Grand Animal Hospital

3 star rating 12 Reviews

(858) 272-1320(858) 272-1320

1033 Grand AvenueSan Diego, CA 92109

  map »

Reviews

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  caricia78

    Reviews: 15

    horrible experience!
    caricia78 (15 reviews)
    4/08/2008

    I took my dog there for a low cost neuter and the bill was 3 times what I expected. They administered medicine without asking me first and were rude when I questioned the bill as well. In addition, my dog had an umbilical hernia that shouldve been repaired as part of the neuter and it didnt- SUBSTANDARD CARE! I am a physician myself and if I ever practiced medicine the way they do I would be out of business!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (1)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  Hard2Pleaz

    Reviews: 1

    Fun & helpful experience
    Hard2Pleaz (1 review)
    3/20/2008

    I was referred to Grand animal by an organization which refers you to a vet who does low cost spays. I was new there and had my puppy spayed! When I called and made the appt. the woman was very nice and conforting to talk to since I was alittle apprehensive about the surgery. When I dropped my dog off they were pretty busy but still took the time to acknowledge me being there. When I picked up they were still pretty busy but was shortly taken care of by a woman whom I thought was great she made me laugh and feel confortable about the whole ordeal, and was very informative on all the post instructions. I will definitly remain a Grand animal client!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  natalieogilvie

    Reviews: 24

    Did a great job with my pets
    natalieogilvie (24 reviews)
    3/05/2008

    I would recommend this clinic to anyone who loves their pet! I took my pug and my cat to this location and I was more than pleased. The last time I was there, my dog had ripped his toenail and I couldnt get it to stop bleeding. They treated it for free! They LOVE animals and are definately worth a visit.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (0)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  peanutsmom

    Reviews: 4

    Wonderful vet!
    peanutsmom (4 reviews)
    7/05/2007

    She has saved so many of my pets lives. She has went above and beyond for my babies. and YES she does do holistic medicine. My cat had a liver problem and was dying. She did research and found some herbs that I could buy at Henrys.. it saved my cats life! I have tried so many vets in the area and have had horrible results, thank goodness I found Grand Animal and Dr. Scoggin.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  sjcanon

    Reviews: 4

    Not Welcomed
    sjcanon (4 reviews)
    4/24/2007

    I am new to the area and was refered to Grand Animal by a friend. I took my cat in for a routine check up and had the worst possible experience I have ever had with a vet. They would not let me in the exam room with my cat, and because of that she was very upset and attacked the vet. I didn't even get the chance to meet the vet. I was then scolded with my cat acted up. I have had my cat for 3 years an although she doesn't love the vet, she has NEVER been a problem with the vet. I will never recommend or go there again.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (1)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  SanDiegoGirl

    Reviews: 13

    Couldn't be Happier
    SanDiegoGirl (13 reviews)
    4/17/2007

    My pets have been patients of Dr. Scoggin's for about 10 years, and I couldn't be happier. Dr. Scoggin has the BEST rapport with the animals, both dogs and cats. She is very calm and patient, and makes you and your pet feel right at home. Her prices are VERY reasonable. She never charges for things that you don't want or need, and she never pushes drugs, food, or services on you like other vets try to do. Both my dog and my cat get the best care, I couldn't be happier.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (1)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  Peter0958

    Reviews: 1

    Poor
    Peter0958 (1 review)
    2/04/2007

    I found the name of Grand Animal hospital at a local pet store when I got my new puppy. I only saw this vet once when I brought my new puppy in for his first check-up. Overall, I was dissatisfied with the quality of care during this brief experience. I did not have much of an opportunity to ask questions and thought that unnecessary food and vaccinations were being pushed upon me. The visit was costly for a substandard appointment.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (1)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  KTRegan

    Reviews: 3

    Below Average
    KTRegan (3 reviews)
    12/12/2006

    Since moving here, I have had to bring my cats three times to Grand Animal Hospistal over the course of one year for various ailments. However, I should have realized after the first two visits, I was never going to leave with a diagnosis and would have a handful of medicine that treats a variety of issues. I probably wouldn't have been so disappointed with my experiences, had I not identified the health issues and causes myself, after doing a little research. After the third visit, I realized that I needed to bring my beloved animals elsewhere, especially after my cat was given medicine without my permission ($28 worth). I assume that their intentions were good, but I would not want my child to receive meds without my consent, and was disturbed by this, especially since I try to follow holistic guidelines (which is another reason I am no longer going to this animal hospital). I have brought my cats to be fixed here, but that is all that I can recommend Grand Animal Hospital for- just the basics.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (0)     No (1)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  mlyznqueen

    Reviews: 3

    Friendly and Caring
    mlyznqueen (3 reviews)
    12/11/2006

    Dr. Scoggin is an excellent vet. She truly understands animals. Very calm and soft with pets. Accurate diagnosis, really takes time to make sure she knows everything about your pet to help take appropriate measures when diagnosing. However, the exam rooms need to be dusted.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (0)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA - Amanda Y.

    Okay, but just for the Basics
    Amanda Y. (Posted to Judysbook.com)
    12/11/2006

    I have brought my pets to Grand Animal Hospital to be fixed which worked out fine, but I also brought them for other medical concerns and found the se...

    More »
  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA -  LCummins

    Reviews: 4

    Saved My Cats Life
    LCummins (4 reviews)
    11/17/2006

    Amost 2 years ago my kitten had a strange lung problem, no other vets would help her becuase they didn't know what was wrong. Dr. Scoggin was always calm and kept suggesting different possible solutions. Her patience worked and she finially figured it out. We will always be greatful to her. Charlotte appreciates it. :)

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes (2)     No (0)

  • Grand Animal Hospital - San Diego, CA - Patti W.

    Love this Vet!
    Patti W. (Posted to Judysbook.com)
    8/20/2005

    We took our new puppy to this vet to get checked out and get all her shots. You can tell that everyone that works there loves animals. They all dote...

    More »

Business details

Service Area

  • Clairemont
  • La Jolla
  • Mission Bay
  • Ocean Beach
  • Old Town
  • Pacific Beach
  • Point Loma
  • Sunset Cliffs

Services

  • Boarding
  • Burial or Cremation
  • Chronic Illness
  • Declawing
  • Dental Care
  • Deworming
  • Dietary Planning
  • Dropoff & Pickup
  • Emergency Care
  • Euthanasia
  • Flea & Tick Control
  • General Care & Exams
  • Grooming & Bathing
  • Hospital Services
  • Internal Medicine
  • Lab Work
  • Microchip Identification Implementation
  • Pain Management
  • Pet Supplies Sold
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Preventive Care
  • Spaying & Neutering
  • Surgery & Intensive Care
  • Vaccinations & Seasonal Shots

Animal Types

  • Birds
  • Cats
  • Dogs
  • Exotic Animals
  • Rabbits
  • Reptiles
  • Rodents

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 7:30am
  • 6:00pm
  • TUE
  • 7:30am
  • 6:00pm
  • WED
  • 7:30am
  • 6:00pm
  • THU
  • 7:30am
  • 6:00pm
  • FRI
  • 7:30am
  • 6:00pm
  • SAT
  • 8:00am
  • 12:00pm
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Discover
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa