Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Counseling & Therapy Services

Dr. George Warsaw, Ph.D.

5 star rating 139 Reviews

(404) 256-0244 Call

Write a Review Write a Review

290 Carpenter Drive Northeast, #110Atlanta, GA 30328

Kudzu - Best Of Winner

Description

Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Portrait

Is your marriage or relationship falling apart?
Psychotherapy can help. Relationships can be difficult at times, especially when communication breaks down. Marriage or couples counseling offers a path to mend and build your relationship.

The stress of parenting, finances, and work schedules can make it impossible to find time just to be with each other. Learn how to improve mutual understanding and intimacy.

For more than 20 years, I've helped people improve relationships:.. It's a process of learning how to navigate tough issues and develop mutual respect. Call us and begin working on your goals.

Our Kudzu reviews are excellent. Voted "Best Counselor" for 4 years means that our work is outstanding.


Learn how to get along better.

When we begin together, you embark on a personal journey of growth. This is your opportunity to clear away habits that prevent you from having a purposeful, satisfying life.

I'm passionate about what I do. Please read the Kudzu Reviews and what others have to say about my work. Then give us a call.

FOR MORE INFORMATION AND TO SET AN APPOINTMENT, PLEASE CALL
404-256-0244.

GEORGEWARSAWPHD.ORG is our website. You'll find several interesting articles, client forms, and directions to our office.

Specializations
-Relationship Issues
-Family Conflicts
-Depression and Anxiety
-Anger Management

Background
-Ph.D. and Internship, Department of Counseling and Psychological Services and Counseling Center, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
-Post Doctorate: Taught Counseling Practicum course, Department of Counseling and Psychological Services and served as Individual and Couples Therapist, Counseling Center, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.

Resume

-Past Advisor: Atlanta Insight Drug Treatment Center and Polestar Expeditionary School, Atlanta, GA.
-Co-founder, Institute for Assertive Training, Atlanta, GA.
Conducted and co-led more than 200 seminars: Stress Reduction, Conflict Resolution, Assertiveness Training, and Leadership Training.

Previous corporate clients include IBM, AIG (American Insurance Group), AT&T, Georgia State University, and US Dept. of Agriculture.

Therapy services:
-Individual, family, and couples therapy
-Maintenance and Growth for individuals in Recovery
-Coaching
-Marital Therapy
-Relational Therapy
-Solution Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT)

Serving areas:
30004 30005 30009 30022 30023 30024 30076 30097
30327 30328 30330 30342

VIEW MORE »VIEW LESS »

Videos & Photos

View all »

Photos (7 photos)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Voted a Best of 2014 Business on Kudzu! Thank you for the support!
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Voted a Best of 2012 Business on Kudzu!



Reviews

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  amelia677

    Reviews: 2

    I would recommend
    amelia677 (2 reviews)
    6/09/2017

    I enjoy my visit and felt comfortable with the staff. Can't say enough about doctor warsaw. I now can continue my activities.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  WayUnderPar7

    Reviews: 1

    Simply Brilliant
    WayUnderPar7 (1 review)
    3/20/2017

    Dr. Warsaw is truly a brilliant and caring counselor. I am an athlete and a fierce competitor and while my demeanor has always served me well in competition, it became a problem for me off the field in my interpersonal relationships. When I first was referred to Dr. Warsaw, I was not sure what was wrong, but I knew something wasn't quite right. While I did not feel depressed or even like I needed help myself, I was more concerned for the people around me and the effect that my attitude had on them. I'm also engaged to be married and wanted to learn how to be a better husband for my new wife. Dr. Warsaw was able to use analogies that directly related and made much sense to me in order to help me identify the negative thoughts and also the process in which to replace them with positive ones. Within just a few sessions, I feel that my life has completely turned around and I owe it all to Dr. Warsaw. Through his guidance and advice, I was able to quickly get my thoughts and life back on a positive track and I continue to consult with him constantly on positive ways to handle life's challenges.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  GTFam1234

    Reviews: 1

    Caring & Effective Therapist! (Life Changing)
    GTFam1234 (1 review)
    3/19/2017

