Michael Healey DDS PC

1145 Hightower Trail 
Atlanta, GA 30350
Phone: (678) 292-5648
Fax: (770) 993-2098
Website: www.dochealey.com
Michael Healey DDS PC Michael Healey DDS PC : Dentists & Dental Services, Atlanta, GA



Reviews
Reviews: 4

Posted on 12/22/2009

Hind Sight is 20/20!
I was a bit agravated when my daughter had to go back into braces for the third time. Dr. Healey had taken care of her for the first two times. This time another ortho recommended braces because her teeth were not moved correctly. Since then I have had my other child looked at by her new ortho. Now my other child needs braces again. Also, my other child had decays that have been in there for some time.

My children were not happy with Dr. Healey and his mannerism with them. I wish I had listened to their instincts. I've spent a fortune on decays and braces again!
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 2

Posted on 6/24/2009

We left Doc Healey.
We went for a visit to Doc Healey. After the appointment, he took us down to the "basement" and described $3000 of work for my young child's mouth. I was uncomfortable in the basement. The basement was old, damp, and eerie, and I didn't like their approach.

After the appointment and quite a few weeks, I called my personal dentist. I asked him to take a look at his mouth, and I didn't tell him my reasons. He did so happily, and he told me that my child's mouth was perfectly normal. He was disturbed about the recommendation that Dr. Healey made for my child. He spoke with several of his colleagues regarding the matter, and they all thought the recommended procedures were absurd on a child of that age - and possibly disfiguring.

I do not recommend Dr. Healey.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Michael Healey DDS PC replied on 07-29-2009
Our office routinely gives a thorough examination of both hard and soft tissue for each child. White spots on teeth may be shallow, or they may be deep and already into the second layer. Often, the only way to determine the depth is to use transillumination. Fillings work well when there is more tooth than filling, and there is undamaged enamel to end the filling, so for larger damaged areas crowns may be required. Unfortunately, when someone complains on the web and does not use their name, and they don't directly question you, it makes it hard to answer. I have seen where one dentist will do a cursory exam of white sopts, dismiss them, only to have the teeth crumble at the gumline the next year. When we have an active little child, we often consult with the parents in our playroom, which is located downstairs. It is bright, cheery, and allows the child to be occupied while we discuss treatment. When children have a short attention span, we use sedatives or anesthesia during the treatment, and all fees are given to the parent before treatment is scheduled.
Reviews: 1

Posted on 1/31/2009

My daughter LOVES her dentist.
When we first visited Dr. Healey, my daughter was so traumatized by another dentist, that she would not even climb into the dental chair. Now, a year and a half later, she can't wait for her next dental appointment.

Dr. Healey encourages parents to be involved in their children's appointments. He does not use seperation and intimidation to get children to cooperate. He is very conservative, i.e. safety first, with X-rays and sedation procedures.

He has kept my daughter from having a life-long fear of the dentist. He is worth the hour drive for us to get to his office.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 3

Posted on 12/11/2008

Wouldn't go anywhere else with my kids
We've been seeing this practice since my son was 2 and wouldn't let us brush his teeth. My boy didn't speak English and most practices did not allow me in the room with the child, what I found pretty unbelievable. It would have scared my son to death. Doctor Healey not only wanted me there, they would never do anything that terrifies or scares the child, and at our first appointment, my son was allowed to get up and play a bit when he had enough and then climb back on the chair. Meanwhile we go there with two kids age 3 and 6 and couldn't be happier. My son had oral surgery for tongue tie in the practice at age 4 and has fond memories of that, with 2 nurses holding his hand, reading books to him and Doctor Healey being a funny guy, and of course mommy being there, too. My kids actually ASK to go to the dentist - what more do I want? We have insurance and they cover the costs, just not certain sedatives which will be used in any reasonable children's practice, so if you have insurance you will run into the same problem anywhere. The staff members and Doc Healey are the most caring people when it comes to dental care that I can imagine.
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
Reviews: 1

Posted on 11/25/2008

Exceptional care - Ideal for the preschool years
I have two boys, ages 3 and 5. I wanted to start their dental care on a positive note and Dr. Healey and his staff are the perfect choice. My 5 year old has even had a palate expander and the dental assitants and Dr. Healey helped calm his nerves on visits which required adjusting the brace. Not easy at this age! We do not have dental insurance and as the boys get a bit older, we might have to shop around for a less expensive practice. It will be hard to change because the staff is top notch! Maybe they'll offer a slight discount to those of us who are uninsured. Wouldn't hurt to ask about it if you are a first timer and are not insured. They seem to want to help in any way they can. Highly recommend requesting Debbie for your childrenthey are all good but she has an extra dose of patience....
Overall



Quality


Service


Value



Was this review helpful?  Yes No
Link to This Review      Post on Facebook   Share on Twitter
6 to 10 of 14

Put in your 2 cents. Write a review and tell everyone how you felt about this business or service professional.

Is this your business? Would you like to respond to a review? Reply now through your Business Center.

Kudzu Category Sponsors

Coupons
Dierkes J Michael DDS
Receive 30% off children's orthodontic records.
ex 06/10/2014  |  view coupon »
Chamblee Dental Care
1 Tooth Extraction.
Regular Price $220

*Limited Time only. Not valid with Insurance.
Cannot Combine Coupons.
Expires 03/31/2014

Chamblee Dental Care Ph: 770 936 0833
ex 05/31/2014  |  view coupon »


Other home services categories in Atlanta, GA
Kudzu Features
Advice
All Categories
Deals
Guides
Maps
Restaurant Finder
Virtual House

©2014 Cox Search, Inc. All rights reserved. Data provided in part by Localeze and Valpak.