstaff is excellent; very knowledgable, particuarly helpful with beer selections if you don't know what you're doing. Vibe is laid-back; warm colors, pub-style wood benches, LCD TV, standing shuffleboard table and darts. There's a jukebox but when it's not running, there's electronic/indie music playing. The crowd is mostly 30- to 40-somethings, but there are several young-at-hearts and college kids so it's a pretty good mix. Gay/straight. Black/white. (This is East Atlanta Village afterall.) \r\rFood is excellent. At least the dishes I've tried. You're good with anything schnitzel side dishes are good. For what I would consider a bar first and foremost, I was really suprised at how good the food was actually. But maybe that's because my expectations were low; I'm not sure. But it keeps me coming back if that's any indication. ...
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



by SAlexanderEAV at Citysearch

Posted on Citysearch on 1/22/2009
A Strong Showing for East-Atlanta Village
I moved to the EAV about 8 months ago and have had the opportunity to eat and imbibe at every dining establishment in the area. I continually find myself and friends returning time and again to The Glenwood to partake of the excellent dining and service experience.\r\rThe menu blossums with new culinary creations with every change in the season. The chef (they have an actual, classically trained chef) also creates daily menu items, soups and cheese specials. There is always something new to try. With a constant influx of new cheeses, wines and oysters, the variety never ends.\r\rNot all the items on the menu are so high-end. The menu boasts a sandwich and burger section unrivaled by the competition. Currently they are featuring a TurDucken burger that is out of this world! Also try the Lamb burger, topped with Feta cheese; it's a fine change from the standard old burger. The homemade Black bean burger is the best I have tasted in town.\r\rThe side items offered by The Glenwood are varied and delightful. Sides include salads, soups, fried green tomatoes (in season), fried pickles, Mac and Cheese, and many more. You could eat at this establishment every week for a year and never have to eat the same dish twice -- the options are almost endless.\r\rThe environment is warm and inviting. One side of the restaurant is filled with booths, tables and bar tops with a full length bar. Smoking is permitted on this side. The other side of the building is devoted to non smoking, fine dining, fine wines, cheeses from around the world, and seasonal oysters.\r\rThe Glenwood also boasts an outside patio perfect for those who want to enjoy Atlanta's fine weather.\r\rAll-in-all, The Glenwood's food and drink can be a little expensive. If you?re looking for cheap food and beer, there are many other places in the EAV to enjoy yourself. I personally believe the costs are completely inline with the type, style and service received.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



1 to 5 of 10



Coupons
Ruby China
$15 Minimum
Coupon void if altered.

ex 05/02/2014  |  Valpak coupon »
Marco's Pizza
Please mention coupon when ordering. Take-out only. Plus tax where applicable. Delivery service extra. Minimum charge for delivery. Valid at Holcomb Bridge Location only.
Coupons may not be combined with any other offer.
With Valpak® coupon only.
Must present coupon at time of order.
Coupon valid at this location only.
Coupon void if altered.

ex 05/02/2014  |  Valpak coupon »


Other home services categories in Atlanta, GA
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.