    My husband and I began seeing Dr. Warsaw a little over a year ago when our marriage was not in a good place. My husband, who suffers from depression, was in a very dark place and I did not know how to help him move beyond his current situation. Unlike our sessions with another therapist we had seen a few years prior, we leave every session with Dr. Warsaw with homework and tactical things that helped us both and therefore helped our marriage. Over the last year, we have worked on effective communication skills and patience. Dr. Warsaw has helped us understand how our old (less-effective) communication styles impacted each other. He has given my husband tools to help with his depression and helped me understand how I can best support my husband vs. trying to "fix him". We are so proud of how healthy and strong our marriage is today. Dr. Warsaw was with us through a career change for my husband and sabbatical for me and we look forward to having him in our corner as we try to start a family.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  marsgs75

    Reviews: 1

    Amazing Therapist
    marsgs75 (1 review)
    3/15/2017

    I am so grateful that my best friend referred me to Dr. Warsaw to help my boyfriend and I with communication. That was over a year ago and we joke to this day that she saved our relationship by this recommendation. I have tried other therapists before and he is by far the best! Even though he helped us through some real communication struggles within the first couple sessions, we continue to see Dr. Warsaw at least once a month because he helps us so much with the little things that might otherwise build up. He is very intuitive and skilled and always gets right to the issue. His questions and insight really makes you think. His advice is impeccable and eye-opening. We always leave feeling refreshed with a new perspective. We genuinely enjoy our time with him in every session and it's always money well spent. We have no plans to stop seeing him any time soon. I'm so glad I found a therapist that truly feels like a friend who will be there for me and us in the future. If you are struggling to find the right therapist, he is it!

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  mktaylor

    Reviews: 1

    Great short term help!
    mktaylor (1 review)
    1/24/2017

    I met with George Warsaw, on the advice of a friend, to help me deal with my grief upon my dad's death in November. I just needed someone, a trained professional, to talk to for a while. I was struggling a bit and couldn't seem to shake it on my own. George is a great listener, and very intuitive. He picks up on what you are trying to say, and makes good suggestions on why you're struggling, and possible ways to manage. He doesn't insist on going back to the very beginning of your childhood, but rather helps you deal with the problem here and now. If you just need to talk through some issues you're having, Dr.Warsaw is a great person to help you out! I worked with him for a few weeks, and felt better about it all.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  mlc9803

    Reviews: 1

    one of the BEST!
    mlc9803 (1 review)
    10/18/2016

    After years of different types of counselors for family, and relationship issues as well as blending families, meeting George has been refreshing!! He is highly intelligent and thorough, compassionate and amazingly intuitive. He's wonderful. The only hope I have is that one day he is able to hold one late night a week for his sessions to make it a little easier to see him during a busy work week etc.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  Deborah3

    Reviews: 2

    A brilliant, caring counsellor
    Deborah3 (2 reviews)
    9/22/2016

    From the moment I first met Dr Warsaw, I felt comfortable and at ease. Non judgemental, caring and very supportive, is very knowledgeable and skilled, with a lovely sense of humour just when it's needed. I would highly recommend Dr Warsaw.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  pineview

    Reviews: 1

    The Best
    pineview (1 review)
    9/09/2016

    Dr. Warsaw is everything my family needs in a therapist - wonderful listening skills, terrific insight, ability make us reflect on and challenge long-held patterns, and a great sense of humor. I highly recommend him.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost Less than $250

    Date September 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  happyandfree

    Reviews: 1

    Grateful to have met George
    happyandfree (1 review)
    8/22/2016

    I'm grateful that a family member referred me to George. He's easy going and low key. He doesn't waste your time delving back into you childhood or past history. He works on the here and now. George will not give you the answers to your problems, but rather he'll ask probing questions that will lead you in the direction you need to go. The best thing about working with George is that he doesn't want to continue scheduling sessions once you've made good progress. In other words he's not after your check book! Wether your situation warrants only a few sessions or beyond George is there with a good ear, great guidance and love for his patients.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost Less than $250

    Date August 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  PocoaPoco

    Reviews: 1

    Highly Recommend
    PocoaPoco (1 review)
    7/25/2016

    Sometimes you just need a guide or a voice or a fellow pilgrim to help you through the difficulties and complexities and confusions of life. Dr. Warsaw is a sure guide in the midst of confusion and complexity. He won't offer easy answers - he will help you develop the skills you need to get through. I highly recommend him!

