Pharr Road Animal Hospital

3 star rating 27 Reviews

(404) 237-4601(404) 237-4601 View Website »

553 Pharr Road NEAtlanta, GA 30305

  map »

Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2013 - Kudzu.com Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA - Best Of 2013 - Kudzu.com

Reviews

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  pattycc11

    Reviews: 1

    excellent care
    pattycc11 (1 review)
    12/18/2015

    The quality of care that my pets receive from everyone at Pharr Road Animal hospital is excellent. I will not take them anywhere else because of the great care they receive. Everyone is helpful and caring to my dogs.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  bestdaywelived

    Reviews: 2

    Poor Quality Medical Care, Disorganized and Rude
    bestdaywelived (2 reviews)
    12/17/2015

    Our experience here has been an unmitigated disaster. From the constant attempts to upsell to the refusal to fill online prescriptions, this clinic cares about one thing: money. My calls aren't returned. The information I get from veterinarians ranges from contradictory to inaccurate. The staff is rude. I have tried to raise my concerns with the clinic, but their office manager responded to me with derision and defensiveness, so I think it's reasonable to assume the business wants customers to leave negative reviews.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  pos2008

    Reviews: 6

    Very disappointing
    pos2008 (6 reviews)
    10/05/2010

    This clinic is truly a disappointment. It is defined by very poor service and disrespect. Of the many, many examples I could offer, I will mention the following. Dr. Sasher failed to call us with lab results for our dog, and these ended up being critical. After two weeks I called and was read the results by a Vet I had never seen. The newest "Vet", Dr. McAllister seems to know nothing; she could answer no questions nor offer any guidance. Where did they find her??? If you go to this clinic, be prepared to be confined to one of their rooms for at least two hours. There is no respect for anyone's time other than their own. Finally, their prices are ridiculously high! I believe they exploit their clients. Avoid this clinic! There are too many excellent vets and clinics in the city of Atlanta to be stuck with this type of service.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  ltc887766

    Reviews: 9

    Exceptional Professional Care and Service
    ltc887766 (9 reviews)
    5/07/2010

    My Corgi was limping very badly and another veterinarian had already suggested expensive ACL surgery. Dr. Winnokur and Dr. Nichols both examined my dog, studied x-rays, administered acupuncture and gave me a sound plan to rehabilitate my dog. We used minimal medication and no surgery. It was been almost 2 months and he is not limping at all. Dr. Winnokur called me to check in twice. I have always found the staff to not only courteous but very professional as well. I love that they use not only sound traditional methods, but also are up on newer, less invasive, natural methods as well There are several vets on staff and I would trust any of them with my pets. Although they may not be cheap, I felt I got great value for time and money spent there. It is clear to me that one person has issues with this great practice and is abusing Kudzu with multiple negative ratings under different registrations. Anyone can have a bad experience. It doesn't mean that this is a bad place.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (1)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  atlexp

    Reviews: 12

    Poor Vets, Expensive
    atlexp (12 reviews)
    11/17/2009

    I have taken my pet to see each of the vets who own the clinic. Even though I had an appointment, the vet who is a woman made me wait 1.5 hours and the man who is a vet made me wait 1.25 hours to be seen. When I asked to reschedule because I had already been waiting 1 hour and didn't have more time to waste, I was told that I would still have to pay for the visit, even though I was punctual for the appointment and had already waited 1 hour. I only went back to this vet because the staff told me that they were always punctual and my long wait time was a rare occasion. They charge more than other vets in the same area. I would not recommend this place to anyone! I will not return to this business!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  AmyElizabeth

    Reviews: 32

    Worst Animal Clinic
    AmyElizabeth (32 reviews)
    11/16/2009

    The office staff is unkind and patronizing to your face. When you ask to obtain your pet's test results, the technicians will read over the results, and notify you that only the veterinarians can provide the results. However, the veterinarians will NEVER come to the phone, they will refrain from returning phone calls, and will NOT see you even if you go to their office. I had to tell them that I will file a complaint with the BBB in order for them to get the doctor to give me the results. Furthermore, they NEGLECT to apologize for their errors and rudeness. Also, they charge significantly more than other clinics. They don't seem to care about the animals in which they are allegedly treating. I will NEVER go back to this clinic. They are awful!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  funkecat

    Reviews: 1

    Used to be a nice place
    funkecat (1 review)
    10/21/2009

    The last few times i have been here, the rooms had pet hair from the previous pets... I also feel like the doctors are distracted and not concerned about my cat when I am paying premium prices, I expect premium service. I'm going elsewhere next time.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  fishingtiger

    Reviews: 3

    Practice is not what it used to be
    fishingtiger (3 reviews)
    5/20/2009

    I used to bring my dog here 3 years ago. Found the vets to be very helpful, knowledgeable, friendly. I recently got a new pup and have taken her there. This place is all about a sales office now. I feel like I am being peddaled every potion and vaccine available while being overcharged at the same time. I have had billings issues with them as well. I have also noticed that the waiting rooms are usually dirty. Doesnt seem to be any cleanup from the previous pets. I can no longer recommend this office.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  dogsarecool

