Woolfson Eye Institute

(404) 237-1770 www.woolfsoneye.com

800 Mt Vernon Highway NE, Suite 130Atlanta, GA 30328 map it »
other locations »

Save to my favorites »

Business overview

Treatments Offered

  • Bifocal Correction
  • Cataract Surgery
  • CK
  • Corneal Transplants
  • Cosmetic Surgery
  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Excimer Laser Correction
  • General Ophthalmology
  • Geriatric Care
  • In-Office Procedures
  • IOL
  • Laser Surgery
  • LASIK
  • Non-Surgical
  • PRK
  • Refractive Surgery
  • Tear Duct Surgery

Service Area

  • Acworth
  • Alpharetta
  • Barrow/Walton County
  • Bartow/Pickens County
  • Buckhead
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Carroll/Coweta County
  • Cascade Heights
  • Cherokee/Forsyth County
  • Clayton/Fayette County
  • Cobb County
  • Conyers
  • Covington
  • Crabapple
  • Cumming
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas/Paulding County
  • Douglasville
  • Downtown
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Atlanta
  • Fayetteville
  • Fort McPherson
  • Greenbriar
  • Grove Park
  • Gwinnett County
  • Henry/Spalding County
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Lakewood
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Midtown
  • Newnan
  • Newton/Rockdale County
  • Norcross
  • Peachtree City
  • Riverside
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Atlanta
  • South Fulton County
  • Stockbridge
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • Union City
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • West End
  • Woodstock
VIEW MORE »

Specialty

  • Allergies
  • Astigmatism
  • Cataracts
  • Corneal Diseases
  • Crossed Eyes
  • Diabetes-Related Problems
  • Double Vision
  • Dry or Tearing Eyes
  • Farsightedness
  • Glaucoma
  • Injuries or Foreign Objects
  • Lazy Eye & Muscle Disorders
  • Low Vision
  • Macular Degeneration
  • Nearsightedness
  • Optic Nerve Disease
  • Orbital Disorders
  • Retinal Diseases
  • Tumors
  • Vision Correction Surgery
  • Vitreous Disorders

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 5:00pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Money Orders
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1992

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Reviews

View More »

I would have selected a different option, 11/14/2012

I had my Lasik surgery a little more than a year ago. The procedure went really well. Dr. Woolfson and his staff were very professional and really helped to address any pre-surgery concerns. After... the surgery, I developed Dry Eye and my left eye continued to require a prescription. At each of the follow-up appointments, I was told that my eyes were still healing and that things would improve. Unfortunately, even after a year, things have not improved. At my one year follow-up, I was told that I needed to find an ophthalmologist to help with my dry eye treatment. In hindsight, I should have opted for a provider that offered some sort of guaranteed commitment to satisfaction.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Woolfson eye institute LASIK, 5/13/2012

Bottom line: my vision is doing well post op. If mother chance I'd prefer more patient centered Opthomolgist. Consult visit a week prior: eye tests, an md reviews with you your "needs". Then... finanacial consultant $4000. Came to this amount despite 45% discount from braves season holder. Discount applies to base price. Then there is "custom"-$500 per eye-which everyone gets! There is a herd set up on day of surgery. About 8 people plus me in my group. Cameraderie between the patients. Prepped by techs who give us lots of numbing and antibiotic eye drops. Dr woolfson meets with group. Any questions? He was not too specific about procedure which was fine for me-I was calm and did not want to know a lot. But in actual surgery (which is done with machines) I found things went too fast, and Dr woolfson did not explain so well. One eye I had to have stopped and started -got it done on 3rd try. They put a pressurized ring around your eye and the. Do the cutting and it can be anxiety provoking . Woolfson seemed impatient Before you leave OR, the tech gets an iPad and takes a photo of you and a now merry dr wolfson. Then as you are leaving or hey get you to put in your facebOok info to post it I did not give it to them so it did not post. Cheesy marketing and very inpatient centered.

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Displaying 1-15 of 30

Reviews

FrankTorres

Reviews: 1

I would have selected a different option

I had my Lasik surgery a little more than a year ago. The procedure went really well. Dr. Woolfson and his staff were very professional and really helped to address any pre-surgery concerns. After the surgery, I developed Dry Eye and my left eye continued to require a prescription. At each of the follow-up appointments, I was told that my eyes were still healing and that things would improve. Unfortunately, even after a year, things have not improved. At my one year follow-up, I was told that I needed to find an ophthalmologist to help with my dry eye treatment. In hindsight, I should have opted for a provider that offered some sort of guaranteed commitment to satisfaction.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 02-01-2013

We are very happy to hear that Dr. Woolfson and his staff covered the risks appropriately and that your surgery went well. Temporary dry eye is a common side effect of LASIK that, for most patients, lasts several weeks or months. The doctors at Woolfson Eye Institute are very careful to inform patients who already have dry eye that it can worsen temporarily from LASIK, but dry eye also tends to worsen over time with or without LASIK. Hopefully, your dry eye was treated during your first year of post-op care for no additional charge. Itís uncommon for the dryness from LASIK to continue after one year, but itís appropriate to continue to seek care either through a Woolfson affiliate eye doctor or to be treated by one of the dry eye experts at Woolfson Eye Institute.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

loupascal

Reviews: 12

Woolfson eye institute LASIK

Bottom line: my vision is doing well post op. If mother chance I'd prefer more patient centered Opthomolgist. Consult visit a week prior: eye tests, an md reviews with you your "needs". Then finanacial consultant $4000. Came to this amount despite 45% discount from braves season holder. Discount applies to base price. Then there is "custom"-$500 per eye-which everyone gets! There is a herd set up on day of surgery. About 8 people plus me in my group. Cameraderie between the patients. Prepped by techs who give us lots of numbing and antibiotic eye drops. Dr woolfson meets with group. Any questions? He was not too specific about procedure which was fine for me-I was calm and did not want to know a lot. But in actual surgery (which is done with machines) I found things went too fast, and Dr woolfson did not explain so well. One eye I had to have stopped and started -got it done on 3rd try. They put a pressurized ring around your eye and the. Do the cutting and it can be anxiety provoking . Woolfson seemed impatient Before you leave OR, the tech gets an iPad and takes a photo of you and a now merry dr wolfson. Then as you are leaving or hey get you to put in your facebOok info to post it I did not give it to them so it did not post. Cheesy marketing and very inpatient centered.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 02-01-2013

We are glad to hear your vision (our first priority) is doing so well. However, your overall experience with us is just as important. Your comments have been shared with all of our staff to help us identify anything we can do to improve on our patients overall experience.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

AndreFowler38

Reviews: 1

My vision was saved by Dr. Woolfson

I had LASIK 6 years ago with another provider and I never healed quite right. I've been having to deal with so many issues and finally I decided to call woolfson to see if there was anything they could do. During my eval, Dr. Woolfson gave me a thorough exam and went over my options. He was very positive but he wanted to make sure I understood all of the risks (something my previous doctor NEVER DID!). I felt very comfortable in having Doctor Woolfson re-treat my eyes and I'm so glad I did. While it took an extra couple of days for my eyes to heal, my vision is incredible.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 02-01-2013

Dr. Woolfson was pleased to hear you were so happy with your LASIK re-treatment procedure and that you posted about it on Kudzu! Donít forget to keep up with your post-procedure care and visits in order to maintain your healthy vision.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

gtjackets1729

Reviews: 1

Terrible Customer Service

I ve tried to call this location over six times to follow up on a question I had with my LASIK consult and only received a callback once in which I was away from my phone. The other times, my voicemails have gone unanswered. Totally unprofessional and not a good way to treat potential customers. Decent otherwise but this customer service experience has ruined their reputation for me.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 03-18-2012

All of us at Woolfson Eye Institute are proud to be known for our commitment to excellence and I sincerely regret your experience. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience (draasch@woolfsoneye.com) so that I may apologize directly and provide you with any assistance you may need.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

davidsonba

Reviews: 1

My Life Changed on 2/10/2012!

Was referred to Woolfson by Schaeffer in Birmingham, AL because Dr. Woolfson had some special equipment to test my cornea thickness more accurately. Once they tested everything to ensure a safe procedure, I was given the green light for Custon Wavefront Lasik. I was extremely satisfied with the entire process, and would do it again in a heartbeat. Dr. Woolfson explained the risks, and made sure that I was comfortable with them before we started. I have recommended Schaeffer for years, and will now add Woolfson to my "best places" list. I can see without glasses! Thanks for changing my life!