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost Less than $250

    Date July 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  ABA7270

    Reviews: 1

    True Professional with Intellect and Care
    ABA7270 (1 review)
    6/04/2016

    I have been seeing Dr. Warsaw for more than a year. He has been working with me to battle depression and anxiety. He is a positive, sharp, and caring individual. He knows when to be direct and tough while also interjecting the right balance of humor and empathy. His breadth of knowledge and experience transcends relationship management as well as insightful advice on professional and personal situations. I have experience with therapists and psychiatists in the past, and I have found George to be an excellent balance between a counselor with the rigor of a doctor. He provides direct feedback, assigns "projects" outside of sessions and is good at follow through. I can recommend him without hesitation. He scheduling is thorough and accepts PayPal for ease.

    More »

    Project Details

    Area Atlanta, GA

    Cost Less than $250

    Date June 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  Janu22

    Reviews: 1

    A notch above the best! Highly Rec Dr. W
    Janu22 (1 review)
    6/04/2016

    I grew up in different country and come from completely different culture. The definition of normal changes from culture to culture. The hardest part for me was to overcome my cultural barriers to seek therapy! Once I did, I was worried that I will not be able to find a therapist who can understand my issues. I was so wrong and gladly so. Dr.Warsaw can cut through culture bias and relate with you and your problems seamlessly. He is great listener, very intuitive. He is able to analyze vague statements and get to the bottom of the issue. Asks meaningful questions that help you untangle the problem. All of sudden it feels like "ok I can handle this" He is empathetic not sympathetic. I am quick to fall into self pity. So that is a good fit for me. Genuinely cares about his patients. Very down to earth, non judgmental and realist.Great customer service. I have had 4-5 sessions so far and I have left each time feeling I am going to come out of this as a individual empowered with a great sense of self worth and clarity in life. I have to say if you find the right therapist it can change your life. We live once and therapy can help make it count! I highly recommend Dr. George Warsaw!

    More »

    Project Details

    Date June 2016

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  nadwjd

    Reviews: 1

    Good fit
    nadwjd (1 review)
    4/06/2016

    I have been seeing Dr Warsaw for a little over a month. I struggled at first to find a professional that would be the "right fit" for me and have found one with him. He is someone who listens and asks questions that are helping me heal. I see with his guidance and inquiry that there is a lot of good waiting for me out there and is helping me take the next steps.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  DiveNow

    Reviews: 1

    A Masterful, Caring and Insightful Guide
    DiveNow (1 review)
    10/21/2015

    We have been consulting with Dr. Warsaw for a few months now and during this time we have found him to be a masterful, caring and insightful guide, helping us find our way towards achieving our goals in our life's journey. Dr. Warsaw's caring side shines through each time he helps us find our (sometimes unique) solution to a problem. This often requires him to bring us together to see the other's view of a specific situation, helping us better understand one-another, coming closer with each session. Concurrently, he has helped us individually identify what we want to (or should) change in ourselves, and then has been helping us get there. Dr. Warsaw knows how not to ever come-off as taking sides, even when he is helping one side see the other side's point of view. Lately, each time I've walked-in, I've thought "we have nothing else that we need to work on" and each time we have uncovered a new "old" issue that we must address. Thus, each visit is making our relationship healthier.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -  EugenioF

    Reviews: 1

    Great Therapist
    EugenioF (1 review)
    10/14/2015

    Dr. Warsaw is a Therapist I can connect to and that for me is not common. He is witty yet compassionate. He is very professional yet casual in his approach. He puts me in the best position to discuss my most intimate fears and makes me feel much better every time I leave his office. I am happy that someone recommended him to me.

    More »

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) (0)


Business details

Service Area

  • Alpharetta
  • Buckhead
  • Cobb County
  • DeKalb County
  • Druid Hills/Emory
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • Marietta
  • Midtown
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Smyrna
  • Stone Mountain
  • Tucker
  • VA Highland/Morningside
  • Woodstock

Kudzu's "Best Of" Winner

2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Credentials

Georgia Psychological Association

Hours of Operation

  • MON
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • TUE
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • WED
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • THU
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • FRI
  • 8:30am
  • 4:45pm
  • SAT
  • SUN

* By Appointment Only

Payments Accepted

  • Paypal
  • Personal Checks

Documents

[PDF] Client Information Document
[PDF] Notice of Privacy Practices Act
[PDF] Treatment Contract
[PDF] Couples Questionnaire

Languages Spoken

  • English

Videos & Photos

View all »

Photos (7 photos)

  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Voted a Best of 2014 Business on Kudzu! Thank you for the support!
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA -
  • Dr. George  Warsaw, Ph.D. - Atlanta, GA - Voted a Best of 2012 Business on Kudzu!


Photos

Album: Dr. George Warsaw
1 of 7