    Reviews: 1

    Proven to be the best
    dogsarecool (1 review)
    2/18/2009

    I have been very close to the staff for the past five years and wouldn't want Veterinary care for my pets from anywhere else. The Vets are amazing, Dr. Winokur is doing more hoilistic medicine and has helped my cat avoid having surgery for bladder stones with herbs and s new diet. Dr. Almand always listened to my concerns with vaccines, educated me and helped me make the right decision specific to my pets. The technicians are well educated and pass that on to me and give the best care for my pets. I like the fact that the techs spend a lot of time with me in the exam room before the Dr. comes in. They always take the time to answer all of my questions. I read the other reviews and the reasons people don't like don't really make sense. The pets stay overnight unattended like most other facilities, and for the surgery patients it helps them recover properly. I know that they are on pain meds after surgery so they just sleep anyway. They always open promptly at 8 am as they have for years. If I need to drop-off early or pick-up late all I hve to do is call and arrange that. The staff is there long hours before and after the doors are open for business. I would recommend them to anyone who wants the best for their family.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (2)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  ATLover

    Reviews: 2

    You get what you pay for!
    ATLover (2 reviews)
    1/05/2009

    I have been bringing my dogs to Pharr Road Since I moved to Atlanta 2 years ago. Every time I visit this hospital I am impressed with the knowledge of the veterinarians and staff. The quality of the services rendered are equal in every way to that of human medicine and I trust them completely with the medical care of my pets. While it can get pricey at times, good medical care in general is pricey and I don't want to cut corners with my dogs' health. I was also pleasantly surprised that they have on-site ultrasound, x-ray, blood testing, and will perform emergency surgeries when necessary. The staff really cares about my animals and they always treat my dogs, and provide my dogs with the very care they they would want for their own pets. I wouldn't accept anything less for my babies!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (1)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  gvaugh

    Reviews: 1

    Very good
    gvaugh (1 review)
    9/10/2008

    I have taken my dog here since I rescued him back in April 2008. They are very good with the animals and the staff truly cares completely about the animals. They take their time to explain things and are very caring with the animals. Just be aware that they are more expensive than most.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (1)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  discerning

    Reviews: 3

    NOT Top Notch - just Top Dollar
    discerning (3 reviews)
    9/08/2008

    Having worked with a wonderful expereinced veterinarian who knew how to minimize expense in providing quality care for his patients, I have become appalled at the quality of medical care provided for my sweet geriatric pet over the last several years at Pharr Road Animal Hospital. When things are going well, the basics are provided adequately with a sales pitch to get you to spend more unnecessarily, and when things are not going well, the true emergency is the lack of skilled care. Rather than telling my personal story here, suffice it to say that yes, they're nice, and yes, the facilities are decent. But don't be fooled by the "top notch" price or the smiles on their faces - you are not getting the top quality you think you're paying for at Pharr Road Animal Hospital. Caveat Emptor - buyer beware.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (2) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  leo

    Reviews: 7

    Best vet in town!
    leo (7 reviews)
    7/18/2008

    I've read some of the reviews that say Pharr Rd Vet is expensive. That may be the case....but it is worth it knowing your family member is getting the best care in town, paws down.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (1)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  goldenlover

    Reviews: 1

    used to be a good practice
    goldenlover (1 review)
    10/22/2007

    I have been going here for 11 years. Was a small, reasonably priced, hi quality practice. Enlarged physical facilities & number of Vets, and the Vet I loved moved out of state. Now, every time I go, they immediately try to push other services on me, and their prices have DOUBLED. They only seem to be interested in making money at this point. Guess they need to pay for those renovations. Recently took my new puppy, and they wanted $500 to neuter him. Looking for another Vet.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)

  • Pharr Road Animal Hospital - Atlanta, GA -  lynsixgirl

    Reviews: 5

    Used to be reasonably priced
    lynsixgirl (5 reviews)
    9/05/2007

    We had taken our animals here for years. I have appreciated the friendliness, the scheduling appointment ease; however, the costs of those same visits are getting more and more expensive with extra services being recommended that I was not certain were necessary. We are looking for another vet that can give us the friendly service at a more affordable price, without us feeling like we are being recommended services we may not need.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (1) (0)


Business details

Services

  • Acupuncture
  • Alternative Medicine
  • Chronic Illness
  • Dental Care
  • Deworming
  • Dietary Planning
  • Euthanasia
  • Flea & Tick Control
  • General Care & Exams
  • Geriatrics
  • Hospital Services
  • Lab Work
  • Microchip Identification Implementation
  • Pain Management
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Preventive Care
  • Spaying & Neutering
  • Surgery & Intensive Care
  • Vaccinations & Seasonal Shots

Animal Types

  • Cats
  • Dogs

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2013

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • TUE
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • WED
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • THU
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • FRI
  • 8:00am
  • 6:00pm
  • SAT
  • 8:00am
  • 1:00pm
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • American Express
  • Debit Card
  • Mastercard
  • Personal Checks
  • Visa

Year Established

1974