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 03-05-2012

Thank you David for adding us to your "best places" list. We always love to hear about the great experiences our patients have!!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

TotMom8170

Reviews: 1

A gift for me

As a mom of 2 active boys both under 6 I am always having my glasses pulled, yanked or destroyed. My husband had his lasik with Dr. Woolfson about two years ago and has been telling me to do it but I wasn't sure about it. What on earth was I waiting for! I had bladeless lasik 3 weeks ago and what a difference. For all you moms out there who wear glasses, this is the best thing! From beginning to end the staff were so accommodating and my surgery was so quick I couldn't believe it.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

tekman

Reviews: 1

Totally incredible experience!

Was blind as a bat without my contacts. After going to Woolfson for my consultation, I was told that I qualified for LASIK and I couldn't wait...just had my surgery last week and I'm seeing 20/10!!! I feel like the bionic man...and the folks at Woolfson (especially Dr. J) were awesome. Absolutely the best decision I've made and I highly recommend them.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

StewartSimonson

Reviews: 1

Custom/Wavefront Lasik @ Woolfson Mt Vernon

Just had custom/wavefront Lasik 24 hours ago at their Mt. Vernon location. I am 47 years old and active in sports and considered it for the past 5 years - I have worn contact lenses for over 25 years. The staff was very professional and efficient (I think they performed over 30 surgeries yesterday). Dr. Woolfson is extremely knowledgeable and very straight with you on benefits/risks. 20/20 or better in both eyes less than 20 hours later. My distance vision is so awesome right now I don't want to wear the funky sunglasses they give you to wear for 3 days. I almost gave them 4 stars on service since they were so packed with people...but they moved you through as fast as possible and I was never left alone waiting. I also used a Groupon coupon and saved almost $1000 for both eyes. Excellent experience!

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 09-27-2011

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We always strive to provide the absolute best quality patient care as well as ensuring our patients are well informed. Please make sure you remember to schedule your post-op visits!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

wrchunco

Reviews: 1

Bad Experience at Mt Vernon

11/3/11 Woolfson contacted me regarding review - they have gone out of their way to check my eyes for any problems which is still ongoing - very good follow up service 12/20/10 met with Jason Brody MD who explained procedure for cateract surgery. He recommended Astigmatism correction with the Toric Lens.I was told I would only need "readers" after surgery. On 12/16 I waited an hour and a half in an uncomfortable waiting room. The surgery appeared to go ok with follow up the next day from Dr Brody. On 1/6/11 I was taken into the prep room and left on an uncomfortable gurney for an hour.When taken into the procedure room I heard loud music and talking. I heard Dr Brody say "I'm having problems with this eye. A quiet atmosphere would allow attention to detail which was missing. The next day the refering optomitrist did the follow up exam. He told me the stigmatism was still there and that I needed lasik or glasses. Three eye prescriptions later and my eyes are blurry making reading difficult. Not the outcome I had hoped for.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 09-27-2011

All of us at Woolfson Eye Institute pride ourselves on providing the highest level of patient care and we value every patientís comments. After reading your review, we are very disappointed your experience fell far short of our commitment to excellence and quality patient care.

Please feel free to contact Dr. Brody or myself at your earliest convenience to address your specific concerns. We look forward to having you experience the quality and dedication to excellence weíre proud to be known for.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

HeraKitten

Reviews: 1

Fixed my eye problems

Another doctor (in Athens) did my cataract surgery and ruined my vision. Then to fix it he wanted me to have another hospital procedure to put in a second lens on top of the wrong one he put in my eye in the first place. Called Piggy Back Lens. Dr. Stulting fixed it all with lasik. He had performed two prior procedures on my eyes when he was with Emory more than ten years ago. My appointment was on time, everyone spent a lot of time with me, April was my tech, they were all great. I could not have asked for better treatement. I am surprised to read the bad reviews but I think people with problems are more likely to give reviews then those of us who are satisfied. Please give this group a try. You will be glad you did.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 09-27-2011

Dr. Stulting and April were very pleased to learn how happy you are with your results. We are also very proud to have Dr. Stulting, the former director of Emory Vision, as a member of the Woolfson Eye Institute team.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

Coursey

Reviews: 1

Update

Update: the day I posted this, they contacted me and apologized and cancelled my invoice. For what it's worth, I appreciate that! - Coursey Got a bill 6 MONTHS after the supposed 'consultation', for a comprehensive eye exam!! Zero responses to my questions via email, and worse via phone where I was told: "you can't expect to go to a doctor for free". Obnoxious and unprofessional. Worse thing is: Dr.Stulting stated "the glasses that he currently has are as good as they can be", so we left with knowledge of the Keratoconus study, an offer to opt in for $2500 (per eye) to participate in the study (mind you, it's a STUDY, so no guarantees right), and nothing more. Did the vision improve as a result of this knowledge? NO. To me: that's a consultation and I'll pay $50 for that. Only response from Woolfson: repeat mailings of the invoice for $200. I follow up with phone call and am told that they don't have my fax (I have fax confirmation)... Ridiculous. I don't care how much 'expertize' they have, they are about the money and not about the practice.

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 09-27-2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to re-post your update and we're happy you appreciated the quick response you received.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

sandyspring410

Reviews: 1

Amazing experience and great results!

I actually had my LASIK done at Woolfson Eye Inst. about 6 months ago. I wanted to make sure I would be happy in the long-term. I am thrilled! The staff was professional and friendly. They answered any questions or concerns that I had (and there were many!). My surgery went exactly as I expected, and within an hour of the surgery, my vision was almost perfect. Of course, there were times where I was waiting in an exam room, but this is out-patient surgery, so I was expecting to wait at times. I only wish I had done this surgery sooner

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

mrsdeets

Reviews: 1

Woolfson Eye Institute, Stockbridge

A PRODUCTION LINE! This is the most insane place I have encountered in the healthcare area. It is literally a production line. The absolute worst experience I have ever had... My vision is worse than before the surgery, possibly a cornea transplant before it is all over. They take your money and do not care if you are happy with the results. I was told in the "free" consultation I was a candidate for lasik and then when the surgery went wrong I was told that I was a problem candidate because my Rx was so high. This was after the fact and nothing could be done to change it. KEEP YOUR MONEY AND SPEND IT ON SOMETHING BETTER THAN THIS!

Woolfson Eye Institute replied on 03-17-2011

mrsdeets: Everyone at Woolfson Eye Institute is committed to excellent patient care and ensuring that all of our patients receive the most comprehensive LASIK evaluation and treatment in the industry. Our commitment to quality, excellence and patient satisfaction is our number one goal. I want to assure you that we take your comments very seriously and I encourage you to address your concerns directly with us so that we can do whatever possible to remedy your negative experience. Our patientsí health and well being is our number one priority and we look forward to the opportunity to personally address your concerns.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

jonathan23

Reviews: 1

Visited Woolfson recently. Horrible experience

I visited Woolfson Institute recently at their Mount Vernon location. I had read reviews before going their and responses from Woolfson that they are trying to address issues. I decided to give them a second chance. I arrived 20 mins ahead of my appointment. I waited patiently for 1 hour 20 mins after my appointment time before being called in. After a few initial questions and a few exams by the nurse, I was asked to wait for another 15 mins which in fact turned out to be additional 1 hour 30 mins wait. This is ridiculous. The only doctor available was Dr. Stulting and the center had definately overbooked appointments. Dr. Stulting was seeing both Lasik and Cataract patients which made matters worse. Don't believe in their false promises about making their enterprise more efficient. They definately don't value others time and have no idea how to run a clinic efficiently. The only positive think was Dr. Stulting is quite knowledgeable but there are many other good doctors around.

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO

BizOpsMan

Reviews: 1

best decision i've made

I'm not expert, but I did go to 4 different clinics before deciding on woolfson for my lasik. it was more expensive but i wasn't exactly looking for the "bargain" when it came to laser eye surgery! Anyway, everyone there is great and dr. woolfson was really cool and comes in prior to your surgery to go over everything again and make sure you understand. after my surgery I could see like I had my contacts in, was incredible. there were a bunch of us getting surgery that day and we are all walking around asking eachother, can you believe it, its kinda weird but if you've never been able to see anything without contacts, its amazing! This place is top notch and I really liked the way they talk to you and follow-up. if you are thinking about getting lasik this is the place to get it done!

  • Overall
  • Quality
  • Service
  • Value

Was this review helpful?

YES  |  NO